Selling an iMac - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 14 Old 14-09-14 Thread Starter
Status: Not my PM
AO Platinum Member
 
AlfaDrivingFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: European Union
Posts: 44,632
Selling an iMac

My dad wants to sell his iMac but needs to get all those sensitive and personal files wiped or destroyed beyond restoration. Any ideas how to do this ?
AlfaDrivingFan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
chrishendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 10,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaDrivingFan View Post
My dad wants to sell his iMac but needs to get all those sensitive and personal files wiped or destroyed beyond restoration. Any ideas how to do this ?
Well, the safest way is to remove the hard drive and pulverise it
This would require some expertise and reduce the resale value somewhat

To erase the internal HD you will need to boot from an external disc, or a cd/DVD in the optical drive. Then use disk utility ap (it's in the utilities folder).
Select the internal drive in the disk utility window ( by default called Macintosh HD) click the erase button, and in the ' security options' button select the maximum overwrite available ( 30 times, I think?). This means that all data is erased and the disc space previously containing this data is overwritten with random 0s and 1s erased and re-written 30 times so virtually(?) no possibility of retrieving any data previously stored.
But don't take my word for it
chrishendrix is online now  
CobolMan
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
He would use Disk Utility to do this but it depends on which version of OSX he's got and if he's got the physical disks that the iMac was shipped with. Have a look on the Apple support forums such as wiping an iMac

Beaten to it by Chris
 
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
"My Dad" = You
"Sensitive & Personal Files"= Your pR0n stash.


TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
chrishendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 10,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
"My Dad" = You
"Sensitive & Personal Files"= Your pR0n stash.


chrishendrix is online now  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
So ADF, the only way to 100% scrub a computer is, as others have said,
replace the harddrive and re-install the OS.


If you can't do this, then the next best thing would be encrypt all your
pR0n sensitive data with hard encryption and then
re-install the OS.

I have no idea how to do that on an iThing.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 14 Old 14-09-14 Thread Starter
Status: Not my PM
AO Platinum Member
 
AlfaDrivingFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: European Union
Posts: 44,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrishendrix View Post
Well, the safest way is to remove the hard drive and pulverise it
This would require some expertise and reduce the resale value somewhat

To erase the internal HD you will need to boot from an external disc, or a cd/DVD in the optical drive. Then use disk utility ap (it's in the utilities folder).
Select the internal drive in the disk utility window ( by default called Macintosh HD) click the erase button, and in the ' security options' button select the maximum overwrite available ( 30 times, I think?). This means that all data is erased and the disc space previously containing this data is overwritten with random 0s and 1s erased and re-written 30 times so virtually(?) no possibility of retrieving any data previously stored.
But don't take my word for it
I understood most of that :smug:

Quote:
Originally Posted by CobolMan View Post
He would use Disk Utility to do this but it depends on which version of OSX he's got and if he's got the physical disks that the iMac was shipped with. Have a look on the Apple support forums such as wiping an iMac

Beaten to it by Chris
Thanks for trying.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
"My Dad" = You
"Sensitive & Personal Files"= Your pR0n stash.






:Bat:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
So ADF, the only way to 100% scrub a computer is, as others have said,
replace the harddrive and re-install the OS.


If you can't do this, then the next best thing would be encrypt all your
pR0n sensitive data with hard encryption and then
re-install the OS.

I have no idea how to do that on an iThing.
It's complicated is what you're telling me.
AlfaDrivingFan is offline  
CobolMan
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It's not difficult ADF, I've done it on my old iMac but I did have the disks that were shipped with it. First thing to do is find out which version of the OS that your dad has and whether the iMac came with any disks.
 
Durty dog
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
"My Dad" = You
"Sensitive & Personal Files"= Your pR0n stash.


adf's been busted :evil grin:
 
(Post Link) post #10 of 14 Old 15-09-14 Thread Starter
Status: Not my PM
AO Platinum Member
 
AlfaDrivingFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: European Union
Posts: 44,632
Can't find the disks
AlfaDrivingFan is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
You're stuffed then.

TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Life is good atm. I do not take that for granted.
Global Mod Team
 
PaulR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 22,947
Use Carbon Copy Cloner.

Use your computer to install the OS and only that onto an external hard disc then clone that to your computer HD using CCC.
PaulR is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
chrishendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 10,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulR View Post
Use Carbon Copy Cloner.

Use your computer to install the OS and only that onto an external hard disc then clone that to your computer HD using CCC.
This would work, but do the "30 times overwrite" security erase in disk utility before re-installing the OS or data on the internal drive could be retrieved.
chrishendrix is online now  
(Post Link) post #14 of 14 Old 15-09-14 Thread Starter
Status: Not my PM
AO Platinum Member
 
AlfaDrivingFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: European Union
Posts: 44,632
Thanks guys
AlfaDrivingFan is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
imac , selling

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome