Watson speech to text - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

(Post Link) post #1 of 21 Old 02-05-16 Thread Starter
AO Gold Member

Member car:

1973 Spider 2000

Watson speech to text

Has anybody here tried this? And even if you haven't, how complicated is this actually?
https://github.com/watson-developer-...to-text-nodejs

I'm not a programmer or a developer, but I'm a pretty smart end user. I can follow instructions, and think my way through things. I'm seeing the step-by-step guide, but I'm wondering if it can really be as simple as "do what step one says, do what step two says."

If there is anybody out there who wants to take a look at this and give me an opinion as to how difficult this will be to install and use, I'd appreciate it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Platinum Member

County: Riviera
It looks pretty straight forward TS.

I guess IBM are looking to expand the learning of Watson by offering this for free.

IBM Watson
(Post Link) post #3 of 21 Old 03-05-16 Thread Starter
AO Gold Member

Member car:

1973 Spider 2000

Well that's what I thought, but then I second-guessed myself figuring that maybe I was missing something complex and codey. Like I can see myself suddenly at at command prompt wiping out my entire OS by accident. (Yes, I know that's highly, highly unlikely, but you get the gist.)
(Post Link) post #4 of 21 Old 03-05-16 Thread Starter
AO Gold Member

Member car:

1973 Spider 2000

Looking over the instructions again, I seem okay until I get to step 5.
Quote:
Install project dependencies and build browser application:

$ npm install && npm run build
That sounds an awfully lot like coding. Or am I missing something?
AO Platinum Member

npm is similar to a make, I guess....?

So compiling, installing and such like?
(Post Link) post #6 of 21 Old 04-05-16 Thread Starter
AO Gold Member

Member car:

1973 Spider 2000

I guess.