Mobile Android hotspot and MacBook - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 30-09-15 Thread Starter
Status: Not my PM
AO Platinum Member
 
AlfaDrivingFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: European Union
Posts: 44,636
Mobile Android hotspot and MacBook

Been trying to configure my Samsung Galaxy as a mobile hotspot for wifi just in case it's useful one day. The hotspot seems to work but my MacBook will not connect even though it has the WPA2 code. Android and Apple should be fine ?
AlfaDrivingFan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Try using the hex code instead of ascii.

Useless Apple.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 7 Old 30-09-15 Thread Starter
Status: Not my PM
AO Platinum Member
 
AlfaDrivingFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: European Union
Posts: 44,636
Got a crap data connection apparently, its fine for the phone but not good enough to support a mobile hotspot. :rubchin:
AlfaDrivingFan is offline  
Status: You're welcome
AO Member
 
jaydentaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Newcastle
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 422

Member car:

Giulietta MA 170

No, its Apple's fault. :$

Does using the USB charge cable plugged into the macbook help?

I know that my Miwi uses the usb cable as an antenna for improved reception.
jaydentaku is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydentaku View Post

I know that my Miwi uses the usb cable as an antenna for improved reception.
That's really bad design if it's the case.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
If you can change the WiFi channel on the Android (low number).
For some reason at some point Apple programmed their gear to recognise all the available WiFi channels except they forgot there are more in Europe than in U.S. It was fixed but ...
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: You're welcome
AO Member
 
jaydentaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Newcastle
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 422

Member car:

Giulietta MA 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
That's really bad design if it's the case.
jaydentaku is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
android , hotspot , macbook , mobile

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome