New Build PC - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 24 Old 15-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: pa taket
AO Platinum Member
 
milowokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 22,748

Member car:

Jaguar XJR V8

New Build PC

My old PB PC has finally given up the ghost.

Tried to breathe new life into it with a nice new power supply, but the lack of POST and intermittent booting led me to believe nothing (at reasonable cost) could be done to save it.

So, a new motherboard, a smattering of memory, nice quad-core CPU and a Samsung EVO SSD had got me up and running again.

Finally upgraded from XP Pro, to the new all singing/dancing Windows 8.1.

It looks good, and runs quickly, but, to my mind, seems set up for a touch enabled screen, rather than keyboard and mouse.

There are a few third-party applications that can mimic the style of previous iterations of Windows (START button menu to launch programs, locate files etc), has anybody had experience of them (pokki and classic shell for instance)?

...if wishes were fishes, we'd all cast nets...
milowokie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Back in the Giulia
AO Silver Member
 
stuart1714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,813

Member car:

Giulia 2.0

There's yet another update coming out for Windows 8.1 soon. Microsoft "accidentally" put it on some update servers a week or two ago. These updates appear to be be aimed at traditional keyboard and mouse users. It's bringing things like the shutdown and search buttons on the modern user interface (the metro or tile screen). Other changes to the modern ui are the task bar now appearing and in modern apps they can now be closed like other ones with the traditional minimise and close buttons in the top right hand corner.

Most people can now probably get away with just the modern ui when this update comes out, but occasionally things may flip back to the desktop ie. File explorer.

Microsoft have realised that not a lot of big companies are using it because a lot are still stuck on desks, hence these latest changes. I've seen first hand the efforts Microsoft are making to get big companies to move to Windows 8 and not to 7 for those still on XP.

I'm currently trying to not use a start menu. I'm putting shortcuts onto the task bar for my most commonly used stuff or on the start screen.

You can get free ones that work quite well though, like
http://www.classicstart8.com
stuart1714 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 24 Old 15-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: pa taket
AO Platinum Member
 
milowokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 22,748

Member car:

Jaguar XJR V8

Hiding the POWER OFF button and not being able to close APPS (as opposed to programs) with a mouse is a bit of a culture shock.

Still the withdrawal of support for XP (and the threatened pressure from every hacker in the world the day after) prompted my leap to Win 8.1, first time I've actually had to purchase an OS (and I didn't even get a sticker to put on the case).
milowokie is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Yes, without touch Win8 Start Menu/Modern GUI loses some of it's appeal.

You close apps by taking the cursor to the top of the screen (It changes into a hand)
then hold down the right mouse button and dragging to the bottom of the screen.

Dragging to the left or right instead give you a 2nd screen in the modern interface
which you can resize.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Back in the Giulia
AO Silver Member
 
stuart1714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,813

Member car:

Giulia 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by milowokie View Post
Hiding the POWER OFF button and not being able to close APPS (as opposed to programs) with a mouse is a bit of a culture shock.
It's coming back, probably early April.
stuart1714 is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 24 Old 15-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: pa taket
AO Platinum Member
 
milowokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 22,748

Member car:

Jaguar XJR V8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
Yes, without touch Win8 Start Menu/Modern GUI loses some of it's appeal.

You close apps by taking the cursor to the top of the screen (It changes into a hand)
then hold down the right mouse button and dragging to the bottom of the screen.

Dragging to the left or right instead give you a 2nd screen in the modern interface
which you can resize.
ALT-F4 works for us old-timers.
milowokie is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'm using Classic Shell on my W8 computer as I write this, and it works well for me.
 
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by milowokie View Post
ALT-F4 works for us old-timers.
You have to get-with-the-times, grandad.








Funnily enough we were talking about touch screen support at work the other day.
There's a lot of stuff that could benefit from it. But I think it'll be another 5 years
before we regularly see touchscreen monitors...
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Back in the Giulia
AO Silver Member
 
stuart1714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,813

Member car:

Giulia 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
Funnily enough we were talking about touch screen support at work the other day.
There's a lot of stuff that could benefit from it. But I think it'll be another 5 years
before we regularly see touchscreen monitors...
One of PCs at home has had a touch screen for for a few years, but the only time it's used is when one of the cats sits in front of it and swipes the screen with his tail!
stuart1714 is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319



I have touch on the Asus Win8 tablet/netbook and find myself using touchscreen,
mouspad or mouse depending on what I'm doing.

The only thing I haven't used much is the stylus, but I can see taht too could be useful
for more delicate jobs...
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Windows 8?

Can't see any reason to move to it from a business perspective for a loooong time, unless there is specific functionality that only windows 8 provides needed.

Windows 7 is supported for many years yet.
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 296
I recently installed Win7 in a separate partition on my XP machine. For the moment, XP works more smoothly and quickly than 7 but maybe I just need more memory. Wasn't it Bill Gates who said he could never envisage a need for more than 640k or something?

I certainly won't be looking at 8 or its successors until I absolutely have to!
Otto52 is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto52 View Post
I recently installed Win7 in a separate partition on my XP machine. For the moment, XP works more smoothly and quickly than 7 but maybe I just need more memory. Wasn't it Bill Gates who said he could never envisage a need for more than 640k or something?

I certainly won't be looking at 8 or its successors until I absolutely have to!
Windows 7 runs happily with 4GB of ram (3.5 addressable if your on a 32bit architecture which I expect you are) if you want to do anything other than just sit there looking at windows explorer.
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostyDog View Post
Windows 8?

Can't see any reason to move to it from a business perspective for a loooong time, unless there is specific functionality that only windows 8 provides needed.

Windows 7 is supported for many years yet.
That's the same for any O/S deployment.
Why go through all that work/pain unless there is a gain to be had?

We've gone 2000-XP-Win7 in the last 10-or-so years.


I would assume Win8 will not see deployment in our organization.

The main drive to Win7 was hard-disk encryption.
3rd party application (GuardianEdge, we're looking at you.) didn't work on
certain models of laptop.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostyDog View Post
Windows 7 runs happily with 4GB of ram (3.5 addressable if your on a 32bit architecture which I expect you are) if you want to do anything other than just sit there looking at windows explorer.
The dual-boot machine has 2GB and is 64 bit, so I guess some extra RAM will help. Videos play fine in XP but jitter horribly in 7. <sigh> More expense
Otto52 is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 24 Old 16-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: pa taket
AO Platinum Member
 
milowokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 22,748

Member car:

Jaguar XJR V8

Had the choice of W7 or W8.1 for the same money in the shop, so went for 8.1.

Running with 1 1/2gb of RAM, more to go in when the silly prices come down, but still runs better than XP did with 2gb. Videos I couldn't watch on XP (choppy/jumpy) play fine, running from either SSD system drive or SATA HD.
milowokie is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by milowokie View Post
Had the choice of W7 or W8.1 for the same money in the shop, so went for 8.1.

Running with 1 1/2gb of RAM, more to go in when the silly prices come down, but still runs better than XP did with 2gb. Videos I couldn't watch on XP (choppy/jumpy) play fine, running from either SSD system drive or SATA HD.
dependent on which licence you went for you may have downgrade rights to Win 7
GhostyDog is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 24 Old 16-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: pa taket
AO Platinum Member
 
milowokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 22,748

Member car:

Jaguar XJR V8

How so? Bought a Windows 8.1 disk in the retail packaging with fully working serial number.
milowokie is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by milowokie View Post
How so? Bought a Windows 8.1 disk in the retail packaging with fully working serial number.
Theres no downgrade rights then.
GhostyDog is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 24 Old 16-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: pa taket
AO Platinum Member
 
milowokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 22,748

Member car:

Jaguar XJR V8

Right oh. Still got my old XP system on another HD might fire that up......see how it reacts to new board/CPU.....
milowokie is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
You can install Win8 on multiple machines
with the same licence.

You just have to call up the automated
system and let it know how many previous
installs you've carried out with that licence key.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Back in the Giulia
AO Silver Member
 
stuart1714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,813

Member car:

Giulia 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostyDog View Post
Windows 8?

Can't see any reason to move to it from a business perspective for a loooong time, unless there is specific functionality that only windows 8 provides needed.

Windows 7 is supported for many years yet.
End of support for mainstream Win 7 is less than a year away. For those with extended support it is 2020. Windows 9 is out next year. Not all business have access to extended support so end of life support for some companies is January next year. If that is the case, moving to 8 may be the best option.

Whilst I agree that from a technical perspective a move to 7 from XP would be easier as it's been done many times compared to Win 8, for companies that haven't done so yet and have extended support there are other reasons to consider 8, even though the costs would be higher.

If you are a large company with an aversion to change and haven't moved from XP, Win 7 would need to start to be replaced in 5 years. If you go to Win 8, it would probably 7 or 8 years before a change is required. Some companies would find that attractive.

One of the complaints that some users on XP complain about is that IT is old, so finishing rolling out 7 when 9 is due out soon wouldn't go down well with them.

People are finding increasing uses for tablets and touch screens. These are best on Win 8, so by using Win 8 on desktops and laptops as well there is only one OS to maintain.

I've not come across any features which would justify a move to Win 8 by itself, but in our environment Branchprinting could prove useful.

I think anybody still on XP should weigh up the pros and cons and then make an informed choice as to what is best for them.
stuart1714 is offline  
Status: Knackered
AO Silver Member
 
stan laurel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Preston
County: Lancashire
Posts: 4,480
Garage

Member car:

159 2.4 Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by VO2Max View Post
I'm using Classic Shell on my W8 computer as I write this, and it works well for me.
+1 same here
stan laurel is offline  
(Post Link) post #24 of 24 Old 22-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: pa taket
AO Platinum Member
 
milowokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 22,748

Member car:

Jaguar XJR V8

Quote:
Originally Posted by VO2Max View Post
I'm using Classic Shell on my W8 computer as I write this, and it works well for me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stan laurel View Post
+1 same here
And now here too.
milowokie is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
build

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome