Apple, the iPod and iTunes - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Greener123
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 24-07-15 Thread Starter
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Boxing Apple, the iPod and iTunes

Utter She-ite.


I want to re-install some apps on my old iPod Touch.

But I can't because it's iOS3 and all the apps in iTunas are now iOS7 only.

And if I try and restore the apps from a back-up it says it can't because
the iPod is synched to another (now binned) PC.

Like i said utter She-ite.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Make Covfefe great again!!
AO Platinum Member
 
Greener123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Southampton
County: Hampshire
Posts: 41,384
Garage

Member car:

159 2.0 JTDM Ti

User error
GhostyDog likes this.
Greener123 is offline  
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,423
Just about to 'restore' Mrs Pat's i-Phone 3GS into my i-Phone 5, I predict a Lumia purchase by Saturday
Keithy is online now  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,340
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greener123 View Post
User error
Technically called an ID ten T error.
Verbout is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verbout View Post
Technically called an ID ten T error.
ID10T

Yes, I agree with Greenie

Did you not port your backups from the old machine to the new one? If you did I think you can reset the device, sync it with your new computer then restore from the backup, however apps are downloaded to a local app cache, if you didn't copy that over from your old machine your pretty much fubar'd.

I have some apps that are no longer available or have been significantly changed and are still available but are not recognised as the app I have (i.e. http://www.deluxemoon.com/) but they do still work with later versions of iOS and I always copy my app cache across along with any local backups to my new computer.

Nero Fuoco 147 Lusso - Bianco Nuvola 147 GTA - Carbonio Brera SV - Azzurro Le Mans GT 1600 Junior
GhostyDog is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 12 Old 24-07-15 Thread Starter
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Never had this problem with Android.

User error, or crApple walled garden she-ite and dropping of iOS gadgets and versions?
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
100th_Idiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 14,827
Garage

Member car:

Nothing Italian

Burn it all. You know it makes sense.
100th_Idiot is offline  
Status: Petrol head
AO Platinum Member
 
cue2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 31,445
Yep. Congratulations for not being a nerd!
cue2 is online now  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
100th_Idiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 14,827
Garage

Member car:

Nothing Italian

Quote:
Originally Posted by cue2 View Post
Yep. Congratulations for not being a nerd!
TT 4 Nev is a nerd. But one that expects nerd stuff to work rather than be crippled and walled off.
100th_Idiot is offline  
Status: Petrol head
AO Platinum Member
 
cue2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 31,445
The built-in obsolescence of Apple even gets the nerds!
cue2 is online now  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,340
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Quote:
Originally Posted by cue2 View Post
The built-in obsolescence of Apple even gets the nerds!
Hardware?
Verbout is offline  
Status: Petrol head
AO Platinum Member
 
cue2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 31,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verbout View Post
Hardware?
?
cue2 is online now  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
apple , ipod , itunes

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome