Just an old dumb 'Git' after some techie advice? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 17 Old 21-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Just an old dumb 'Git' after some techie advice?

1. Still using my original Netgear router on WEP!! I know daft, but I'm concerned that I'm not competent to set up a newer machine that I have which does WAP2 ?

2. (I have had this newer one for quite sometime, about 18 mths. or so iirc?)

3. Will the later one be ok using the old 26 mixed letters and numbers Network Key?

4. Answers that are very simple to understand please,that are no more more difficult than learning how to shrink a new black beret from the Q. M.'s store. :
zulu ferret is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Disillusioned and Disgruntled
AO Silver Member
 
MrShusky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,381
Just how do you shrink a new black beret Zed?
MrShusky is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 17 Old 21-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
One Mr. S run it under the hot tap in the barrack blocks ablutions sink for ten minutes!

Two, allow it to then steep in really cold tap water for another ten or so!

Three, gently wring it out until it hardly drips at all.


Four, stick it on your bonce, shape it as required and leave it on until it dries a bit!

Five when dry, learn how to fashion a very neat bow using the head band tape, then stitch the same self made craft piece on the rear where the leather head band has a joint!

Clear enough Sah?
zulu ferret is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 17 Old 21-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
??:
zulu ferret is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 17 Old 21-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
34 views up but not one helping hand so far. :
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: Disillusioned and Disgruntled
AO Silver Member
 
MrShusky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,381
Excellent instructions Sir, Off to the stores tomorrow to get a beret

If only I could be of such help to you with your router issues.

All I've ever done is plumb them in and follow the onscreen instructions to set up

Wishing you every success
MrShusky is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 17 Old 21-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Thanks for repling anyway Mr. Shusky. :

I did think BB might of assisted me, and maybe he will at that? :
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
ZF, it should be okay to use WEP

What you could do is set it up without connecting it for you internet and just test the WiFI
See if everything connects first.
(So you'll have choice of your original Netgear WiFi and the second new Wifi, if that makes sense.)
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
CobolMan
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
What sort of router is your new one ZF?
 
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,490

Member car:

159 SW TBi

The main thing is that if you just disconnect the old one, if you have a problem it can be plugged back in. It's often easiest setting up using a cabled connection and if there isn't a setup wizard the built-in one can sometimes be found by accessing the router's setting pages directly (often 192.168.x.x) where x is usually 0,1 or 254 - if you let us know the model we can work it out, along with the default username and password if they aren't on the router itself.

You can sometimes set up routers in mixed-mode but that can bring other issues. Usually using WPA2 instead of WEP isn't harder to set up, just means the default key may be longer.
AmicusPro is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
As far as your PCs etc are concerned the new wifi is a new connection. Your key will need to be re-entered come what may. Use a different SSID to avoid confusion and the same key if you wish. As others have said try it with one device first with the router not connected to the internet. It's not difficult. If you have Apple devices choose a wifi channel 11 or below. Don't ask.
biggreenzebra is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 17 Old 23-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Thanks for the replies guys.

But, Aaargh!!!! I got on to the AOL help line and guess what? It was a Hindu festival of some sort going on in the background so the young lady I spoke to informed me. :

I gave up trying to explain things using the phonetic alphabet and I politely told her I would contact them again at a later date.

How nice it was back in the nineties when those helpful Coleens (SP?) on the Emerald Isle were there to guide me so very carefully,I miss them so very much. :

If Tata4Now says it's ok using WEP, as I trust my pal Nev implicitly I'll stick with what I'm using I reckon. Thanks Nev,
zulu ferret is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 17 Old 23-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
I must keep looking at this thread and try those suggestions.:
zulu ferret is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 17 Old 23-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Right chaps, the replacement I have is a Netgear N150 Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router.
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
That's probably quite a step up from the old one which may not even be ADSL2 and the wireless will probably only be b/g not N meaning that your connection may be slower than it needs to be. Be brave. Swap it.
biggreenzebra is offline  
CobolMan
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
ZF, personally I would go to WPA2- it's a lot more secure than WEP and no harder to set up, just make sure you choose WPA2-PSK (the PSK is preshared key).
Most devices made over the last 10 or so years should be fine with WPA2-PSK
Setting it up shouldn't be a problem, it's all done over a web interface these days - I got a N300 a couple of months ago and it took about 5 minutes to set it up.
What I would recommend is that you change the password you log into the router with to something that you'll remember (and is different to your WPA2 key).
If you need any help drop me a PM.
 
(Post Link) post #17 of 17 Old 24-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Thanks CBM. I am gradually digesting all of the helpful input that you guys have offered me, and will when I feel competent enough have a bash!

Not portraying the regimental motto of 'Fear Naught' too well as I get old and decrepit am I?

I will have a bash at it though shortly. Thanks to you all who have helped with the info
zulu ferret is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
advice , dumb , git , techie

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome