Macbook screen shot. - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 10-02-16 Thread Starter
Status: Life is good atm. I do not take that for granted.
Global Mod Team
 
PaulR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 22,948
Macbook screen shot.

I can legitimately use the word "literally" here.

I collect air guns and pistols and have a "range" for testing in my garage. I have a desk in the corner and have a 6 year old Macbook on it which I use for recording test results from shooting using a chronograph.

So - I was sitting at the desk loading a bb Luger which suddenly went into full auto mode (didn't touch the trigger) which sprayed a few bbs - four of which took out the Mac screen which, unsurprisingly, died.

I have since hooked up a monitor to the Macbook - fine as it works in mirror mode. This means I have the background screen and cursor but cannot access anything apart from changing the background image (right click) which works.

My question - is there any way I can make the mirrored monitor the main screen given I cannot immediately see a way to access anything?

Seen an offensive/spam post? Report it! Click the or button next to the post.
AO Rules - AO Gallery - AO Classified adverts - AO Club - AO Traders
PaulR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Paul.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: +o-V-o+
AO Silver Member
 
Giorget2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 4,196
I read the heading of the post and thought I'd reply with instructions on how to take a screenshot on a Macbook. How wrong I was!
Giorget2 is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

From Macmost.com:

1.) Option + F14 – This brings up a “Sys pref” window on the 2nd monitor.
2.) Clicked on “Gather Windows” button.
3.) This brings up the Display Options. From there, click on “Arrangement” and then checked the “Mirror” box.

There was more text explaining that it does depend on your model and which OS X you are using.
Verbout is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 6 Old 10-02-16 Thread Starter
Status: Life is good atm. I do not take that for granted.
Global Mod Team
 
PaulR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 22,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verbout View Post
From Macmost.com:

1.) Option + F14 – This brings up a “Sys pref” window on the 2nd monitor.
2.) Clicked on “Gather Windows” button.
3.) This brings up the Display Options. From there, click on “Arrangement” and then checked the “Mirror” box.

There was more text explaining that it does depend on your model and which OS X you are using.
Yaaay.

Thank you - now up and running!

More kudos to you for not mentioning that Google is my friend.

Seriously - thank you.

Paul.
PaulR is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Welcome

Be a bit more careful where you point that thing
Verbout is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
macbook , screen , shot

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome