Dongles - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 03-09-13 Thread Starter
Status: Thinking about a Scirrocco
AO Platinum Member
 
Starkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brighton.
County: Good old Sussex by the sea
Posts: 12,873

Member car:

The train :(

Help Dongles

Hi all,

I am considering getting a dongle for my laptop, pretty much so that I can surf on here / facebook / BBC etc. whilst on the train to work / wherever.

Does anyone use one? If so
  • Who supplies it?
  • What sort of payment plan are you on?
  • How much does it cost per month, or do you use pay as you go?
Starkers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Do you have a smartphone? If so might be better off tethering it via bluetooth or using pesonal hotspot with a data bundle bolt on
GhostyDog is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 7 Old 03-09-13 Thread Starter
Status: Thinking about a Scirrocco
AO Platinum Member
 
Starkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brighton.
County: Good old Sussex by the sea
Posts: 12,873

Member car:

The train :(

I've got a Blackberry Pearl that's at least two years old, I suppose I could upgrade that but I don't really want a phone that's the size of a small telly.
Starkers is offline  
Status: New Seat Ateca 1.0 SE in my garage
AO Silver Member
 
Alfamack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 5,117

Member car:

Seat Ateca SE

We've a 3 network one, £15 quid a month and 15gb worth of downloads , got the best package when we threatened to ditch it.
I'd do some investogation work first, if you know the routes you are goping to be on regularly then look at the online maps for the different providers.


We leave ours in the house in a specific place and the last time I checked using speedtest saw 6.4mb! Compare that to our fixed line broadband of keck all when it worked, well 280k on a good day before it failed totally, and you can see why we use it.

https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/group...fa+owners.html

also on ****ter @alfamack
Will always be
No 1
on the GIT LIST
Alfamack is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 7 Old 04-09-13 Thread Starter
Status: Thinking about a Scirrocco
AO Platinum Member
 
Starkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brighton.
County: Good old Sussex by the sea
Posts: 12,873

Member car:

The train :(

Handy, thanks Alfamack - I definitely know the route I am going, can you point me in the direction of said online map
Starkers is offline  
Status: New Seat Ateca 1.0 SE in my garage
AO Silver Member
 
Alfamack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 5,117

Member car:

Seat Ateca SE

Go to the coverage maps on the websites, three.co.uk for example and then just follow your route.
On our dongle I can be curfing, the daughter will be watching Iplayer and the wife will be buying on ebay.
We have a great family life.
Alfamack is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
You are best off buying a sim free unlocked Mi-Fi if you can find one - look at Portable 3G Routers | Broadbandbuyer.co.uk

Then you can use PAYG mobile broadband Sim's for whichever network works where you are. You can buy SIMs online with say 1Gb data / one month that only start the clock counting when you actually use. NB If your phone works you can also remove the SIM from the phone and stick it in the Mi-Fi temporarily.

There are also 4G devices but then you will have serious coverage issues.

This - http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop...roductID=15021 - is an unlocked Mi-Fi - most other stuff on page are 3G Routers i.e. devices that share a dongle connection so you need both. A Mi-Fi is a single unit which you put the Sim in and provides local wi-fi.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
dongles , internet

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome