Control your central heating from your 'phone!? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 14 Old 09-10-13 Thread Starter
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,469
Control your central heating from your 'phone!?

British Gas have come up with a very neat alternative to hiding the thermostat from the misses or taking the batteries out of it.

Remote Heating Control

200 is a bit steep but for the sheer joy of that confused look from herself and "I swear I turned that up!" It might just be worth it.

Anyone got one?
Keithy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Not my PM
AO Platinum Member
 
AlfaDrivingFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: European Union
Posts: 44,645
When she finds out she'll have your nads on toast with a nice Chianti
AlfaDrivingFan is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 14 Old 09-10-13 Thread Starter
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaDrivingFan View Post
When she finds out she'll have your nads on toast with a nice Chianti
Toasticles eh?
Keithy is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Sorry but I find it hard to take anything seriously that has this quote attached to it:

Quote:
As Nina Bhatia, managing director of British Gas connected homes, strategy and M&A remarked, “I never engaged with my thermostat before, I didn’t even know where it was...”
Never engaged with you thermostat!? You annoying marketing 'droidette!


TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,495

Member car:

159 SW TBi

We've been providing support for this service for a while (me personally at one point but currently others). Good when it works but there were some problems if it wasn't working and you were on Sky and some others who provided routers that couldn't have certain settings changed. Also need to be aware that if your internet and/or BG servers go down you'll still have to change the temperature manually... I don't think I could justify the expense unless I needed everything automated or had a house that got really hot/cold or kept leaving heating on or was just a wimp and couldn't cope with the heating not being at 20 degrees precisely for 2 hours before arriving home...
AmicusPro is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 14 Old 09-10-13 Thread Starter
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tippecanoe View Post
Sorry but I find it hard to take anything seriously that has this quote attached to it:


Never engaged with you thermostat!? You annoying marketing 'droidette!


I find it hard to believe that there is woman anywhere who hasn't engaged with their thermostat. It's impossible to keep Mrs Pat away from it


Quote:
Originally Posted by AmicusPro View Post
...or was just a wimp and couldn't cope with the heating not being at 20 degrees precisely for 2 hours before arriving home...
You mean "if I was a gurly"?*















*Flame suit on and scarpers
Keithy is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
I don't really understand the concept of a phone application that would just get whacked up to "MAX" anyway....
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,495

Member car:

159 SW TBi

Actually, I do see a genuine benefit... If you have an elderly relative you can ensure the heating is on when it needs to be....

Some landlords use it but a) you need to lock the thermostat away to stop tenants changing it and b) all they really need to do is disconnect the internet connection (which you're also having to pay out for, thus negating some/all of the benefits!). Far better to have a meter on-site.
AmicusPro is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Home automation has been around for some considerable time but the likes of Sky and BT have decided it's too complicated for Joe average and have locked down their routers so you can't use it. Actually that's not strictly true of BT yet but it's coming. For those that don't know the latest Sky routers are really locked down and if they don't do what you want you can't just swap them for a router that will do what you want - it's a breach of their terms and conditions but more importantly you can't extract the username and password that's needed for your connection. Well actually you can but it will be far beyond the capability of joe average as it involves packet sniffing which is not what some of you might think it is. BT will doubtless be doing similar soonish with their range of seriously crap routers.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,495

Member car:

159 SW TBi

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggreenzebra View Post
Home automation has been around for some considerable time but the likes of Sky and BT have decided it's too complicated for Joe average and have locked down their routers so you can't use it. Actually that's not strictly true of BT yet but it's coming. For those that don't know the latest Sky routers are really locked down and if they don't do what you want you can't just swap them for a router that will do what you want - it's a breach of their terms and conditions but more importantly you can't extract the username and password that's needed for your connection. Well actually you can but it will be far beyond the capability of joe average as it involves packet sniffing which is not what some of you might think it is. BT will doubtless be doing similar soonish with their range of seriously crap routers.
Thus I've no plans to go with Sky/BT and have my own ASUS router That said, the BT ones are usually more reliable when we're logging in.
AmicusPro is offline  
Status: dent free Lusso and lovin it:D
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Fast Frank's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 96
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 13,135

Member car:

GT Lusso 2.0 JTS

I've already got this along with control of water heating as well. Not to mention I have two plugs that would allow me to switch on items blugged in to them as well. It all came as part of our solar power installation. It means you can have the house nicely warmed up if your coming home on a cold night. Have the water ready for a nice shower/bath and put the kettle on in time for you arriving home
We can also tell the house if we're in or out. If we're in the heating will always be 19oC minimal, but, if we're not, it will let it drop to 8oC.
It's all very cool, but, I've never figured out a use for the 2nd plug thing :thinks:

Fast Frank is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Solar heating when there's only 5 hours of daylight up north and no sun at night?

How does that work?



()
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Icenutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Frank View Post
It's all very cool, but, I've never figured out a use for the 2nd plug thing :thinks:
Turning on or off a radio or tv to give the impression the house is occupied?



[color=gray]Sent from AutoGuide.com App[/color]
Icenutter is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 14 Old 11-10-13 Thread Starter
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tippecanoe View Post
Solar heating when there's only 5 hours of daylight up north and no sun at night?

How does that work?



()
His solar panel is in Devon, he's just got a really long lead.
Keithy is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
central , control , heating , phone

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome