Home Cinema Speaker Recommendations - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

(Post Link) post #1 of 21 Old 25-04-15 Thread Starter
AO Platinum Member

County: West Yorkshire
Home Cinema Speaker Recommendations

Hi,

I know quite a few movie and audio junkies are on here so I thought I'd post this here before going for more populous forums.

I've been making do for many years with a matched 5.1 speaker and sub package which came with a Denon system I bought about 15 years ago, everything now runs through a Denon AVR-1312 that I've had a for a few years and I'd be happy to stick with this set-up if it weren't for a recent and annoying development.

Over the past few years I shifted to buying films exclusively on Blu Ray, and many recent releases have had audio that uses frequency ranges that my ageing kit cannot reproduce without my sub popping and farting like it's about to expire. For example in Interstellar when the ship crosses the singularity, there's a good 30 seconds of low frequency vibration that promises subdeath.

Having to turn the volume down mid way through a film is a bit of a buzz kill, especially when it's generally at a really good bit.

So, I'm thinking of swapping out the existing sub, with a budget of 200 what would you recommend?

I haven't really kept up to date with advances in technology and I just want something that will swap out easily.

Cheers

Sean

Nero Fuoco 147 Lusso - Bianco Nuvola 147 GTA - Carbonio Brera SV - Azzurro Le Mans GT 1600 Junior
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

(Post Link) post #2 of 21 Old 26-04-15 Thread Starter
AO Platinum Member

#tumbleweed
Global Mod Team

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Wharfedale make cracking speakers in my experience, and this reviews well:
Wharfedale Powercube SPC-10 review | Subwoofers | What Hi-Fi?

Not sure whether you'd find it quite as cheap as 200 though.