Router recommendation please. - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 23 Old 17-08-15 Thread Starter
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Router recommendation please.

I have had to buy a new router after my Thomson TG585V8 starting overheating and dropping out. I'd had it over 8 years.

My replacement was a cheapish one, £35, on offer at Amazon, a TP-Link TD-W8970.

While it does its job ok, I though being a newer model than the old Thomson it would be fabulous, its not. Its as good as the old Thomson but does not set my browsing world on fire.

I don't do anything to tax my router, catch up TV is the busiest it will get.

Any recommendations please for a bog standard router, easy plug and play, priced up to about £75.

Garry

DISCLAIMER
Apologies for spelling mistakes, bad grammar and misplaced, or even lack of apostrophes.

TSR 2 Test Flight
Verbout is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Sorry can't recommend anything at that price.

If I were you I'd look at getting a second-hand Draytek Vigor off eBay, always found them to be stable.

I've just upgraded to a 2830 which is second-hand.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Dray-Tek-A...item3f5204c9fd
GhostyDog is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 23 Old 17-08-15 Thread Starter
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Cheers Ghosty, what sort of price would I have to pay?

And what makes do you recommend?

Last edited by Verbout; 18-08-15 at 11:16.
Verbout is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
+1 Draytek Vigor. They are rock solid.
biggreenzebra is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 23 Old 17-08-15 Thread Starter
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Cheers BGZ.
Verbout is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verbout View Post
Cheers Ghosty, what sort of price would I have to pay?

And what makes do you recommend?
See link in my post.

It's not big standard, but it is good enough for business use.

Most cheap routers can't handle the throughput and fall over, especially when multiple devices are connected.
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
The Draytek range are pricey but they are as Ghosty says very capable of dealing with multiple devices.
I put a 2830 into a location in France last week. The £20 router that the French ISP provided was a pice of ****e but once I had the correct ADSL settings I could easily configure the Draytek to do an IPSec site to site VPN to a UK office and configure it in such a way that the default gateway was the VPN.
Result = full UK catch up TV and radio in France as the providers see the location as in UK. You just can't do that with a £20 piece of ****e. Nor can you do QoS such that VOIP actually works!
biggreenzebra is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 23 Old 17-08-15 Thread Starter
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

That's gobbledygook to me BGZ, will the DrayTek plug and play?

My issue is the use of multiple device usage.

I will consider the one Ghosty mentioned.
Verbout is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verbout View Post
That's gobbledygook to me BGZ, will the DrayTek plug and play?

My issue is the use of multiple device usage.

I will consider the one Ghosty mentioned.
In a word Yes.
Wireless coverage is also much better than say a BT Hub or Sky thingy.
biggreenzebra is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 23 Old 17-08-15 Thread Starter
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Thanks to you both, I will consider the one you and Ghosty recommend.
Verbout is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,503

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

I was going to suggest that maybe the solution Ghosty and BGZ were suggesting might be a bit over-specified for the use. But if you can pick it up for £40 anyway, I guess there's no downside really!
bazza is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,490

Member car:

159 SW TBi

I've been happily using an Asus router for the last few years. Cost about £100 though.

https://www.asus.com/Networking/DSLN55U_Annex_A/
AmicusPro is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 23 Old 18-08-15 Thread Starter
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Quote:
Originally Posted by bazza View Post
I was going to suggest that maybe the solution Ghosty and BGZ were suggesting might be a bit over-specified for the use. But if you can pick it up for £40 anyway, I guess there's no downside really!
Watching a few on eBay, will see if I can pick one up cheap

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmicusPro View Post
I've been happily using an Asus router for the last few years. Cost about £100 though.

https://www.asus.com/Networking/DSLN55U_Annex_A/
Thanks for that, as intimated by Ghosty, I'll have to up my price limit

Last edited by Verbout; 18-08-15 at 17:40.
Verbout is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 23 Old 18-08-15 Thread Starter
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

have one, better than that.
Verbout is offline  
rxe
Status: Busso
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 4,134
Never had a problem with the kit that comes with BT infinity. I can get 80mbit through mine with no issues at all. Has worked fine for several years.
rxe is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 23 Old 12-12-15 Thread Starter
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Finally got around to buying a Draytek.

Bought a 2850n from eBay today for £55.

Hoping to get it up and running tomorrow

Thank you for all your advice.

Last edited by Verbout; 13-12-15 at 10:45.
Verbout is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 23 Old 08-01-16 Thread Starter
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

My DrayTek Vigor has been up and running for a couple of weeks now and with some work done at the local exchange by my ISP, lift and shift!!!!!, its great.

We are running without any issues and the coverage as mentioned by BGZ is very good all over the house.

Thank you all.

Cheers.

Last edited by Verbout; 09-01-16 at 06:34.
Verbout is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Glad to hear it.
You do get what you pay for in this area.
The freeby domestic routers from BT etc are really cheap.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 1,775
Draytek stuff is great. Not always the best wireless coverage in its class but tonnes of configuration and enterprise features like DMZ, Port forwarding et cetera.

I think they have a cloud based content filtering service for £30 a year which is great if you have kids.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Nickhoughton567 is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 23 Old 09-01-16 Thread Starter
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

It's a stable router with good coverage to me Nick, don't understand the rest
Verbout is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 1,775
They offer a paid service to block websites based on category such as streaming video or Facebook or porn...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Nickhoughton567 is offline  
(Post Link) post #23 of 23 Old 09-01-16 Thread Starter
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Oh I understand the cloud based stuff but all that about what the router can do, other than put info on my screen, is beyond me.
Verbout is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
recommendation , router

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome