Bye bye Sky - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 42 Old 23-05-16 Thread Starter
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Bye bye Sky

Dumping it but need advice on best alternative box - Freesat or Freeview. SWMBO wants the PVR aspect as well. What is the best box and what is the GUI like compared to Sky.

Next season I am going to the pub. It must be cheaper.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
hilift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: north norfolk
County: -norfolk
Posts: 88
we had sky at home and got cheesed off with being ripped off , we now have a humax pvr on free sat and its fine .
the only mensh i would make is get one with a massive storage capacity 500 gb min .
hilift is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,340
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Same as Hilift, Humax Freesat+ PVR with, I think, 1 Tb of recording.

Connects to your existing Sky dish. I just installed a second cable from the dish to the box. The GUI is not as good as Sky, but you get used to it.

Haven't had Sky since the kids left home, years ago.

Last edited by Verbout; 23-05-16 at 21:54.
Verbout is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Well done!


I had a Humax for Sat.

But have been using a PC hooked up to
the TV for he past 4 years.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: 6 YEARS LYMPHOMA FREE!! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 4,917

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Get an Android Box and install Kodi,Mobdro and World Sports Streams..........25
ronan is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 42 Old 24-05-16 Thread Starter
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronan View Post
Get an Android Box and install Kodi,Mobdro and World Sports Streams..........25
I have one of those already. One of the reasons Sky can go.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Never had the slightest inclination to get Sky in the past, and now she has allowed me to have a new Samsung smart TV (for me' Burfday ) that gets both Freesat and Freeview it's quite sufficient entertainment for this old lethargic Dog who drops off to sleep by the minute?

Not sure I really like the curved screen as much as the flat one on our old Sony HD?

Best was a usal system rotational dish coupled to a Technomate 'bout ten years ago with a couple of 'Fun' cards to pop in the slot?

Past all of that sort of thing now,as I'm just a sort of clapped out dozey happy chappie with not a care in the world really.
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,462

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Thinking of ditching Sky at the moment too. The only reason before for keeping it was the boy and his kiddy programs and now he doesn't seem to be watching any of them. So it'll be Freesat via a Humax box along with our Freeview equivalent for local programs. We watch the odd thing on Dave but they have a catch-up service we can access on PC/tablet.
Paddy OPlastic is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Good good!

I've an old Humax Freesat DVR in the cupboard if you are interested...
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Ralf S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The land that Time forgot
Posts: 13,073
Does the Humungous have twin F-connectors on the back? I'm trying to work out the best way to connect my dish (which has 2 x twin cables coming off it.. one for the kitchen and one for the living room) to my new telly (in the living room but only possessing a DIN socket).

I don't "do" Sky or any of that other 600 a year nonsense. You could buy a half-decent 156 for that money..



Ralf S.
Ralf S. is offline  
Status: Chip balancer
AO Silver Member
 
Brooking10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
County: Northants
Posts: 1,063
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralf S. View Post
Does the Humungous have twin F-connectors on the back? I'm trying to work out the best way to connect my dish (which has 2 x twin cables coming off it.. one for the kitchen and one for the living room) to my new telly (in the living room but only possessing a DIN socket).



I don't "do" Sky or any of that other 600 a year nonsense. You could buy a half-decent 156 for that money..







Ralf S.


F-connectors are the standard fit for all satellite kit be it Sky, Freesat or unbranded vanilla TV by satellite.

You'll either need a box which can receive the signals and then transmit to a non F connector enabled TV or a TV with an F connector at each point the dish feeds in the house.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Ralf S. likes this.
Brooking10 is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,462

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
Good good!

I've an old Humax Freesat DVR in the cupboard if you are interested...
I think going back to DVR from HDR would be unnecessarily painful.
Paddy OPlastic is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Eh? What's an HDR?
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,462

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralf S. View Post
Does the Humungous have twin F-connectors on the back? I'm trying to work out the best way to connect my dish (which has 2 x twin cables coming off it.. one for the kitchen and one for the living room) to my new telly (in the living room but only possessing a DIN socket).

I don't "do" Sky or any of that other 600 a year nonsense. You could buy a half-decent 156 for that money..



Ralf S.
Some receivers have twin inputs and some don't. The ones that do will be able to record.

I'm looking at this one:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Humax-HDR-1...keywords=humax

Ideally I'd like to be able to record and then watch back on a tablet/computer like Sky Q but I haven't come across anything like that for Freesat.
Ralf S. likes this.
Paddy OPlastic is online now  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,462

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
Eh? What's an HDR?
Hard disk recorder, rather than a DVD recorder.
Paddy OPlastic is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Yeah, mine has an HDD. DVR = Digital Video Recorder.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,462

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Aha. How big is the disk and does it have twin tuners?
Paddy OPlastic is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
I believe it is a Foxsat-HDR* with about 300GB of disk.









*Well, fancy that!
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,462

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004



Does it do catchup?
Paddy OPlastic is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
I think it predates on-board apps.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,462

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

I think I'd want Freetime or something similar.

Our Samsung TV has a satellite receiver although I've never tried it. I'm wondering what it's like so I might give it a go.
Paddy OPlastic is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
That sounds the ticket.

Get an Amazon Fire TV stick for catchup.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,462

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Boy's PC is on the TV - would a Fire stick be worthwhile?

One of the problems we have is that the Sky box, TV, DVD/BR and surround sound system combo is beyond the wife. If the TV manages to integrate Freeview, satellite and recording/playback in a comprehensible manner, then I might be tempted to forego the extra tuner. I'm not sanguine about this prospect.
Paddy OPlastic is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
The Fire stick is cheap and well worth it.
I just use it when in the UK currently.
Works well in hotels! (You need an IR
remote on your phone to switch the
hdmi input on hotel TVs )

At home it works via VPN but I guess it'd
work on Amazon.fr if I switched it to that
account.

The UI is a breeze although they just updated
it and I prefer the old one.


Streams Amazon music, iPlayer, TuneIn Radio and Funimation Anime if you
have a subscription.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 6,517
Another vote for the Fire Stick. Our seven-year-old "smart" TV isn't all that smart by current standards, so the Fire Stick was a cheap way of updating. The TV may not be all that smart, but it detects a signal on an HDMI input & switches automatically!

I prefer the old UI - the new one seems to be an attempt to flog more subscription channels.
Dave Brand is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
bye , sky

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome