Sagem internet radio stopped working - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 9 Old 19-01-14 Thread Starter
Status: She's happy to pootle
AO Platinum Member
 
Scudetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 16,844
Sagem internet radio stopped working

Seven years ago, a Sagem internet radio came my way for free. It's a Dual Radio 700 and it's worked fine in my kitchen for years. Three weeks ago, it stopped picking up any t'internet radio stations, yet i can pick them up just fine on my macbook (although, that said, about a year ago, the radio stopped picking up some internet stations - my favourites list was getting shorter by the month).

Anyhoooo, I was going to bin it and buy another until I saw the prices of new ones If push comes to shove i'll buy a new one, but before my wallet has a seizure, is there anything i should check on the Sagem first to see whether it can be revived?

cheers for your advice gang

A driver is always faithful to a car that's always faithful to its driver.

Sometimes in the darkest hour, love comes shining through.
Then it doesn't seem so far from me to you.
Scudetto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Does it pick up anything? Are you able to check whether or not it connects to your network OK?
biggreenzebra is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 9 Old 19-01-14 Thread Starter
Status: She's happy to pootle
AO Platinum Member
 
Scudetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 16,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggreenzebra View Post
Does it pick up anything? Are you able to check whether or not it connects to your network OK?
it picks up FM (and a lot of crackles) but nothing internet-related, sadly.

if it can't connect to my network (which has happened a few times in the past) it tells me, then i use the info panel to find my network and connect to it. Not this time; it just won't recognise any station
Scudetto is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Try resetting the network settings. It could be as simple as lost DNS servers.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
You bought French consumer electronics? Schoolboy error.

Just get a very cheap android phone or tablet and a docking station speaker and use the TuneIn app.
You can get almost any station in the world with TuneIn.


Last edited by TheGrimJeeper; 20-01-14 at 09:11.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
RSK
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tata4Now View Post
You brought French consumer electronics? Schoolboy error.

Just get a very cheap android phone or tablet and a docking station speaker and use the TuneIn app.
You can get almost any station in the world with TuneIn.

Another vote for TuneIn plus a dock or Bluetooth speaker it's a great app and available on all main smartphone platforms iOS, Android and WindowsPhone.



[color=gray]Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App[/color]
 
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Even works in the car.

Can listen to Today and PM on the way to/from work.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
2nd hand iPod Touch + dock would work too:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/StreetParty-.../dp/B001ANIAP8

(I have a 1st Gen iPod touch & Philips dock that is relegated to serving as just a bedside radio/clock now.)




Also the Amazon Kindle Fire tablets have great audio (for a tablet) and support TuneIn too.
They are currently offering a -25 Quid discount on them too...)

Last edited by TheGrimJeeper; 20-01-14 at 09:43.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 9 Old 20-01-14 Thread Starter
Status: She's happy to pootle
AO Platinum Member
 
Scudetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 16,844
thanks for your advice, biggreenzebra. I've given that a try, and nada. I'll try it again a few times more a bit later. i'm not giving up on it yet

Tata and RSK; equally, thank you. I'll give it a whirl. Just need to source a bluetooth speaker now and my elaborate home entertainment system will be complete!

thanks guys
Scudetto is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
internet , radio , sagem , stopped , working

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome