HDMI troubles - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 19-01-14 Thread Starter
Status: Paternal
AO Silver Member
 
Simon_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 1,322
Hmmm HDMI troubles

I'm trying to connect my Nexus 10 tablet to my TV, it sort of works but the picture is compressed vertically so there are black bars top and bottom, and horizontally so the sides of the tablet screen are off the TV screen. Resolution also looks poor. All Google tells me is that many people have audio troubles but that works fine for me.
The TV is a seven year old Toshiba that works fine via HDMI with a Panasonic DVR.
Any ideas?
Simon_S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
That used to happen when I connected my lap top to the telly I think I cured it by selecting full screen view on the laptop

Not sure that's an option on a tablet, I'll soon find out my tablet is due next week
Happy Man is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
This thread looks like your SOOL unfortunately


https://code.google.com/p/android/is...etail?id=40225
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Is there a setting on the TV to expand/zoom the image?
Won't fix your resolution problem though anyway.


Another fix is to get a Chromecast. They are cheap, but currently they don't
mirror the screen, it's just for showing/streaming cloud content such as films
and music.

Picture quality is excellent for such a small cheap gadget.
(You use your Nexus as a remote to tell it what content you want it to go get from the net.)
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 12 Old 20-01-14 Thread Starter
Status: Paternal
AO Silver Member
 
Simon_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 1,322
Thanks for the replies. The TV zoom settings do help and I can get an acceptable picture for iPlayer etc which was the main aim of the game Chromecast looks great and the direct connection was a stop gap until it's available, but the worry is that it'll have the same HDMI issues.
Simon_S is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,497

Member car:

159 SW TBi

We have a similar resolution format issue when connecting a widescreen laptop to our (relatively) old Toshiba in that it compresses the image but you can often stretch it, otherwise it's a question of changing the output resolution on the device. A PS3 slim would do a good job too at using iPlayer etc and you could play games if you wanted.


(Was thinking VGA connection originally though, not connected anything via HDMI to ours apart from the PS3 I think, and that's had no issue connecting at all).

Last edited by AmicusPro; 20-01-14 at 13:53. Reason: Added VGA bit.
AmicusPro is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 2,495
some of the cheap rock chip tablets have better HDMI support that those from good brands you might want to try one of those, for example the Hudl from tesco has full resolution control, maybe even try some WIDI adaptors, like chromecast if you don't need minimal latency but there can be problems with audio syncing.
sandys is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon_S View Post
Thanks for the replies. The TV zoom settings do help and I can get an acceptable picture for iPlayer etc which was the main aim of the game Chromecast looks great and the direct connection was a stop gap until it's available, but the worry is that it'll have the same HDMI issues.
If you are just after Catch Up (and can do without ITV) then IMHO best buy is NowTV box at £9.99 - just don't subscribe for anything.

https://shop.nowtv.com/

Caveats
Wi-Fi and HDMI only
No other connections available
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Hang on....
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggreenzebra View Post

Caveats
Wi-Fi and HDMI only
No other connections available
+
Do you need to subscribe to SKY for that?



If so in the end probably the most expensive option.
(Including signing away your soul. )
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
+
Do you need to subscribe to SKY for that?



If so in the end probably the most expensive option.
(Including signing away your soul. )

No. You just buy it at £9.99 and don't take any Sky subscription.
The is an offer of 30 days free movies but that's up to you.

For techies - it is a cut down Roku LT box with Wi-fi, 720i HDMI output and with limited additional Roku channels.

Catch up TV wise it has BBC iPlayer, Channel 4 & 5 but not (currently) ITV Player. Additional channels worthy of comment - TuneIn Radio

The full list
http://images.now.nowtv.com/Web/BSKY...pps_131204.pdf
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,497

Member car:

159 SW TBi

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggreenzebra View Post
No. You just buy it at £9.99 and don't take any Sky subscription.
The is an offer of 30 days free movies but that's up to you.

For techies - it is a cut down Roku LT box with Wi-fi, 720i HDMI output and with limited additional Roku channels.

Catch up TV wise it has BBC iPlayer, Channel 4 & 5 but not (currently) ITV Player. Additional channels worthy of comment - TuneIn Radio

The full list
http://images.now.nowtv.com/Web/BSKY...pps_131204.pdf
We'd consider something like that if the PS3 wasn't an option. We can get NowTV through the PS3 along with iPlayer, 4OD, Demand5, ITV Player, Netflix/LoveFilm and one other I think (brain is otherwise engaged atm). Just make sure you remember to cancel before getting charged.
AmicusPro is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
hdmi , troubles

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome