Vista, DEP and IE - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Paddy OPlastic
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 16 Old 02-07-15 Thread Starter
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,423
Vista, DEP and IE

Long story short, can't be arsed faffing with home 'putwrs these days and the Vista ( ) box is waaaayyyyyy out of date. Can't get AVG to update, or even start, and IE keeps crashing out with DEP messages.

Not currently in a position to wield a fire axe so an online/downloadable/bootable scanner would be much appreciated

Don't bother telling me it doesn't happen on your Mac or I'll claw your nads.
Keithy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,465

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Doesn't happen on my Linux machine.
steveisfrowning and Keithy like this.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
Status: 500 up
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keithy View Post
Long story short, can't be arsed faffing with home 'putwrs these days and the Vista ( ) box is waaaayyyyyy out of date. Can't get AVG to update, or even start, and IE keeps crashing out with DEP messages.

Not currently in a position to wield a fire axe so an online/downloadable/bootable scanner would be much appreciated

Don't bother telling me it doesn't happen on your Mac or I'll claw your nads.
I've got the same issues with DEP closing IE, It's doing my head in. Anybody got a sensible solution?
mossca is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,465

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Could try disabling all the extensions in IE.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
100th_Idiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 14,827
Garage

Member car:

Nothing Italian

Why didn't you update your Vista box to Windows 7 for free? Decent speed increase. not sure that update is still available but Windows 10 update is on the way.
100th_Idiot is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 6,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by 100th_Idiot View Post
Why didn't you update your Vista box to Windows 7 for free?
Was the Vista to 7 update ever free? From memory they just offered a low introductory price for a few months.
Dave Brand is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,346
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

You even had to pay for windows 8, albeit only about 20.
Verbout is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,346
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

format or
Verbout is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,490

Member car:

159 SW TBi

7 was never free, 8 was 15-50 depending on a few things. 10 will be free to anyone running 7-8.1.

Can you install another browser (Firefox or Chrome)? I know FF at least as an offline installer and I'd have thought Chrome does too...

Firefox Offline installer

Maybe try Avast instead of AVG?
AmicusPro is offline  
Status: Sticking up for MGs everywhere!
AO Silver Member
 
David WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancaster
Posts: 3,769

Member car:

147 & GQV

There are several options that may be viable:

Firefox - But this would include lots of potential lock ups under Windows. The fundamental problm with Windows and Firefox under Windows is that they must protect themselves from sad little boy, I mentioned this in my own Firefox rant thread.

Linux Dual Boot - Ubuntu is a good system, but don't be fooled into thinking it updates less than Windows. Firefox runs much smoother I find on Ubuntu. You could also try Linux Mint, a very clean and sharp operating system indeed. Red Hat derivatives are also a good systems and are much more 'stable' than Ubuntu, but expect a severe lag with software updates under this distribution.

Chrome - Good and fast, but annoyingly 'Google' I find.
David WB is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,490

Member car:

159 SW TBi

I don't suffer any lock ups with FF any more than chrome crashes out...
AmicusPro is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
100th_Idiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 14,827
Garage

Member car:

Nothing Italian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Brand View Post
Was the Vista to 7 update ever free? From memory they just offered a low introductory price for a few months.
Memory failure. Was still worth the upgrade. Vista was a dog.
100th_Idiot is offline  
Status: Back in the Giulia
AO Silver Member
 
stuart1714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,813

Member car:

Giulia 2.0

Have you tried turning DEP off in IE?

I remember upgrading our company from IE 6 to IE 8 on XP and we had to switch it off. If I remember it's something like Internet Options / Advanced / enable memory protection. This is the option which is really DEP so you can try it off.

Last edited by stuart1714; 11-07-15 at 12:40.
stuart1714 is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 16 Old 11-07-15 Thread Starter
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,423
Is it safe to do that?
Keithy is offline  
Status: Back in the Giulia
AO Silver Member
 
stuart1714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,813

Member car:

Giulia 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keithy View Post
Is it safe to do that?
Microsoft wouldn't recommend it, but we've not seen any issues with doing it on over 8000 devices. However, we had up to date anti virus on the majority of them.

You aren't disabling DEP on the operating system, just on IE.

These kinds of issues are often caused by a piece of software being installed which IE doesn't like or has been mentioned, an IE addin.
stuart1714 is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,931
Garage
steveisfrowning is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
dep , vista

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome