2-1 manual RJ45 ethernet switch - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 11 Old 18-01-16 Thread Starter
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
2-1 manual RJ45 ethernet switch

Looking for a small 2 input/1 output manual ethernet switch like this:

Amazon.com: MT-VIKI 2 Ports Network Switch Splitter Selector Hub 2-In 1-Out or 1-In 2-Out 100M MT-RJ45-2M: Computers & Accessories


Anyone know of one I can source in Europe?



Hit Me!
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,465

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Why would you want one?
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 11 Old 18-01-16 Thread Starter
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
VPN Ethernet-------- \
Non VPN Ethernet ---/ -------------Media PC



Currently I have to unplug/plug and those RJ45s are a royal PitA.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,465

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

What's wrong with routing tables?
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 11 Old 18-01-16 Thread Starter
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Wouldn't that affect the whole network? There's WiFi involved too....
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,465

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

The VPN should be on a different subnet to the house network. Both house network and VPN will have their own gateways. Put the Ethernet/WAN on the media PC on both subnets (you'll need static IP addressing for both networks on this interface). Set the routing table on the PC to route iPlayer addresses (for example) via the VPN subnet and gateway (and ITV player etc.) and the rest via the house network and gateway. You'll need to set the routing tables for each machine you want to tunnel media. Depending on how your network and VPN are set up you might be able to do the routing in your router depending on its capabilities, in which case the routing can be made common to all machines on the network seamlessly.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 11 Old 18-01-16 Thread Starter
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Hmmm might be worth a shot. But I don't think I have access to
the vpn router setup. I'll give it a sniff...
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 1,782
Hello
If you do want one, here's one on eBay UK. There are a few sellers selling these so; surely one will ship to your location.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/ulk/itm/160462004102



All I am saying is this.
Nickhoughton567 is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Google for Coolport. The purple one is what you want. You'll need one at each end.
NB 100mbps is max at present.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 1,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggreenzebra View Post
Google for Coolport. The purple one is what you want. You'll need one at each end.
NB 100mbps is max at present.

Yeah, you need 4 wires for 1000BaseT


All I am saying is this.
Nickhoughton567 is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,465

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Routing - the reason the Internet works. Route, be happy and forget the nonsense.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
ethernet , manual , rj45 , switch

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome