Dial in now ... - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 20 Old 30-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872
Dial in now ...

... cos you won't be able to very soon

BBC News - BT hangs up on dial-up internet access

A trip down memory lane

The Sound of dial-up Internet - YouTube



Gibbo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Gaz
Status: Privileged
Regional Support North
Is there a meet near you?
 
Gaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Behind the wheel
County: Lancashire
Posts: 63,356
Cue shouts upstairs of 'GET OFF THAT BLOODY INTERNET! YOU DON'T PAY THE BLOODY PHONE BILL!'
Gaz is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 20 Old 30-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872


You're a lot younger than you look



Gibbo is offline  
Gaz
Status: Privileged
Regional Support North
Is there a meet near you?
 
Gaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Behind the wheel
County: Lancashire
Posts: 63,356
The cheek of it

Gaz is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 20 Old 30-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872






Gibbo is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Alfafamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 5,758
In one part of the article it says it around 1000 people lived in areas that can't use broadband and goes on to say that no one would be left without an alternative to dial up. I wonder what they will get
Alfafamily is offline  
Gaz
Status: Privileged
Regional Support North
Is there a meet near you?
 
Gaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Behind the wheel
County: Lancashire
Posts: 63,356
Carrier pigeon
Gaz is offline  
CobolMan
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
And that would still be quicker than my broadband at times
 
Status: Back in the Giulia
AO Silver Member
 
stuart1714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,813

Member car:

Giulia 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfafamily View Post
In one part of the article it says it around 1000 people lived in areas that can't use broadband and goes on to say that no one would be left without an alternative to dial up. I wonder what they will get
You can get satellite Internet already and 4g is expected to provide greater coverage in rural areas when its fully rolled out.
stuart1714 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Alfafamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 5,758
Satellite and 4G sound like expensive options for occasional users.They make me laugh banging on about 4G. How about getting decent coverage 3G first. In some places any coverage at all would be nice.
Alfafamily is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfafamily View Post
In one part of the article it says it around 1000 people lived in areas that can't use broadband and goes on to say that no one would be left without an alternative to dial up. I wonder what they will get
The article says their subsidiary plusnet will continue to offer dial up services, as will ther isp's i'm sure.
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,958
Garage
think my 1st 11k posts were via dial-up
steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: Back in the Giulia
AO Silver Member
 
stuart1714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,813

Member car:

Giulia 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfafamily View Post
Satellite and 4G sound like expensive options for occasional users.They make me laugh banging on about 4G. How about getting decent coverage 3G first. In some places any coverage at all would be nice.
Some of the frequency bands allocated for 4G are for longer ranges so they will get better coverage with the same numbers of masts than with 3G.

However, I believe that nobody is offering 100% coverage.
stuart1714 is offline  
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,484
I wonder if we sent Shan't a 28k baud modem he'd get the hint?


Keithy is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 20 Old 31-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872
I doubt it



Gibbo is offline  
Status: ...zzzZZZzzz...
AO Member
 
Tony_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Staffordshire
Posts: 534
Garage

Member car:

159 JTDm Lusso

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaz View Post
Carrier pigeon
For the techies it's RFC1149

RFC 1149 - Standard for the transmission of IP datagrams on avia (RFC1149)
Tony_S is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart1714 View Post
Some of the frequency bands allocated for 4G are for longer ranges so they will get better coverage with the same numbers of masts than with 3G.

However, I believe that nobody is offering 100% coverage.
4G doesn't exist, LTE doesn't conform to the standard, ofcom should be fining all the telco's that say they are selling 4G for mismarketing.

4G - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Radio wave based broadband is not as expensive as you might think. That's broadband with a satellite dish type connection on a line of sight basis to a mast somewhere. There is such a service near Congleton.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: Back in the Giulia
AO Silver Member
 
stuart1714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,813

Member car:

Giulia 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostyDog View Post
4G doesn't exist, LTE doesn't conform to the standard, ofcom should be fining all the telco's that say they are selling 4G for mismarketing.

4G - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Although the current implementations aren't true 4G, the governing body has allowed the services to be described as 4G in certain situations if it is significantly faster than 3G and can be considered a forerunner to true 4G.
stuart1714 is offline  
Status: New Seat Ateca 1.0 SE in my garage
AO Silver Member
 
Alfamack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 5,117

Member car:

Seat Ateca SE

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart1714 View Post
Although the current implementations aren't true 4G, the governing body has allowed the services to be described as 4G in certain situations if it is significantly faster than 3G and can be considered a forerunner to true 4G.

Greater than 3G.. OR 3.9999G doesn't have the same ring to it

I looked at Satelitte broadband and it is just too expensive compared to 3g or even 4g dongles.
Alfamack is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
dial

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome