Streaming UK TV abroad for free - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Streaming UK TV abroad for free

I think there's been some debate about this recently on AO?

I'm abroad at the moment and was very pleased to be told about this: FilmonTV.com.

Enjoy!
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
County: -
Posts: 192

Member car:

147

Exactly what on UK TV would you want to watch?
bob dylan is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That'd be telling.
 
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob dylan View Post
Exactly what on UK TV would you want to watch?

"Smoke me a UKIPper, I'll be back for breakfast."
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Denmark
County: Frederiksborg
Posts: 8
From what i know you cant, you can try and use a proxy IP but that just works for web browsers and not very well from what i have seen, most online TV that you can get in the UK you need to download software or install plug-ins on your browser and it is those plug-ins and software programs that identify your location.

PS if you have a TV licence with the BBC i think you can access BBC content using your licence, but i am not 100% sure about that, check it out.
Bradley75 is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Proxy works fine. It's not just for web browsers. *


There's no system to use your UK TV license abroad.




*EDIT: actually a VPN service is what is required these days.

Last edited by TheGrimJeeper; 26-03-15 at 09:01.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Now why would you un-patriotic ex-pats want to do that anyway?

NSEW home sick really for what's best?

Up the UK,
zulu ferret is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
This is what I used very successfully for 3 weeks abroad recently, and I heartily commend it to the good folk of AO: FILMON TV FREE LIVE TV MOVIES AND SOCIAL TELEVISION
 
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Pretty sure that's a dodgy site.




[Bookmarks for emergencies]
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I used it for 3 weeks solid in Spain and my laptop hasn't blown up?

I suspect it's probably illegal but it seems a well-designed website and it works well. I figure I'm not really getting anything for free, I'm merely getting what I pay for at home (by the licence fee), abroad .

What I find interesting is how they get hold of the feeds of BBC, ITV, etc. There's no channel idents in the top LHS corner, so they're getting hold of the feed before that's added, ie NOT off-air. Interesting.
 
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Piece of cake: Sat feed, crop it, stream it straight out.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That's the point, I don't think it's cropped?

I shall try to check though, and report back!
 
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Well...I just got FilmonTV running on my computer in fullscreen mode, and my home TV on exactly the same programme. I paused both at exactly the same point in the programme, when there was a bit of edge-of-picture detail and the pictures on the TV and the laptop were identical - effectively, a frameshot of both sources, and there was no difference in picture size.

So, there is no cropping of the picture on FilmonTV to get rid of the channel idents.

Interesting.
 
rxe
Status: Busso
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 4,134
With a VPN you can literally be anywhere in the world. According to my PC, I'm all over the place:

Geolocation data from IP2Location (Product: DB4 updated on 2/28/2015)
IP Address Country Region City ISP
31.6.13.90 Russian Federation - - Yhc International Bv
Google Map for -, -, Russian Federation (New window)

Geolocation data from IP2Location (Product: DB4 updated on 2/28/2015)
IP Address Country Region City ISP
128.90.109.236 Mexico Distrito Federal Mexico City Unus Inc.
Google Map for Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico (New window)

Geolocation data from IP2Location (Product: DB4 updated on 2/28/2015)
IP Address Country Region City ISP
103.27.221.64 Korea, Republic Of - - Kr Customer Allocation
Google Map for -, -, Korea, Republic of (New window)

No dodgy apps, no possible way to stop this, no way can GCHQ look at what I am doing. Well, they might be able to, but they have to dedicate a lot of computing power to do so.
rxe is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,335
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Quote:
Originally Posted by rxe View Post
With a VPN you can literally be anywhere in the world. According to my PC, I'm all over the place:

Geolocation data from IP2Location (Product: DB4 updated on 2/28/2015)
IP Address Country Region City ISP
31.6.13.90 Russian Federation - - Yhc International Bv
Google Map for -, -, Russian Federation (New window)

Geolocation data from IP2Location (Product: DB4 updated on 2/28/2015)
IP Address Country Region City ISP
128.90.109.236 Mexico Distrito Federal Mexico City Unus Inc.
Google Map for Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico (New window)

Geolocation data from IP2Location (Product: DB4 updated on 2/28/2015)
IP Address Country Region City ISP
103.27.221.64 Korea, Republic Of - - Kr Customer Allocation
Google Map for -, -, Korea, Republic of (New window)

No dodgy apps, no possible way to stop this, no way can GCHQ look at what I am doing. Well, they might be able to, but they have to dedicate a lot of computing power to do so.
Should we, or GCHQ be concerned at what you're doing?
Verbout is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
If you're not using TOR you can still be traced.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
rxe
Status: Busso
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 4,134
They can easily trace me if they clobber my VPN provider - which would be difficult as it is not UK based. Most importantly they would be able to be in a position to tell me of the request for data. But yes, to a determined attack, this solution is vulnerable. However, I am doing nothing that warrants a determined attack, so if they expend a vast amount of effort to show that I am browsing AO via Moscow, that is fine with me.
rxe is offline  
Status: Wishing people were nicer
AO Gold Member
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by VO2Max View Post
I think there's been some debate about this recently on AO?

I'm abroad at the moment and was very pleased to be told about this: FilmonTV.com.

Enjoy!
I was indeed enquiring about it.

I can use Filmon over here in the UAE, but it suffers from a lot of buffering and a fair amount of drop outs. The speedtests on my internet are very high (>30mbs) and I'm watching on hardwired devices (i.e. no wireless) but I do suspect that the "content filtering" that goes on out here in the good ol' U A of E may be to blame.....
FredDibnah is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hi Fred, oh dear!

Mine didn't buffer very much at all - there'd be a local (in my case, Spanish) pop-up TV ad upon initial connection (which you could close down after about 6s), then it was as good as gold. I only had the hotel-room Wi-Fi which was probably only about 2MB/s. I had very occasional drop-outs, but I suspect it was the bloke in the room next door trying to watch pron in HD and nicking all the bandwidth, judging by the sounds emanating from his room.

Yes, sounds like you're suffering filtering of some sort.
 
Status: Life is good atm. I do not take that for granted.
Global Mod Team
 
PaulR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 22,948
I am sure that I am way out of my league here and you will laugh.

However, using Google Chrome or Firefox (I use Macs) using "Hola" allows me to access, for example, the American version of Netflix.

Just a thought - would that allow BBC from abroad?
PaulR is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post

Just make sure you send a cheque payable to the BBC for £145.50, there's a good chap .
 
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Of course...




...I'm going to ignore what you just posted!
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Arrived this AM via FedEx. (I was in the shower! )


Will play with it tonight.

Tiny thing. microUSB powered.

Should, in theory, up the throughput a bit so
that I don't have to download iPlayer content in HD
as I occasionally do with VPN on Win8.1


TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 81
Install XBMC/KODI on your pc/Mac then you will have to install add ons but follow this procedure Install Addons for Kodi and you will get addons installed.

Or if you have an android device install this, it's the same but all preinstalled addons ready to go TVMC App for Android

A couple of free add ons such as project free TV or 1 channel won't work in the UK (not sure in other countries apart from US) but the rest of the free ones like entertainment hub, navi x, sports devil etc will work here and abroad. Not only you can watch live TV there's thousands of on demand movies and TV for free

if you want broadcast quality live TV streams you can pay certain providers for XBMC/KODI add on this will include all major sports channels inc 3pm.

Although you can get all for free on KODI I have always paid a sub for mine as its decent quality live streams and they never go down

If you want top notch get a MAG 250/254 IPTV player and buy a sub for about £10 a month and get over 300 broadcast quality channels

Last edited by hannyid; 05-05-15 at 17:48.
hannyid is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
abroad , free , streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome