Copying iTunes library to removable drive - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 24 Old 04-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,517

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Copying iTunes library to removable drive

I want to copy my entire library to a pen drive, so it's usable on my wife's new car stereo.

What's the best way to do it?

Is it as simple as finding the library folder in explorer, and copy the whole thing? Back when I used to use Media Player, that wouldn't have been ideal, because it would have also copied album artwork and the like - but ona quick inspection, not it's in iTunes, the folders don't seem to have anything but the mp3's...

Or is there a way of doing it within iTunes itself which works?

Seen an offensive/spam post? Report it! Click the or button next to the post.
AO Rules - AO Gallery - AO Classified adverts - AO Club - AO Traders

"Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so." - Douglas Adams


"You know, sometimes the world seems like a pretty mean place."
"That's why animals are so soft and huggy."
- Calvin and Hobbes

To err is human, to moderate ursine.
bazza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Do it as you have first suggested via Windows Explorer. The artwork is embedded into the MP3 but that is irrelevant as an MP3 player will ignore it.
Check though that they are indeed mp3s and if not that your wife's car player can play whatever format they are in. There is an Apple variant of MP3 but I can't remember it's name.
You can make MP3 versions if not via iTunes. Right click on track and do create MP3 version.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Before anyone jumps in I did not say that itunes is the BEST way of converting to MP3 but it is convenient if that is what you are used to.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,340
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Isn't it just a case of drag and drop into your new storage device?
Verbout is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 24 Old 05-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,517

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Yep. Did work that way.

Not sure it's going to work out the best for navigating mind you. Will have to look at the manual for the stereo and see exactly how to navigate between folders and files. On playing with it in the car, the only folders coming up in search appeared to be those with files directly within them - therefore the album folders. It would have been preferable to be able to search through the artist folders too.
bazza is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Easily done by creating a folder for each artist and drag/dropping each album folder into the respective
artist folder.

Most other music library software does that
automatically.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 24 Old 05-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,517

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

'Easily'. That would take hours!

Oh wait, you're talking about the albums being sub-folders? That's alreasdy the case with iTunes, but the stereo is only recognising folders which have files directly within them (I think) so doesn't allow you to pick the artist.
bazza is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Shell script would take seconds...


So you directory structure on the USB is already:


/root----Artist-----Album----Track1/Track2/Track3...etc
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 24 Old 05-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,517

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Well, the lot are in a folder called 'music' but essentially correct.
bazza is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 24 Old 05-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,517

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

There we go.
The diagram on page 17 of this manual:
http://www.alpine.co.uk/fileadmin/us...E-136BT_EN.pdf

Confirms as I thought - doesn't display a folder if there's no file directly within it. It's like they don't recognise the reailt of how people are likely to use this.
bazza is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 24 Old 05-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,517

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

I think I'm going to have to change the folder structure on the USB stick to remove albums and only have artists. It also says the stereo can only cope with 100 folders, so I suspect it's not recognising the majority of music on there as things stand too.

Any thoughts on how to do that without it taking me forever?
bazza is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 24 Old 05-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,517

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

In fact, thinking further, I'm wondering whether my best solution is in fact to buy a cheap old iPod and to use that in the car instead of a USB drive?
According to the manual, using an iPod gives much more ability to search out what track, album or artist you want.
bazza is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,340
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

That's what I have, an old 5th gen iPod attached to USB port in armrest.

I have it on random, don't bother with search, I hear music that I haven't heard in years.
Verbout is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
And people think B&M is limited.....
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 24 Old 06-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,517

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

So what second hand iPod type is likely to give me the best GB per buck?
bazza is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 24 Old 06-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,517

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verbout View Post
That's what I have, an old 5th gen iPod attached to USB port in armrest.

I have it on random, don't bother with search, I hear music that I haven't heard in years.
If it was only ever going to be on random, the USB drive would be fine. Buit given this is a gift for Mrs Bazza, I'd rather it work as well as possible.
bazza is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,340
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
And people think B&M is limited.....

Last edited by Verbout; 06-12-14 at 13:55.
Verbout is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Check what the car head unit will recognise. Old iPod's (and I mean old iPods) could be put into something called disk mode. Some older car head units with usb could only read iPods if they were in this mode.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Just read the manual via link you posted. Old iPod is definitely the way to go.
biggreenzebra is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 24 Old 06-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,517

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Are you sure? USB mode would seem to cause exactly the same issue currently encountered by using an actual USB drive.

I think I can get away with an older model - but I don't think it's what I have to aim for (apart from in terms of cost). I want it to be recognised as an iPod, and controlled as such, to give me access to the ability to search on album and artist, not just folder and file.
bazza is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Manual says it will support iPods that are not capable of disk only mode which is good. It means you will be able to control via the ipod interface as well as the headunit. The folder structure on the iPod will be irrelevant.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: only gonna buy berties from now on
AO Member
 
chipt33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 369

Member car:

GT v6

Just looking @ my iTunes/music folder, it automatically sorts them in artist/albums, so the folder depth will never be incompatible with your replay unit. The usb memory option can play AAC format. I'm afraid that I am not familiar with the way windows assists the sorting of iTunes folders. I thought they would be similar.
chipt33 is offline  
(Post Link) post #23 of 24 Old 06-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,517

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggreenzebra View Post
Manual says it will support iPods that are not capable of disk only mode which is good. It means you will be able to control via the ipod interface as well as the headunit. The folder structure on the iPod will be irrelevant.
But I don't want to use the iPod interface, I want to use the head unit. The iPod will be in a little cubby within the glovebox and never touched.

I agree that the folder structure will be irrelevant - if I'm using it as an iPod, which means I shouldn't particularly be aiming for an old one, surely? And the manual itself states the oldest you can use with it - with older ones not necessarily working correctly.
bazza is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
A recent ish IPod should be fine and yes both interfaces will work.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
copying , drive , itunes , library , removable

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome