Dashcam V Go Pro - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 29 Old 16-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: Half man Half biscuit
AO Silver Member
 
jparkin486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bramley
County: Hampshire - Darn Sarf!
Posts: 1,611
Garage
Dashcam V Go Pro

I'm not really in the market for a dashcam but I am spending a lot of time working in Malawi and drive around the countryside and often wish I could film as I go along. I can't keep stopping to take pictures I'd never get anywhere!

So I wondered if a dashcam would do the filming or if the field of view is too small, as its only really designed to look at the end of the bonnet. I could then use it back here in England to catch any numpty driving!

But then as I primarily what something for filming do I buy a Go Pro that is more designed for what I want, plus (I believe) I can extract frames from a film to make photos.

There's quite a price difference so just putting feelers out there with my learned Alfa driver friends to see if anyone can point me in the right direction.

Cheers
Julian
jparkin486 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Dashcam footage is pretty good. Even on the cheap one many on AO have installed.


The overriding issue is windscreen glare.

Footage here:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...3W_yA4Ipy9EcZq



The thing with the dashcam is it's just always there/on.
After a while you almost forget.
zulu ferret likes this.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 29 Old 16-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: Half man Half biscuit
AO Silver Member
 
jparkin486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bramley
County: Hampshire - Darn Sarf!
Posts: 1,611
Garage
Thanks for this Tata. Are they your films?
What kind of length of film can you get from your dashcam?
Sorry about the string of questions!

J
jparkin486 is online now  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Nev can answer that cos' I can't.

32GB micro SD that records then loops all over again, and I love watching them as a movie slide show, in spite of some thinking that's a daft thing to do, because you see lots of stuff that you miss when stuck behind the wheel?
zulu ferret is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 29 Old 17-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: Half man Half biscuit
AO Silver Member
 
jparkin486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bramley
County: Hampshire - Darn Sarf!
Posts: 1,611
Garage
Think I'll be having a look at the dashcam option when I get back at Easter.

Cheers Guys
jparkin486 is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
All my own work.

I'll check how much footage can go on the 32Gbyte card tomorrow.

TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: 159 project complete...
AO Member
 
AlfaJoe92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 787

Member car:

159 1.9 JTDm

Brilliant quality footage, can you tell me the name of the dash cam you used in that footage Nev? Cheers.
AlfaJoe92 is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,340
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Eprance, available on Amazon

The footage is HD before YouTube mess with it, and it's very good quality.

Its on a loop so records over when full.

Last edited by Verbout; 17-03-16 at 20:51.
Verbout is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,026
I have a Transcend DrivePro 200

I have been very impressed with it, even in low light conditions.

I get around 5 hours of footage on a 32Gb card at 1080p 30 frames per second, but part of the card is reserved for emergency footage.

It is great as a dashcam but as the lens is wide angle it makes things seem further away, whioch might not be ideal for filming wildlife.

It cost 78, plus memory card.
symon is offline  
Status: 159 project complete...
AO Member
 
AlfaJoe92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 787

Member car:

159 1.9 JTDm

Thanks Guys.
AlfaJoe92 is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 29 Old 21-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: Half man Half biscuit
AO Silver Member
 
jparkin486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bramley
County: Hampshire - Darn Sarf!
Posts: 1,611
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by symon View Post
I have a Transcend DrivePro 200

I have been very impressed with it, even in low light conditions.

I get around 5 hours of footage on a 32Gb card at 1080p 30 frames per second, but part of the card is reserved for emergency footage.

It is great as a dashcam but as the lens is wide angle it makes things seem further away, whioch might not be ideal for filming wildlife.

It cost 78, plus memory card.
Not too fussed about the wildlife with this camera, its just for the scenery as I drive about. Its hard to convey in words to others what it is like, especially when you turn a corner and there is the Shire River basin 800 metres below you and you feel you are about to drive off a cliff!

Cheers
One and All
jparkin486 is online now  
(Post Link) post #12 of 29 Old 21-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: Half man Half biscuit
AO Silver Member
 
jparkin486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bramley
County: Hampshire - Darn Sarf!
Posts: 1,611
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
All my own work.

I'll check how much footage can go on the 32Gbyte card tomorrow.

Thanks T4N.

Looks a nice part of France there. Always fancied buying a house by lake and disappearing in France. Live my life on croissants, brie and red wine!
jparkin486 is online now  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
I have s Nextbase something in my Giulietta and as its behind the rear view mirror I do completely forget it's there.
Note to self. Go for a spirited drive and view the results.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,026
I fitted mine behind the mirror as well, so that I can hardly see it from the driver seat as well.

It is a PITA to see the screen though, but if anything important happens I will take the camera in and download the videos to the PC.

Most of the time I don't even remember it is there, as it requires no user interaction in normal use.
symon is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
I'm liking the Mini 0806 right now, with the optional polarizing filter. Ideally I want one without a screen, as small as possible as I won't be reviewing stuff inside the car.

1080p with 45 fps aswell, which should help with identifying license plates
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 29 Old 28-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: Half man Half biscuit
AO Silver Member
 
jparkin486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bramley
County: Hampshire - Darn Sarf!
Posts: 1,611
Garage
Seen this one from snooper New Snooper DVR-4HD Vehicle Drive Recorder - 2016 SNOOPER COBRA DASH CAMS - Snooper. I have an old speed camera detector of theirs so the built in camera detector appeals too.
jparkin486 is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
So my 0802(?) Ambarella based EPrance is set up to film 5-min segments at 450-500Mbytes.
It records over any files that have not been "locked" by the shock detector or manually.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Not my PM
AO Platinum Member
 
AlfaDrivingFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: European Union
Posts: 44,636
Do these Eprance things work with Macs? Didn't used to.
AlfaDrivingFan is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,340
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaDrivingFan View Post
Do these Eprance things work with Macs?
Yes.
Verbout is offline  
Status: Not my PM
AO Platinum Member
 
AlfaDrivingFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: European Union
Posts: 44,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verbout View Post
Yes.
Alright, alright ! I only wanted the answer not bliddy War and Peace ! :Giggle:

Verbout likes this.
AlfaDrivingFan is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
You never know with Apple....

Can they read micro SD-cards?




TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Not my PM
AO Platinum Member
 
AlfaDrivingFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: European Union
Posts: 44,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
You never know with Apple....

Can they read micro SD-cards?




It reads my camera's memory card so I dont see why a micro sd card would be a problem.
AlfaDrivingFan is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,340
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
You never know with Apple....

Can they read micro SD-cards?




Yes they can.
Verbout is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
chrishendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 10,909
I'm after a dash cam now, after a recent near miss with a lunatic which if caught on camera would have been handed to the police.

As technology moves on so quickly, any thoughts on what would be the latest best option?
chrishendrix is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
My cheap Ambarella based one is still going strong.
They are really small and unobtrusive.


Check out Amazon.
e.g.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Toguard-Amb...dp/B01LY93OVG/
chrishendrix likes this.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
dashcam , pro

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome