30Mb/s - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Paddy OPlastic
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 9 Old 12-06-15 Thread Starter
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,465

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Looky Looky 30Mb/s

We have a radio system for Internet with a dish on the side of the house pointing towards a distant transceiver. It's a local outfit and works pretty well most of the time.

In the beginning we got 2Mb/s download and 2Mb/s upload and a 40GB monthly limit which set me back 75 pm. Quite expensive but we do live on the edge of beyond and the choice is limited.

Then a couple of years later I noticed the download speed had jumped to 4Mb/s and the monthly limit raised to 60GB. They didn't tell us about the change but we were more than happy to accept it.

At the beginning of this year we found the limit had been doubled to 120GB without notice. Very happy again since we were having to watch how much video we were streaming.

A few days ago I noticed that Youtube videos were starting quicker and jumping straight to HD which didn't happen before. I tested the speeds and it's currently 30Mb/s download and 4Mb/s upload - first world speeds!

I'm sure they've screwed up some config file somewhere and I so don't expect it to last but meanwhile we're going to enjoy it.
BigFoot likes this.
Paddy OPlastic is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
...just make sure you check your next bill carefully!
 
(Post Link) post #3 of 9 Old 18-06-15 Thread Starter
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,465

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Aha. My neighbour says she saw in the local paper that Eircom (that's our BT) will be bringing out fibre to our village. I guess the local ISP fears the competition - Eircom broadband is much cheaper.

Anyway, good news.
Paddy OPlastic is online now  
Status: The BSD says konnichiwa
Global Mod Team
 
BigFoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Japan
County: Tokyo
Posts: 114,689
Win win I’d say
BigFoot is offline  
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,423
Sounds like the Mobile Broadband rollout is going at a pace now

Last edited by Keithy; 10-04-17 at 12:25.
Keithy is online now  
(Post Link) post #6 of 9 Old 18-06-15 Thread Starter
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,465

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keithy View Post
Sounds like the Mobile Broadband rollout is going at a pace now
I've got one of those on the side of my house.
Paddy OPlastic is online now  
(Post Link) post #7 of 9 Old 18-06-15 Thread Starter
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,465

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigFoot View Post
Win win Id say
Oh yes, choice and the free market and all that. Still, if the local ISP hadn't had a near monopoly when I moved here then I wouldn't have been able to move here, if you get my drift.

I have, however, discovered a down side to the increased bandwidth: all that high def video we can now get from Netflix and YT hammers the monthly usage limit. HD = SD x 4.
Paddy OPlastic is online now  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddy OPlastic View Post
Aha. My neighbour says she saw in the local paper that Eircom (that's our BT) will be bringing out fibre to our village. I guess the local ISP fears the competition - Eircom broadband is much cheaper.

Anyway, good news.

...when you say fibre, would that be tightly-wound flax, soaked in brine?

(Known technically as wet string).
 
(Post Link) post #9 of 9 Old 18-06-15 Thread Starter
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,465

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by VO2Max View Post
...when you say fibre, would that be tightly-wound flax, soaked in brine?

(Known technically as wet string).
Aha, you're familiar with Eircom's business practices then.
Paddy OPlastic is online now  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
30mb or s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome