The most overly complicated MacBook external DVD drive solution - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 19-03-13 Thread Starter
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
The most overly complicated MacBook external DVD drive solution

Took a repair home with me with all the kit to fit a new 320GB hdd and the sodding slot drive doesnt work!! I get this alot with the macs and the customers either dont know, dont tell me or dont normally want to replace it as it doesnt get used.

I dont have any equipment at home and couldnt be bothered to drive down open up the shop and get a USB DVD drive so got an old Pentium 1 desktop out of the garage. Found an old usb to IDE adaptor in a draw, used the pentium 1 power supply to power the DVD player and sods law that doesnt work!!! So stripped my main desktop and used the DVD drive out of that - plugged the usb adaptor into the Mac held down 'C' and it works :-D currently installing Snow Leopard...

2002 156 Selespeed Sportwagon|Koni FSD Dampers|Eibach Pro Springs|Fully Powerflexed Front & Rear|Eibach Sports Stabiliser ARB's|Lightweight Flywheel|Lighweight Crank Pulley|Colombo & Bariani Cams|Ported by Peak Alfa|Custom Remap by Gus|Wiechers Aluminium Strut Brace|GTA Uprights & Brembo 330mm Conversion|276mm GTA Rear's|GTA Steering Rack |Custom K&N Intake Pipe & Induction|Brand new Gearbox/Actuator|Quaife LSD|CF2 Decat Manifolds|Supersprint Centre Section|CSC Duplex Exhaust|GTA Interior

Last edited by Laptop_Matt; 29-09-14 at 16:19.
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: DEFCON5
AO Gold Member
 
1of1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sao Tome and Principe
County: Principe
Posts: 11,604
Can't beat a work around though
1of1 is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
badgers_nadgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 7,154

Member car:

156 GTA SW

Nice workaround, I usually use a Mac with a working drive and a FireWire cable myself!
badgers_nadgers is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,624

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

I've done similar myself once when I transferred a secondary drive from an old computer to a new computer - but forgot to change some of the settings on the old one to take account of it having gone. Caused all sorts of errors that it wouldn't let me sort without the drive back.

So I put the two towers side by side, left the drive in the new one, powered by the new one, but the data cable attached to the old.
bazza is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 13 Old 21-03-13 Thread Starter
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by badgers_nadgers View Post
Nice workaround, I usually use a Mac with a working drive and a FireWire cable myself!
How does that work then? Mind you I had no firewire cable at home either - nor another Mac for that matter!
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
chrishendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 10,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laptop_Matt View Post
How does that work then? Mind you I had no firewire cable at home either - nor another Mac for that matter!
Boot the mac with working drive in 'Target Mode' by holding down the 'T' key during start up
chrishendrix is online now  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrishendrix View Post
Boot the mac with working drive in 'Target Mode' by holding down the 'T' key during start up
And thats not the only one

Startup key combinations for Intel-based Macs
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
badgers_nadgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 7,154

Member car:

156 GTA SW

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrishendrix View Post
Boot the mac with working drive in 'Target Mode' by holding down the 'T' key during start up
What he said, except the other way round. Boot the one you without the working drive in t while connected to the one with the working drive. Run the install disk and choose the hard drive of the connected mac to install the os on.
badgers_nadgers is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
chrishendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 10,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by badgers_nadgers View Post
What he said, except the other way round. Boot the one you without the working drive in t while connected to the one with the working drive. Run the install disk and choose the hard drive of the connected mac to install the os on.
No, don't think so.

Target Disk Mode - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
chrishendrix is online now  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
badgers_nadgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 7,154

Member car:

156 GTA SW

You said boot the mac with the working drive in target mode, so that article totally backs up what I was saying!
badgers_nadgers is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
chrishendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 10,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by badgers_nadgers View Post
You said boot the mac with the working drive in target mode, so that article totally backs up what I was saying!
"A Mac booted in Target Mode can be attached to the FireWire port of any other computer - Mac or PC - where it will appear as an external FireWire device. Hard drives within the target Mac, for example, can be formatted, partitioned, etc., exactly like any other external FireWire drive. Some computers will also make their internal CD/DVD drives and other peripheral hardware available to the host computer via FireWire."

So if you have a mac with a broken optical drive on which you want to transfer something from disk (as in the op's case), if you have a mac with a working optical drive you boot that one in target mode, insert a cd/dvd in its optical drive, connect via firewire or usb to the mac without the working optical drive and away you go

The mac booted in target mode behaves as an external drive

If that's what you were saying I totally agree
chrishendrix is online now  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
badgers_nadgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 7,154

Member car:

156 GTA SW

I actually didn't know that it could make the optical drive available as it never has for me, so it would be more ideal to do it the other way round, but I concede that in some cases your method would work.
badgers_nadgers is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 13 Old 24-03-13 Thread Starter
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
Learn somthing new every day, ill try it although just using an ext. dvd is easier. Cheers guys.
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
complicated , drive , dvd , external , macbook , overly , solution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome