Anyone tried Windows 10 Preview - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 20 Old 01-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: always makes me smile
AO Member
 
markies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 907
Anyone tried Windows 10 Preview

Anyone else tried Windows 10 Preview yet?

Just installed it on my Surface Pro. First impressions very good - especially the fact we now have a title bar back on various apps with a little close window icon
markies is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,490

Member car:

159 SW TBi

That close option came with 8.1 though... Not looked at 10 yet
AmicusPro is offline  
Status: knob
AO Member
 
Dex87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 283
Garage

Member car:

GT Clover

Now installing it on a spare work laptop - will report back!
Dex87 is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Hah, as if I had the time, wont be looking at that at work for years...
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Windows 7 at work.

Windows 8.1 at home.

Still don't understand people's obsession with the bottom left corner of the desktop.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 6,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
Still don't understand people's obsession with the bottom left corner of the desktop.
Neither do I - all the programs I use regularly are pinned to the taskbar, so I couldn't care less about what the start menu looks like.
Dave Brand is offline  
Status: knob
AO Member
 
Dex87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 283
Garage

Member car:

GT Clover

Ok so first impressions.

Slick, installed in 10 minutes, dwm has some neat new effects (windows fading in/out, nice shadows, eye candy basically), Start Menu has been restored (great for those who like it).

Native virtual desktops (I know, I know, hardly an innovation) are handy, especially as an sys admin with countless applications open at any one time.

Only downside so far, the Intel wifi adapater on the test laptop (an HP Elitebook) doesn't want to connect to any of our networks - despite Windows update providing a new (presumably Windows 10 happy) driver for it.
Dex87 is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Intel Centrino WiFi adaptor doesn't work in 8.1 either.

Keeps dropping the connection and then saying there are no WiFi networks available.
(Reboot to clean )
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Sticking up for MGs everywhere!
AO Silver Member
 
David WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancaster
Posts: 3,769

Member car:

147 & GQV

Looks a lot more well balanced than Windows 8. It is interesting how Microsoft spent years making the colour scheme more and more shaded with more and more gradients culminating in the transparent 'Aero' theme that arived with Vista. Now it seems to share as many colours as Windows 95 again on the desktop, only the icons have become two tone in Windows 8. It is nice to see the return of a more XP feel, considering that was probably the best operating system they made in recent times (well according to me anwyay).
David WB is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dexexday View Post
Ok so first impressions.

Slick, installed in 10 minutes, dwm has some neat new effects (windows fading in/out, nice shadows, eye candy basically), Start Menu has been restored (great for those who like it).

Native virtual desktops (I know, I know, hardly an innovation) are handy, especially as an sys admin with countless applications open at any one time.

Only downside so far, the Intel wifi adapater on the test laptop (an HP Elitebook) doesn't want to connect to any of our networks - despite Windows update providing a new (presumably Windows 10 happy) driver for it.
Never really understood the value in the virtual desktop thing, even from as far back as the XP powertoy.

Personally, In do all my management from a single MMC built up with Snap ins from the server admin tools, all my Server RD connections in one place, DNS, File & Print and Directory as well. Everything else seems to be web based these days so just need a browser and rarely Putty or Powershell for other stuff.
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
"Virtual" or multiple desktops are something that's been around in proper
computing for a long, long time. e.g. Solaris/CDE or even back when it
was SunOS/Openwindows (With olvwm) We're talking 20 years ago!

It's one of the most necessary desktop environment features for managing all the
projects you can be working on.

So imagine running CAD tools: simulations, layout etc for 6 different projects
or modules. Running that on the same desktop you just don't have the real-
estate to have all that open. And it's a bind to keep opening/closing terminals
and windows. So one desktop per project makes a hell of a lot of sense.


On Windows, running a mailtool, powerpoint and a couple of word documents? Meh.




TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
MalcQV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 13,519

Member car:

Office Chair.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
"Virtual" or multiple desktops are something that's been around in proper
computing for a long, long time. e.g. Solaris/CDE or even back when it
was SunOS/Openwindows (With olvwm) We're talking 20 years ago!

It's one of the most necessary desktop environment features for managing all the
projects you can be working on.

So imagine running CAD tools: simulations, layout etc for 6 different projects
or modules. Running that on the same desktop you just don't have the real-
estate to have all that open. And it's a bind to keep opening/closing terminals
and windows. So one desktop per project makes a hell of a lot of sense.


On Windows, running a mailtool, powerpoint and a couple of word documents? Meh.




That was 20 years yes. Where are those years..
MalcQV is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 20 Old 10-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: always makes me smile
AO Member
 
markies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 907
On a 5 1/4 inch floppy lol
markies is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
MalcQV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 13,519

Member car:

Office Chair.

Quote:
Originally Posted by markies View Post
On a 5 1/4 inch floppy lol
They were actually floppy
MalcQV is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 20 Old 11-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: always makes me smile
AO Member
 
markies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 907
perhaps our South African friends will share what they call the 3 1/2 inch diskette!!!!

At the Farnborough air show back in the mid 90's I was approached by a lady from Denel Informatics asking if I had a "stiffy"

I was flabbergasted!
markies is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
MalcQV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 13,519

Member car:

Office Chair.

Quote:
Originally Posted by markies View Post
perhaps our South African friends will share what they call the 3 1/2 inch diskette!!!!

At the Farnborough air show back in the mid 90's I was approached by a lady from Denel Informatics asking if I had a "stiffy"

I was flabbergasted!
MalcQV is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
KrisW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cork City
Posts: 3,088

Member car:

Giulietta

I've never used virtual desktops, the Alt-Tab (Command-tab for fruit-pickers) task switching achieves the same thing for me. I do, however, work with two monitors, though - a big one for what I'm working on, and a small one for email and other "office" tasks.

I'm interested to have a look at Windows 10... actually, as this weekend is a long one here, and I've no plans, I might try and get it up and running in a VM.

(I use 8.1RT a lot on a Surface 2 in the living room - it makes a great web-browsing, email and Netflix machine, which is all I need there)


... a 3.5" disk is precisely 90mm wide. The design was originally Japanese (Sony, I think). Anyone remember the 3.0" disks Amstrad used to sell? Also Japanese, they came about because Sony's 3.5" design wouldn't fit into a standard Japanese business envelope...
KrisW is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 20 Old 24-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: always makes me smile
AO Member
 
markies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 907
Now that's something I didn't know although remember the amstrad �� thanks krisW
markies is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 20 Old 08-11-14 Thread Starter
Status: always makes me smile
AO Member
 
markies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 907
Well after a few weeks, I have dropped the Windows 10 preview. Since the last update it simply was too flaky at coming out of sleep mode. Back to 8.1 on the Surface2
markies is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Managed to get some time to run 10 on a 3-4 yr old Sony Vaio i3. Doesn't perform badly at all, some issues with previous OS around nat traversal of VPN have been fixed, welcome return of the start menu whilst keeping some of the nicer windows 8 features.

Still seems to have a bit of an identity crisis in whether its an OS for tablets or for desktops/laptops.

All in it's a slick update
GhostyDog is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
preview , windows

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome