Microsoft frontpage or other web design software? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 11 Old 11-04-14 Thread Starter
Status: Loving the GTA
AO Silver Member
 
alfabeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Herefordshire
Posts: 3,984
Microsoft frontpage or other web design software?

I need to be able to slightly amend from time to time a web site I have set up. I have been told that Microsoft Frontpage is good for this. Is this a free download anywhere? If not, is there something else I can use (free!)?

Thanks!
alfabeat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 296
I haven't used Frontpage but NetObjects Fusion offers a free "lite" version which might be all you need.

Free Website Design Software
Otto52 is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Notepad +++
But you need to be able to understand and write HTML </end>
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: ...zzzZZZzzz...
AO Member
 
Tony_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Staffordshire
Posts: 534
Garage

Member car:

159 JTDm Lusso

Both MS Word and LibreOffice will save a document as HTML.

A better solution is if your hosting provider has Wordpress or Joomla available it makes updating so much easier with no special software required by you.
Tony_S is offline  
Status: PSN ID: Jack155Q4
AO Gold Member
 
AlfaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 6,919

Member car:

1993 Alfa 155 Q4

Frontpage got replaced by MS Expression Web (v4.0) which is a freebe.

http://www.microsoft.com/expression/eng/

It is quite good but I do find they make an absolute nightmare of the code inserting all sorts of autostyles. If you can keep it simple then it is fine.

Joomla has improved in its version 3 greatly now - I used to find it very hard work to keep it consistent but they have addressed a number of things and the backend is much improved. Installing new modules and getting plug-ins working and adding your own logo etc is all nicer to use too.

AlfaJack is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 11 Old 12-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Loving the GTA
AO Silver Member
 
alfabeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Herefordshire
Posts: 3,984
Sorry for late reply - thanks for all your comments. I use Joomla V3 for our main web site and I agree it is great for easy updating. This is another web site I sort of inherited with a business, which we need to update, but I am only familiar with Joomla, hence this question.

I am trying out the Microsoft Expression download now. Now tried it, and for free it is perfect.

Thanks.

Last edited by alfabeat; 13-06-14 at 09:44.
alfabeat is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
If you find that expression web doesn't work out for any reason i.e. It's no longer supported try visual studio express

Visual Studio Express
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: PSN ID: Jack155Q4
AO Gold Member
 
AlfaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 6,919

Member car:

1993 Alfa 155 Q4

Glad that worked out.
I have since started a site using Wordpress instead - I wish I had used it all along as the interface is a lot easier and more user friendly. Both have their good and bad points but I will look to work more sites with Wordpress from now
AlfaJack is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaJack View Post
Glad that worked out.
I have since started a site using Wordpress instead - I wish I had used it all along as the interface is a lot easier and more user friendly. Both have their good and bad points but I will look to work more sites with Wordpress from now
If you do make sure you keep the sites up to date.

Plenty of holes in the security on wordpress, for example.

Unsafe cookies leave WordPress accounts open to hijacking, 2-factor bypass | Ars Technica
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: PSN ID: Jack155Q4
AO Gold Member
 
AlfaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 6,919

Member car:

1993 Alfa 155 Q4

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostyDog View Post
If you do make sure you keep the sites up to date.

Plenty of holes in the security on wordpress, for example.

Unsafe cookies leave WordPress accounts open to hijacking, 2-factor bypass | Ars Technica
Cheers GD
AlfaJack is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Have had a number of php based sites hacked over the years incl Wordpress. GD is right, keep the install (and plugins) as up to date as possible AND take regular backups of both the files and MySQL db. If you get hacked it much easier to clean up a site when armed with a full backup.

You do back up your data don't you? Of course you do!
biggreenzebra is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
design , frontpage , microsoft , software , web

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome