fed up with computing and this laptop! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 16 Old 07-02-15 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Not Happy fed up with computing and this laptop!

Really cheesed of today with this Tosh Sat. Been hours today frigging around with it, trying to sort it!

Lost all of my bookmarks, and can't get into my E mail account! Pig with the whole thing.

Now I'm just wondering if it would be a cheap way out to get a Hudle, Cudle, from my favourite store (Parp!!) Tescos to smooth my webbing sessions in future?
zulu ferret is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
To be honest ZF if you only want web browser
and email I'd go for one of Amazon's tablets.

The reason being there's less faffing with settings
etc.

The only issue for any tablet is the touch screen
keyboards which I still find intensely annoying.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 16 Old 08-02-15 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Thanks for that Nev, I'll have a look see. :

Of course it had to happen, after all that' kerfuffle' yesterday eventually, I merely by chance I hasten to add, managed to sort the laptop out a bit.

Now I've just got to use the Store E by Tosh to make sure I do a back up regularly? :
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
At least you're back ZF!


You should only really need the Microsoft
Windows update/backup stuff.
Not sure what Toshiba's backup does but seems
like another layer of complexity for little gain.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
100th_Idiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 14,827
Garage

Member car:

Nothing Italian

Zed. Have a look at a Chromebook as well. You will want a keyboard for typing. Touch screens can get wearing.

Acer Chromebook 13 review | Laptops And Netbooks Review | TechRadar
100th_Idiot is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Matty156's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 178
Garage
I use a MS Surface for web browsing, email and odd bit of office stuff.

It's great and you can get them cheap if you shop around.

I like it in particular because:-

It has a keyboard integrated into the cover (with a track pad like a laptop)
As nice to use as a iPad or any other tablet I've used
More flexible than an iPad - has mini HDMI and USB port and a micro SD card socket for extending them memory (currently have a 64GB one in there)

Downsides is lack of apps compared to iPad or Android. However if you just need it for email, surfing and office stuff its a great alternative to a laptop and tablet.

When I got this I sold the laptop and iPad on as they became redundant. I can even get onto my work computer on a remote desktop should I feel the need to do some work from home.

Last edited by Matty156; 10-02-15 at 18:50.
Matty156 is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
No problems with typing on screen here Zed try some out in Waterstones or John Lewis get a feelfor a tablet before making a buying decision
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Had my Xperia Mini Pro out today.
Keyboard = bliss!!
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,328
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Zed......format the bloody thing.
Verbout is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 16 Old 10-02-15 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
What like it was with my old Amstrad using Windows 3.1 when it got clogged up?
Format C://? or summat' can't do that can I.:

Last edited by zulu ferret; 11-02-15 at 08:55. Reason: missed d
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 6,517
Go into File Manager, or whatever it's called in the version of Windows you're using, right-click on C: & then click on "format".

Be aware that everything on that drive will be lost!
Dave Brand is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 16 Old 11-02-15 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Thanks for the assistance and suggestions chaps, but I'm not up to doing anything as complex as that sounds.

It was so simple for basic folk like myself when a Windows disc was supplied with the old 486 computer, but now I have neither the patience or inclination to spend much in the way of time trying to plumb everything back in with little or no real knowlege of how to do it?

May try one of the locals who advertise in the local rag, so long as they don't try to rip me off quoting prices that would make me take the final solution with a massive hammer!
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,328
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Very sensible, it is, or used to be a faff of a job that took hours.
Verbout is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 16 Old 11-02-15 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Just had an automatic switch off whilst loads of Windows updates arrived,and for the moment the hard drive seems to be having a break from continously whirring away like there is no tomorrow!

It must of realised that it was likely to be exterminated?
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,328
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Throw it into the back garden, I did that a few months ago to a sat nav, it works wonders, for your mental health, not good for the sat nav.
Verbout is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
I hope ZF and his laptop are okay. He's not been on today...
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
computing , fed , laptop

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome