As and when, Windows 10? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 28 Old 30-11-15 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Boxing As and when, Windows 10?

How are you chaps fairing with the new system?

I'm sort of a very confused 'Insider' not knowing really what its all about, but sending back a report or two now and again for the feeling good about it factor?
zulu ferret is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
I think it's, overall good. I've extended the start menu to make it similar to 8.1 with the quick tiles.

I'm not a fan of the narrow list for all programmes. Preferred the full screen view, less scrolling.

Only major annoyance has been connecting to a wifi network that uses mschapv2 (whatever that is)
spx is offline  
Status: Giulietta Sprint produced!
AO Silver Member
 
radosuaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Poland
County: Wielkopolskie
Posts: 1,765
I hate Windows 8 and I jumped from XP to 7, skipping Vista 'cause I also hated it, but Windows 10 is acceptable. I still prefer W7 interface, but W10 tends to run smoother on my machine, and it's definitely not too young.
radosuaf is offline  
Status: 500 up
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 655
Sticking with W7 Heard too many bad reports about it,
mossca is offline  
Status: Make Covfefe great again!!
AO Platinum Member
 
Greener123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Southampton
County: Hampshire
Posts: 41,384
Garage

Member car:

159 2.0 JTDM Ti

Haven't taken the jump yet, im on 7 and like it, its familiar... cant use 8 at all, dont like it.

Heard too many dodgy reports of 10, people reverting back again, so its not for me, not at the moment anyway
Greener123 is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,015
W10 is ok, nothing spectacular though...
symon is offline  
Status: #keepFightingMichael
AO Gold Member
 
EauRouge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Suriname
County: Brokopondo
Posts: 7,706
Thought it so bad that I jumped ship to Apple computers.
EauRouge is offline  
Status: Loving the GTA
AO Silver Member
 
alfabeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Herefordshire
Posts: 3,983
"Upgraded to Windows 10 a couple of months ago. Much better than 8, so I'm happy. Seems fine to me, works fine,does what I need it for and easier to use than 8.
Dave Brink likes this.
alfabeat is offline  
Status: Giulietta Sprint produced!
AO Silver Member
 
radosuaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Poland
County: Wielkopolskie
Posts: 1,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by EauRouge View Post
Thought it so bad that I jumped ship to Apple computers.
That's like jumping to an Audi just because headlight bulb in your Alfa has went out .
EddieGTA, PapaSmurf and Dave Brink like this.
radosuaf is offline  
Status: Coffee with MILF
AO Platinum Member
 
Al Faromeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Netherlands
County: Limburg
Posts: 25,986
I switched from 7 to 10 and from a traditional hard disk to solid state.

The combination is wonderful and I got used to it pretty damned fast for an old man if I may say so. I can do everything I used to be able to do so no complaints from the undersigned.
Al Faromeo is offline  
Status: Giulietta Sprint produced!
AO Silver Member
 
radosuaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Poland
County: Wielkopolskie
Posts: 1,765
Going HDD -> SSD is always a very pleasing experience .
radosuaf is offline  
Status: ...zzzZZZzzz...
AO Member
 
Tony_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Staffordshire
Posts: 534
Garage

Member car:

159 JTDm Lusso

Finally made the jump from 7 to 10 yesterday. It took a couple of hours with no problems.

The desktop isn't that different except that I've lost my clock gadget. Everything I've tried to use works much the same.
Tony_S is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Don't want to lose the W8 experience for
my NUC media PC, but it's nagging all the time
to upgrade now.


Start Menu Button, Scmart Menu Button

#1980sGUIThrowback
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: ...zzzZZZzzz...
AO Member
 
Tony_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Staffordshire
Posts: 534
Garage

Member car:

159 JTDm Lusso

I've just come up with an annoying problem with 10.

To find where you are it uses GPS and WIFI, there is no way to manually set your location so if you are using a wired PC it uses geo IP. Windows 10 now thinks I'm in London not the Midlands, never felt so insulted.
Tony_S is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,325
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

I have had W10 since it became available, but as I've said before I don't use it.

I finally got around to installing the Microsoft Office Suite HUP for the wife, what a pain in the ar$e to install, find once its installed, and then get working.

Took me far longer than it should have and I only managed it with a fluke right click
Verbout is offline  
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
Were now advising all of our customers to stick with Windows 7 instead of doing the upgrade to 10 due to the automatic hardware driver updates. Its worth doing if you have 8 though as anything is better than that
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Status: We got there
AO Silver Member
 
Mr_Caine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 3,189

Member car:

GTV, RCZ, KTM

Upgraded most of the home PCs to Windows 10, after having to use Windows 8 again it felt terrible and clunky compared to 10. Windows 7 still on my work machine feels quite old fashioned and performance is lower than 10. I'm happy with 10 and wouldn't used 7 again or 8 unless I had to.
Mr_Caine is offline  
Status: Back in the Giulia
AO Silver Member
 
stuart1714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,813

Member car:

Giulia 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laptop_Matt View Post
Were now advising all of our customers to stick with Windows 7 instead of doing the upgrade to 10 due to the automatic hardware driver updates. Its worth doing if you have 8 though as anything is better than that
There is an option in older versions of Windows which is still in Win 10 which disables this. A guide to it can be found here.
stuart1714 is offline  
Status: off down the shed.
AO Gold Member
 
alfacool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England.
County: Durham
Posts: 6,323
I dont mind it, had to change the old steam powered PC to a W10 new one and after some finding where stuff is put etc. its easy enough for the Mrs to use.
alfacool is offline  
Status: Giulietta Sprint produced!
AO Silver Member
 
radosuaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Poland
County: Wielkopolskie
Posts: 1,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Caine View Post
Upgraded most of the home PCs to Windows 10, after having to use Windows 8 again it felt terrible and clunky compared to 10. Windows 7 still on my work machine feels quite old fashioned and performance is lower than 10. I'm happy with 10 and wouldn't used 7 again or 8 unless I had to.
7 at least has a user-friendly interface. I have 10 installed solely because GTA V is more fluent on it, but I really do hate the interface.
radosuaf is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 28 Old 17-01-16 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Jumped up, black enamelled,son of an evil one, will not recognise the scanner facility of my Brother printer/ scanner!

I'm seriously thinking off Dumping this Tosh Satellite for good.

One benefit of having switched from 7to 10, is I'm not as inclined to sit on my fat arse as much as in the past, which is good for all sorts of other things??
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 1,767
Generally find myself using Windows + R for everything in all versions of Windows, 8 onwards


All I am saying is this.
Nickhoughton567 is offline  
Status: Giulietta Sprint produced!
AO Silver Member
 
radosuaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Poland
County: Wielkopolskie
Posts: 1,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickhoughton567 View Post
Generally find myself using Windows + R for everything in all versions of Windows, 8 onwards


All I am saying is this.
I did those things back in the days when MS-DOS was my operating system. Still preferred Norton Commander .
radosuaf is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by zulu ferret View Post
Jumped up, black enamelled,son of an evil one, will not recognise the scanner facility of my Brother printer/ scanner!

I'm seriously thinking off Dumping this Tosh Satellite for good.

One benefit of having switched from 7to 10, is I'm not as inclined to sit on my fat arse as much as in the past, which is good for all sorts of other things??
I think the dodgy driver support is a big con, ZF.
Forcing us to bin perfectly good devices to buy new ones ...
zulu ferret likes this.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #25 of 28 Old 19-01-16 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Yeah' reckon that's about it Nev.

The printer works now, but the scanner doesn't!

Not too inclined to buy anything new in the tech dept. at my time of life, and anyhow the printer/ scanner links to an old Medion Cytron I have running XP and both printer and scanner work on that. :
zulu ferret is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
windows

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome