Sleep or Shut Down PC ? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 23 Old 17-10-13 Thread Starter
Status: 6 YEARS LYMPHOMA FREE!! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 5,014

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Sleep or Shut Down PC ?

My PC is running slow at the moment...starts up ok...but when i click on any shortcut,it takes a good 1 minute before i can access the web page.......this contrasts to beforehand when it took 1 second !!

I have to say though that once i can get the 1st page up and running,everything goes ok.

Now this only happens if i boot up the PC.

Strangely enough i've been experimenting with sleep mode.....and the problem never occurs with that.Is this a coincidence?
Is the boot procedure causing the problem and if so,why ?

Any ideas ?

Thanks

Ronan

NB Running Linux Mint 10 Julia btw...though i think this may be irrelevant.
ronan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: I am also Keith......
AO Member
 
kam325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 565
when you first start-up a Op-Sys, it can take a bit of time, even after it appears to have loaded, for all of the background services to load up, this can cause a delay in loading up a program the first time you use it, and because the service's need'd to run the program are all ready running after you close the program, the second time you run it, it will load alot quicker....

Sleep mode leaves the op-sys loaded in memory, its not the same a reboot, sleep mode does not, in effect, have to reload the system.

Master of Quantum Giggle Theory & Laugh Mechanics.....

Brianmoooore said "If you're going to fit a 2.5 throttle body, then leave it attached to the rest of the engine and fit the whole thing."
kam325i is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
MalcQV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 13,565

Member car:

Office Chair.

As above, arguably rebooting it not necessary. I have one of my Linux servers up for 1160 days. The only issue now with modern OS's (this includes Windows which is far better than it used to be) is the crap applications running on them, especially any with memory leaks which end up ****ing it up for everything else.
My GF works from home, she uses a 5 year old laptop which we only reboot/power off at weekends. The rest of the time we just 'sleep' it.
MalcQV is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,916
Is sleep the same as hibernate?
Pud237 is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Is sleep the same as hibernate?
No, (in laymans terms) hibernate, takes a copy of the active memory and stores it on the hard drive then fully powers off the machine. When you turn the computer back on the system detects the hibernation file is active and reloads the memory back into RAM.
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,916
My laptop hibernates everytime I close the lid. Is this a good thing? It always boots up mega fast and has none of the s*** stuff that loads up on startup if I do a full power off.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalcQV View Post
As above, arguably rebooting it not necessary. I have one of my Linux servers up for 1160 days. The only issue now with modern OS's (this includes Windows which is far better than it used to be) is the crap applications running on them, especially any with memory leaks which end up ****ing it up for everything else.
My GF works from home, she uses a 5 year old laptop which we only reboot/power off at weekends. The rest of the time we just 'sleep' it.
1160 days is impressive. We had a Linux firewall up for 800+ days but had to reboot it due to gateway change in the data centre.
biggreenzebra is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 23 Old 20-10-13 Thread Starter
Status: 6 YEARS LYMPHOMA FREE!! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 5,014

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Well,the sleep mode seems to be better than rebooting...still not as fast as previously...and that's with a good system cleanout with bleachbit..........but then it's a fairly old PC and i'm running an older version of Linux...just getting a bit senile like me .....when it really starts to bug me,i'll have to dig into my (padlocked) wallet and purchase......NOOOOOO !!!

NB Strange.....as i type this,no problems.....seems that the PC needs to "warm up" ie get a few minutes of usage,then kind of learns how to work...bloody technology !!!
ronan is offline  
Status: Back in the Giulia
AO Silver Member
 
stuart1714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,813

Member car:

Giulia 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronan View Post
NB Strange.....as i type this,no problems.....seems that the PC needs to "warm up" ie get a few minutes of usage,then kind of learns how to work...bloody technology !!!
In addition to the start up processes already described in the thread, Computers usually do something called caching. If you run a program for the first time it usually reads it from a slow hard disk. It can then copy that program into memory, either the computer's memory or the hard disk's memory (called the hard drive cache). On home PCs, system memory is usually many times faster than reading from the hard disk, even on solid state drives.

This can give you the impression that it is learning what you are doing when in fact it is just making things you have just used be available from somewhere faster than the hard drive the next time it is needed.

Buying extra memory doesn't make the PC's base speed go any higher which you would see at boot up, but it does give you the impression that it is running faster because it has more memory for things like caching.
stuart1714 is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Are you sure it's not a network issue ...?
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 23 Old 20-10-13 Thread Starter
Status: 6 YEARS LYMPHOMA FREE!! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 5,014

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tippecanoe View Post
Are you sure it's not a network issue ...?
No....sadly,it's even slow when internet not connected
ronan is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Ronan, if I were you, after performing the maintenance you have done i'd look to check the SMART status of the hard disk, if the drive is failing then performance can be very poor.

If you don't have SMART tools already check your linux machines application update and installation tool to see if its available for installation.

Alternatively the BIOS of the machine may have a built in disk checker. Hard Drives are one of the only moving parts in a computer and do eventually wear out.

It doesn't sound like its the drive from your description, but it will cost nothing to check and its good experience.

Nero Fuoco 147 Lusso - Bianco Nuvola 147 GTA - Carbonio Brera SV - Azzurro Le Mans GT 1600 Junior
GhostyDog is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 23 Old 20-10-13 Thread Starter
Status: 6 YEARS LYMPHOMA FREE!! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 5,014

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostyDog View Post
Ronan, if I were you, after performing the maintenance you have done i'd look to check the SMART status of the hard disk, if the drive is failing then performance can be very poor.

If you don't have SMART tools already check your linux machines application update and installation tool to see if its available for installation.

Alternatively the BIOS of the machine may have a built in disk checker. Hard Drives are one of the only moving parts in a computer and do eventually wear out.

It doesn't sound like its the drive from your description, but it will cost nothing to check and its good experience.

Will do....and will report back
ronan is offline  
Durty dog
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
My office laptop sleeps during the week and only goes of friday afternoon, works for me
 
(Post Link) post #15 of 23 Old 21-10-13 Thread Starter
Status: 6 YEARS LYMPHOMA FREE!! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 5,014

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Tried to download the smart tools from my internal software manager.....got lots of error messages....and no download.....pressed F2 on the PC during boot up...bios came up...checked hard drive...nothing seems to be wrong.....perhaps it's cos this Linux Mint 10 is old it's not being supported anymore.

Will just live with it...as i said ok when it's been warmed up for a few minutes....til it finally gives up the ghost !!
ronan is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
It entirely depends how you use your computer and the OS you are running.
With Sleep mode you are as others have said leaving stuff waiting to run in cached memory. That's fine if you don't push your machine too hard and have plenty of RAM and virtual memory available. If however the programs you run are memory hoggers then it often pays to do a full reboot to clear the memory cache and make them respond more quickly when you reload.

Against shutting down (in Windows anyway) is if you aren't looking properly and find yourself presented with XX updates that need to install and you need to leave quickly. (Always try to remember to Shut Down with Ctrl-Alt_Del and the power icon at bottom right to let you overirde the pesky updates when you need to.)

Must admit I am surprised that Mint should display the slow startup syndrome but then I suppose it has a full GUI to load and maintain. A non GUI Linux/Unix will always fly compared to anything with a GUI.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,497

Member car:

159 SW TBi

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSR dog View Post
My office laptop sleeps during the week and only goes of friday afternoon, works for me
Ah, a machine that is never used
AmicusPro is offline  
Status: bacon
AO Platinum Member
 
ACAPULCO AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 29,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggreenzebra View Post
It entirely depends how you use your computer and the OS you are running.
With Sleep mode you are as others have said leaving stuff waiting to run in cached memory. That's fine if you don't push your machine too hard and have plenty of RAM and virtual memory available. If however the programs you run are memory hoggers then it often pays to do a full reboot to clear the memory cache and make them respond more quickly when you reload.

Against shutting down (in Windows anyway) is if you aren't looking properly and find yourself presented with XX updates that need to install and you need to leave quickly. (Always try to remember to Shut Down with Ctrl-Alt_Del and the power icon at bottom right to let you overirde the pesky updates when you need to.)

Must admit I am surprised that Mint should display the slow startup syndrome but then I suppose it has a full GUI to load and maintain. A non GUI Linux/Unix will always fly compared to anything with a GUI.
blimey i knew computers were getting more and more complex but i never knew they could now develop genito-urinary infections
ACAPULCO AL is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 23 Old 22-10-13 Thread Starter
Status: 6 YEARS LYMPHOMA FREE!! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 5,014

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACAPULCO AL View Post
blimey i knew computers were getting more and more complex but i never knew they could now develop genito-urinary infections

....i had my suspicions about that nasty rash !!
ronan is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACAPULCO AL View Post
blimey i knew computers were getting more and more complex but i never knew they could now develop genito-urinary infections
What's worse is it's pronounced "Gooey".
A term that has made me snicker every time i've
heard it used over the last 20 years...
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: bacon
AO Platinum Member
 
ACAPULCO AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 29,280
nice
Attached Images
File Type: jpg jazz.jpg (18.4 KB, 0 views)
ACAPULCO AL is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
County: -
Posts: 3

Member car:

Car

How old is the PC? Have you consider imaging the whole OS onto a Solid State Drive? Did wonders for my old systems and breathed new life into them, for less than $80-100!
Mr.Alfalfa is offline  
(Post Link) post #23 of 23 Old 23-10-13 Thread Starter
Status: 6 YEARS LYMPHOMA FREE!! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 5,014

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Alfalfa View Post
How old is the PC? Have you consider imaging the whole OS onto a Solid State Drive? Did wonders for my old systems and breathed new life into them, for less than $80-100!

Old PC by modern stands....Dell Optiplex 210L

http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/pcs/1...-optiplex-210l

At least 6 years old.....prehistoric...and running Linux Mint 10 operating system !!
ronan is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
shut , sleep

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome