Virgin Media Superhub - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 9 Old 18-03-13 Thread Starter
Status: Chillin
AO Silver Member
 
Chocoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 5,621

Member car:

2005 147 JTD

Virgin Media Superhub

hey guys, is anybody else here using the Virgin Media Superhub, especially for online gaming, i find the wireless signal is rubbish i admit i'm on the opposite side of the house from it but sometimes the PS3 is barely even registering 45% signal strength and i find i get kicked from games all the time when playing things like Fifa or Call Of Duty and it's mega frustrating, does anybody know of anything that could be used to boost the wireless signal we're on 60mb broadband on the pc downstairs we get more or less that speed most of the time but upstairs i'm lucky if i get 8 or 9

Chocoboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
mudhut
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Same package and router here.

60 Mbit package is rubbish - never had more than half of that here.
Router has always been unreliable. The wireless signal was so poor that my daughter couldn't use it at all even in the same room. I regularly get booted off the internet connection and I'm using a wired connection to the router. I've made one service call and it's been a bit better but on the whole it's a piece of junk - perhaps surprising as I had previously rated Netgear stuff. Hell the thing didn't even come with a manual when the technician installed it a few months ago.

I think the best bet for you is to use another wireless router if you have one and reduce the role of the "superhub" to that of a cable modem. You can configure it as such though I haven't done so: just switched off the wireless bit and linked it to my other router (also netgear but never a problem).
 
(Post Link) post #3 of 9 Old 18-03-13 Thread Starter
Status: Chillin
AO Silver Member
 
Chocoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 5,621

Member car:

2005 147 JTD

yeah i might do that i have a dlink router lying around somewhere i used to use before we got the superhub, might just stick that back in
Chocoboy is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,947
Garage
annoying though innit
steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: Back in the Giulia
AO Silver Member
 
stuart1714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 1,813

Member car:

Giulia 2.0

Virgin are about to "upgrade" my cable modem and router with a not so SuperHub. The VirginMedia forums are full of people turning their SuperHubs into modem only mode. I've already bought a decent dual band router and am already using that and won't even try the wireless on the SuperHub when it shows up.
stuart1714 is offline  
Status: 2016 . . . .Year ofthe Sprint??
AO Silver Member
 
StescoG66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Dunbartonshire
Posts: 3,225
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart1714 View Post
Virgin are about to "upgrade" my cable modem and router with a not so SuperHub. The VirginMedia forums are full of people turning their SuperHubs into modem only mode. I've already bought a decent dual band router and am already using that and won't even try the wireless on the SuperHub when it shows up.
Don't get it. It truly has a woeful wireless signal even just a few feet away. I would have my old modem back in a heartbeat given half a chance.

I use it to stream music to my network player which was downstairs almost directly below the unit and the constant signal drop out really was a PITA. In fairness to VM after threatening to leave they supplied me with a new router and all is now well (signal levels gone up from 40-45% to 80-95%) - but as I pointed out this defeats the object of having the dooferhub . . . .

Si puo nascere Alfista, si puo anche diventare Alfista.
Ma si muore sempre come Alfista


StescoG66 is offline  
Status: 6 YEARS LYMPHOMA FREE!! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 5,013

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Never ever used the wireless way with our xbox 360....just bought an extra long,60ft,internet lead...cheap as chips on eBay and stayed the wired route......dinosaur technology but never let us down.
ronan is offline  
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
AO Silver Member
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,852
Garage
+1 on that, have the Superhub on 120mbs but only use the wireless for web browsing and printing, all the games consoles and music streamers are wired in and never get any problems with them, my son constantly has online games and youtube or Zune running together and never falters.
edraven71 is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,947
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by edraven71 View Post
+1 on that, have the Superhub on 120mbs but only use the wireless for web browsing and printing, all the games consoles and music streamers are wired in and never get any problems with them, my son constantly has online games and youtube or Zune running together and never falters.

I've got the blu-ray, xbox and wii hard wired, and like you it's just the lappy/printer that uses the wireless. I can't believe the Virgin bumf that has it on shelves and things - it's like blackpool illuminations.

I've whacked tape all over it.
steveisfrowning is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
media , superhub , virgin

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome