Which Monitor? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 28 Old 23-01-15 Thread Starter
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,814
Which Monitor?

Last week I revived my old gaming rig, but my old monitor is kaput. I'm going to get a new one, I see you get rather a lot for your money these days, but what would you go for? It will mostly just be used for web browsing and the odd film. The graphics card has 2 x DVI outputs, and I have a separate output for sound, my previous monitor used to have built in speakers so if I didn't get another the same I'd need to budget for standalone ones. But for convenience I'd rather have a monitor with built in speakers. Budget is around 120.

I was thinking something along the lines of this:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/331271039626

Autolusso Penrith - UK's leading independent Alfa Romeo specialist with branches in Bedfordshire, Cumbria & Dorset

Wizard Exhaust systems available here

Tel: 01768 879 171
Pud237 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Samsung or LG should be pretty reliable.


Problem will be getting the sound to it as
some of them only have audio input via
hdmi.

I got an Asus last time round.
e.g.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B008J4XP7O/
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,518

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

The problem with getting sound included is that you're giving yourself the worst sound possible - and probably compromising the quality of your monitor as well to do so. But it's all about your priorities, so no reason not to do that if it's what you want.

If you get something like this:
Asus VE228HR 22" Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor - Black [VE228HR]

Then there's 20 left in your budget for a set of desktop speakers - and I'd bet that even the lowliest desktop speakers you can find will blow ones built into a monitor out of the water.

Or if you can stretch to something like this:
MicroLab M700 40W 2.1 Speaker System - Gloss Black Finish [M700]
Either by getting a slightly cheaper monitor or increasing your budget, then that sub is going to benefit film watching massively.

Seen an offensive/spam post? Report it! Click the or button next to the post.
AO Rules - AO Gallery - AO Classified adverts - AO Club - AO Traders

"Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so." - Douglas Adams


"You know, sometimes the world seems like a pretty mean place."
"That's why animals are so soft and huggy."
- Calvin and Hobbes

To err is human, to moderate ursine.
bazza is online now  
(Post Link) post #4 of 28 Old 24-01-15 Thread Starter
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,814
The built in speakers thing is only really because I am limited in desk space, and the extension lead that powers the PC doesn't have a spare port for additional power for speakers. Half the time if I need sound I have ear phones in anyway as the Mrs watches TV in the same room.

If I'm watching a film at night I use Plex (Now TV box) to stream it to the TV anyway. Its just for the odd Youtube video, mostly Alfa exhausts
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 28 Old 24-01-15 Thread Starter
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,814
Thanks for your input Bazza & Nev. What do you think to the specs on this one for the money?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/111522862645
Pud237 is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,518

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Its just for the odd Youtube video, mostly Alfa exhausts
You definitely want a subwoofer then!

No, I quite understand your point, and you have to buy what meets your needs. Under those criteria reckon I'd be getting built in speakers too.
bazza is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
I no longer touch Acer products with a 50foot pole.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 6,517
Just to widen the search, I can recommend ViewSonic.

Take a look at the various manufacturers' dead pixel policy.
Dave Brand is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
If you have 2 xDVI out is try to get 2 decent monitors with no sound.
The difference in productivity terms of having 2 monitors is like .... well it's like a standard exhaust vs a Wizzard.
Forget the inbuilt speakers.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,518

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

For web browsing and the odd film? I think that might be overkill.
bazza is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319


I hate two monitor set-ups at work.
It's an office, not the set of The Matrix.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Oi! Nev,

I have two on the go always, well sort of, the Tosh laptop, and a 19" 48.5cm. Tchibo with inbuilt speakers.

I'm not a gamer and I just may update as I need to magnify just about everything I view now.

Especially the rorty bits??
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Obviously you're more multi-taking than be, XF.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Eee' By Gum Nev it be so, but where to now with my remaining few years of absolute confusion of all things technological?

Back to slate, pencils and chalk?
zulu ferret is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 28 Old 01-02-15 Thread Starter
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,814
OK so I potentially need a new graphics card too, so probably best to upgrade to one with HDMI out, then go monitor shopping afterwards?
Pud237 is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
HDMI or DisplayPort.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post


I hate two monitor set-ups at work.
It's an office, not the set of The Matrix.
Not sure why you feel this way, as Jim said, the additional productivity experienced far outweighs any other concern.

I'd have 3 if I could but make do with a largish laptop display and 22" monitor.
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
It just doesn't look right.
Most people seem to just have Outlook up on one
and proper work on the other, so I think it's just posing.


I prefer a large screen with desktop virtualization.

Then again, I'm still not convinced the Dell LCD monitor
I've got at work is better than the Sony Trinitron (Sun) CRT monitor
I used for 12 years.....
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,518

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

I use dual monitors (with a laptop screen as one of them) all the time at work. And I'd happily have it at home except it'd overpower the lounge a little.

But I still think it's massive overkill given what Dan has already said his usage is going to be. Mind you - film on one screen, IMDB on the other?
bazza is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Imdb is what tablets/ridiculously large phones
were invented for


TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 28 Old 23-03-15 Thread Starter
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,814
I'm now using a Samsung 22" 1080p smart TV as a monitor - fantastic for Call of Duty

However when I'm not using headphones direct from the PC I can't get the TV to output sound from the PC. My graphics card outputs DVI which I run into the TV's HDMI 1 socket by using an adaptor. However the TV's only sound inputs are two stereo inputs which are part of a 5-plug component setup. I have a 3.5mm audio out jack which connects to the two phono sockets but if I select this input it stops displaying the picture from the HDMI.

I guess the only way of doing it is to get a DVI to component adaptor? But I would rather stick with digital video, is it possible to patch in stereo audio signal to a HDMI cable that is currently only using the video channels?
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #22 of 28 Old 23-03-15 Thread Starter
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,814
Having done some quick research, it seems the answer is no. The output from my PC's 3.5mm audio jack is analogue, and HDMI audio signal is digital. It'd need some box of tricks to make it work.

Looks like the answer is either a modern graphics card with HDMI output (these also do sound) or get a DVI to component adaptor for the visuals.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
What is your graphics card?
Some of them do support audio through DVI and on though hdmi, I think.

Seems a shame to step down to composite vid.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #24 of 28 Old 23-03-15 Thread Starter
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,814
Its a GeForce 8800, but it doesn't do audio. I thought the same about composite video, it seems a shame given the card output is digital and the screen is digital, having an analogue link between the two seems madness.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: Back in the Giulia
AO Silver Member
 
stuart1714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,813

Member car:

Giulia 2.0

DVI doesn't do sound. It sounds like the easiest option is a low power graphics card.

There used to be another option. When bluray players first came out they introduced a standard for sound that could only be obtained with certain circuitry. A couple of suppliers made sound cards which took a HDMI/DVI input without sound and added sound and then output both sound and video in a single HDMI cable.

I've got one of these old cards in a box somewhere, but to be honest if it's an old PC then an inexpensive graphics card is going to be the easiest option. If it's an old PC, I would look for one which doesn't need extra power cables.
stuart1714 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
monitor

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome