BT user moving to Sky...probably - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 40 Old 12-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: 6Music in the car :)
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Conwy
Posts: 359
BT user moving to Sky...probably

Hi

Having been a BT customer for many years, finally had a chat with a Sky man who has shown us what we get for £50. BT charges us £52 per month for phone, internet etc so for £1 less we can have the phone, internet AND TV package from Sky.

My question - is Sky ok for phone and internet? I know the TV side is good but not sure about the other bits!

Anyone had trouble or are happy?

All the best

Colin
rallybluecelt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Durty dog
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Sky is ok, i had it for a while with no problems.
 
Status: Misunderstood by many....
AO Platinum Member
 
n13roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Wales
Posts: 28,482

Member car:

147 JTDm Ti

Be VERY careful with SKY, they have a habit of adding a LOT of money to your bill once you have signed up with them.......
n13roy is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Isn't Sly Broadband just a loss-leader to flog TV subscriptions?
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 40 Old 12-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: 6Music in the car :)
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Conwy
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by n13roy View Post
Be VERY careful with SKY, they have a habit of adding a LOT of money to your bill once you have signed up with them.......
Really? tell me more.....
rallybluecelt is offline  
SCGT
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
One to watch with SKY is the Just Talk plan ....free calls up to 1hr ......however having a post puberty family they tend to forget the rule ......one itemised call (local) = £17.00
 
Status: Alfa addicted!
AO Member
 
GTV Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Flintshire
Posts: 136

Member car:

GTV TS 2.0

Sky broadband is the best there is. No choking, and decent speeds.
GTV Paul is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 293
Threaten to leave BT and they'll probably do you a deal. I got my 10GB/month package changed to unlimited plus extra cloud storage and calls and saved £3 a month. I personally wouldn't touch Sky with a bargepole but perhaps that's just me . The great thing about BT broadband is being able to use other customers' wi-fi and BT Openzone when you're out and about for no extra charge.
Otto52 is offline  
EddieGTA
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Just remember if you have a fault or issue unlikely as it is, Openreach will have you at the back of the queue.

My Dad was not impressed with Sky from a broadband point of view, switched to 02 only to have 02 flog the broadband to sky He's just gone to inifinity with BT same as we did when we moved. Mind you I admit I may think different if I didn't get sky as perk with work
 
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
duemila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Landon Tan
Posts: 2,411
Garage
I have BT for broadband, Sky for tv, whatever you choose you will need a BT line anyway if I'm not mistaken to supply tinternet and other sky goodies on demand. Sky have never added money to my bill other than increasing a package by a pound here or there
duemila is offline  
Status: dent free Lusso and lovin it:D
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Fast Frank's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 96
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 13,135

Member car:

GT Lusso 2.0 JTS

Quote:
Originally Posted by n13roy View Post
Be VERY careful with SKY, they have a habit of adding a LOT of money to your bill once you have signed up with them.......
Only if you don't pay attention and remember do not call Mobiles from your landline Our eldest used to do that and the bill was a shocker when we found out
Fast Frank is offline  
Status: Misunderstood by many....
AO Platinum Member
 
n13roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Wales
Posts: 28,482

Member car:

147 JTDm Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Frank View Post
Only if you don't pay attention and remember do not call Mobiles from your landline Our eldest used to do that and the bill was a shocker when we found out
Yes indeed, and also, if you add a Premium Channel to your package, for example SKY Sports, they will charge for a part Month to start with, THEN carry on charging you in full in advance until you cancel it, its up to YOU to tell them when you want to stop. This can work out VERY expensive if you're not careful.........

BTW Their Customer Services are absolutely dreadful too........
n13roy is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Also, never forget Sky is part of an evil empire.

If you pay them money, you are collaborating in the downfall of humanity.


Last edited by TheGrimJeeper; 13-03-14 at 16:37. Reason: "get"
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Misunderstood by many....
AO Platinum Member
 
n13roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Wales
Posts: 28,482

Member car:

147 JTDm Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
Also, never for Sky is part of an evil empire.

If you pay them money, you are collaborating in the downfall of humanity.

Many a true word said in jest, Eh.........
n13roy is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 40 Old 13-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: 6Music in the car :)
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Conwy
Posts: 359
Hehe I have made money from that Evil empire so I don't mind giving some back. Mind you, I have made money from BT too but they have had more than enough of my money now. All signed up now just need BT to release us!
rallybluecelt is offline  
Status: Misunderstood by many....
AO Platinum Member
 
n13roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Wales
Posts: 28,482

Member car:

147 JTDm Ti

Good Luck with the switchover, hope it all goes as planned.........
n13roy is offline  
Status: BORED
 
David P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 85,407
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by duemila View Post
Sky have never added money to my bill other than increasing a package by a pound here or there

Same here, no problems in 20 years & I get notified months in advance of an increases coming into affect.




Quote:
Originally Posted by n13roy View Post
Yes indeed, and also, if you add a Premium Channel to your package, for example SKY Sports, they will charge for a part Month to start with, THEN carry on charging you in full in advance until you cancel it, its up to YOU to tell them when you want to stop. This can work out VERY expensive if you're not careful.........

BTW Their Customer Services are absolutely dreadful too........

If you want to cancel or change your package it is YOUR responsibility to inform them, they aren't mind readers Also you need to give them a months notice.

As for customer service, again no problems in 20 years, they've always been helpful & friendly





Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
Also, never forget Sky is part of an evil empire.

If you pay them money, you are collaborating in the downfall of humanity.


That's another reason I'm a Sky subscriber :borg:


:EVIL:



* *
David P is offline  
Status: dent free Lusso and lovin it:D
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Fast Frank's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 96
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 13,135

Member car:

GT Lusso 2.0 JTS

I don't have any 'premium' Sky chanells, not really a big Footy fan and I got SkyF1 as part of my package deal (right time, right place). But, like DP I've alwasy found their customer service very good. I've even had one poor sod staying 10 minutes past his lousing time on a Sunday night to help me out. I insisted he just give me the instructions of what needed doing so he could go home. He called me back on the Monday as soon as he started his shift to see how I'd got on
Yes, I resent that it puts money in Rupert's pocket, but I certainly cant fault their services. Next best thing for me would be Tevo, but, no fiber optic where I am yet.

Fast Frank is offline  
Status: turbo powwa
AO Silver Member
 
celadon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 5,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieGTA View Post
Just remember if you have a fault or issue unlikely as it is, Openreach will have you at the back of the queue.
Utter rubbish !!

Openreach has compliance regulations that do not allow them to give any Service Provider better or worse treatment than others.
celadon is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 40 Old 14-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: 6Music in the car :)
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Conwy
Posts: 359
Thanks for the comments Sky man coming on Tuesday AM to do the tv side then end of month for the phone and net. Got a text from BT today saying 'sorry you are leaving call us regarding your exit charges'. Thought they should call me however I called them regarding a billing issue from a few months back but the nice lady would not talk to me about that until she could talk about us leaving. When she got to offering the unlimited net for £4.00 I said you have been charging me £30.00 a month for ages! I guess she realised I was not impressed so passed me over to the billing dept. Grrrrr
rallybluecelt is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 40 Old 14-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: 6Music in the car :)
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Conwy
Posts: 359
Oh and there were no charges to leave bt ......
rallybluecelt is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by celadon View Post
Utter rubbish !!

Openreach has compliance regulations that do not allow them to give any Service Provider better or worse treatment than others.
I know someone who works for Openreach and believe me, it happens.
 
Status: turbo powwa
AO Silver Member
 
celadon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 5,699
i also know someone who works for Openreach - ME

and if it is happening the person could be in serious trouble by admitting it.
celadon is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yes, but I'm not going to tell you who they are!

He mainly did domestic installs/maintenance but he knew of what went on in the local exchanges. And BT customers got the best service if there was work needed there.
 
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by celadon View Post
i also know someone who works for Openreach - ME

and if it is happening the person could be in serious trouble by admitting it.
And according to what my mate says, you're probably a manager .
 
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
moving , skyprobably , user

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome