Windows 10 full of garbage - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 3Likes
  • 1 Post By TheGrimJeeper
  • 2 Post By 100th_Idiot
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 15 Old 24-05-16 Thread Starter
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Windows 10 full of garbage

Windows 10 on my Asus convertible is taking up
50Gbytes on a 64Gbyte SSD.

The culprit is C:/Windows/Installer

Which has 19.7Gbytes of .msi & .msp files.


How to clean this O/S install guff off safely??


Ta.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,423
Use Linux
Keithy is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 15 Old 25-05-16 Thread Starter
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Not helping.

Currently running PatchCleaner. Which appears to
be a piece of Australian software. Cobber.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Make Covfefe great again!!
AO Platinum Member
 
Greener123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Southampton
County: Hampshire
Posts: 41,384
Garage

Member car:

159 2.0 JTDM Ti

I binned windows 10 after 20 minutes, my touchpad stopped working and there was no fix available online so back to 7 it was.
Greener123 is offline  
Status: Sticking up for MGs everywhere!
AO Silver Member
 
David WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancaster
Posts: 3,769

Member car:

147 & GQV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
Windows 10 on my Asus convertible is taking up
50Gbytes on a 64Gbyte SSD.

The culprit is C:/Windows/Installer

Which has 19.7Gbytes of .msi & .msp files.


How to clean this O/S install guff off safely??


Ta.
This not not likely easily achievable. The .msi files are referenced when the system tries to update the O/S. If they are not cached within the parent O/S drive, then this could risk causing serious problems when Windows gives you no choice but to update the system.

This highlights the problem with onboard SSD storage. Even gaming systems have a small amount of storage, mine is 250 GB and Windows dominates the SSD. Beyond this, it moans when there is less than 25% of the SSD remaining to us.

Even worse is the fact that the OS cannot seem to be switched from the SSD to a slave hard disk drive because of the boot order in many Windows 8/10 systems. The HDD is often hidden from the BIOS behind the SSD! This was a problem I ran into when I tried to dual boot my system.

I'm sure there is a way of swapping the system onto the HDD (assuming you have one), but I'm not really that acrobatic with BIOS.
David WB is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,465

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Type "storage" into the Windows search box (I guess "stockage" in frog) and select "Storage System settings". Click/prod your SSD device. This will bring up your storage usage. Go down and click/poke "Temporary files". Click/jab "Delete temporary files" and "Delete previous versions" (towards the bottom).
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
Status: Sticking up for MGs everywhere!
AO Silver Member
 
David WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancaster
Posts: 3,769

Member car:

147 & GQV

That would solve my curiosity regarding why W10 is using so much space in the first place (nominal is ~20GB).

That is of course if you are ready to stay with it and not revert to W8 for some reason.
David WB is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,465

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

The Windows updates also go into "previous versions" so it gets bigger and bigger over time.

I quite like Windows 10 - the first version I've liked since W2K.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 15 Old 25-05-16 Thread Starter
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Windows 10 is sht on a touchscreen computer
duemila likes this.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
100th_Idiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 14,827
Garage

Member car:

Nothing Italian

Don't use a touchscreen or switch it to tablet mode.
100th_Idiot is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 15 Old 25-05-16 Thread Starter
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Tablet mode is sht in Windows 10...




TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,423
You need to sharpen up your typing young TaTa, you keep missing the 'f' when trying to type 'shift'

Keithy is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 15 Old 25-05-16 Thread Starter
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Now the micoSD card that's worked perfectly
under Win 8/.1 is giving errors.

Useless O/S!
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
100th_Idiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 14,827
Garage

Member car:

Nothing Italian

I blame the EU.
TheGrimJeeper and Tony_S like this.
100th_Idiot is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Interesting. I have a Linx W10 tablet that only has 32gb I think and it works very nicely as either a tablet or a laptop has a removable keyboard. Some programs aren't touch screen friendly and W10 ships with a fair bit of crap but overall it's ok. Far better than W8.

My W10 annoyances are:
VPN access but have found a brilliant workaround for that.
The fact that Settings is frequently insufficient and actually Control Panel is often still required.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
full , garbage , windows

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome