europe satnav recommendation - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 27 Old 18-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: bacon
AO Platinum Member
 
ACAPULCO AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 29,280
europe satnav recommendation

anyone got any recommendations for a satnav with european mapping? doesn't have to be a brand new model - i'm happy to trawl ebay for 2nd hand. must include slovenia & croatia, not just western europe. not bothered about traffic updates, camera warnings and all that gubbins

cheers
al
ACAPULCO AL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872
Only got western europe on our TomTom but it is very good.



Gibbo is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
+1 for Tom Tom in Western Europe. Can't see any reason why their Eastern Europe coverage shouldn't be as just as good.
biggreenzebra is offline  
Status: Comfortably numb
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,898

Member car:

147 1.6 Sport

Love my TomTom. No Eastern Europe as we don't plan on going there. One advantage is that there are loads of specialist bits available free, e.g. low bridges, weight restrictions and camp sites - particularly useful to me as a motorhome owner.

You can also download Alfas as your vehicle on the map (Red 147 for me) as well as other Alfa images on startup and close down.
Poolegan is offline  
PR
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
PR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 51
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Middlesbrough, UK
Posts: 7,625
Another one for Tomtom here...

Also I believe they have an offer on at the moment (see amazon's tomtom shop) where you get free map updates for life with tomtoms (as I bought one last year)
PR is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 27 Old 19-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: bacon
AO Platinum Member
 
ACAPULCO AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 29,280
cheers folks. i've just bought a tomtom with full european mapping off ebay for £40
ACAPULCO AL is offline  
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872
Cracking price, Al



Gibbo is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 27 Old 19-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: bacon
AO Platinum Member
 
ACAPULCO AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 29,280
it was a rubbish listing and it says the power lead is missing, which probably explains the low price. you can get power leads for about £3
ACAPULCO AL is offline  
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872
Has it got the sticky thing for the windscreen?



Gibbo is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 27 Old 19-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: bacon
AO Platinum Member
 
ACAPULCO AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 29,280
aye. windscreen mount and USB cable present, just the power lead missing
ACAPULCO AL is offline  
Status: Comfortably numb
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,898

Member car:

147 1.6 Sport

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACAPULCO AL View Post
it was a rubbish listing and it says the power lead is missing, which probably explains the low price. you can get power leads for about £3
All you need is a car usb adapter to slot the usb lead into. I bought one of these too, Slot Mount universal CD dash holder; in-car gps phone holder keeps the satnav out of your eye line and doesn't leave rings on the windscreen. I did have a grill mount, but it wasn't really up to the extra weight of the new 5" model.
Poolegan is offline  
Status: Loving the GTA
Newbie
 
alfabeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Herefordshire
Posts: 4,008
I use my TomTom 500 Live, for Slovenia, Croatia, Italy and Greece and it is excellent. Accurate mapping and speed limits etc. Can't go wrong.
alfabeat is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 27 Old 23-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: bacon
AO Platinum Member
 
ACAPULCO AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 29,280
well i'm back on the hunt again. turned up in the post this morning and it's not european mapping at all, it's a bloody UK & ROI one. some people really shouldn't be allowed on the internet, never mind ebay
ACAPULCO AL is offline  
Status: Looking for an Alfa ;-)
AO Silver Member
 
GTLeigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 2,541
The factory fitted one in my M3 is superb........so go and buy an M3 - you know it makes proper sense
GTLeigh is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 27 Old 23-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: bacon
AO Platinum Member
 
ACAPULCO AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 29,280
lend us a tenner then
ACAPULCO AL is offline  
Status: Looking for an Alfa ;-)
AO Silver Member
 
GTLeigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 2,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACAPULCO AL View Post
lend us a tenner then
Can I have the change
GTLeigh is offline  
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Navigon on the iPhone is brilliant. £50 app though but super regular updates, live traffic updates etc.

Leigh's M3 satnav doesn't do postcodes. It does large areas that it wants to invade, usually via Poland
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: Looking for an Alfa ;-)
AO Silver Member
 
GTLeigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 2,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squadrone Rosso View Post
Navigon on the iPhone is brilliant. £50 app though but super regular updates, live traffic updates etc.

Leigh's M3 satnav doesn't do postcodes. It does large areas that it wants to invade, usually via Poland
Si since I said it doesn't do postcodes i've found that it does but only 4/5 digits so LE** *

Simon is right every route is via Poland
GTLeigh is offline  
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTLeigh View Post
Si since I said it doesn't do postcodes i've found that it does but only 4/5 digits so LE** *
Area bombing then, not sticking them in the pickle barrel like the USAAF
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 27 Old 23-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: bacon
AO Platinum Member
 
ACAPULCO AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 29,280
4 digit satnavs haha how very quaint even my 8 year old ancient sony thing does full codes
ACAPULCO AL is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
KrisW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cork City
Posts: 3,088

Member car:

Giulietta

A second hand Nokia phone (N8, C7, or later) will have a free sat-nav on it that's as good as a Tom-tom. Everything works offline, so no data charges. As a bonus, you can use it as a music player, and put a local PAYG SIM card into it and use it as a phone when you get there.

Can be got pretty cheap, too.
KrisW is offline  
(Post Link) post #22 of 27 Old 23-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: bacon
AO Platinum Member
 
ACAPULCO AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 29,280
just bought a tomtom via off fleabay. seller has confirmed it's full 45 country euro mapping, and it's got bluetooth hands free which is a bonus. just under 2 years old so maps will still be pretty up to date. £65 delivered

the live traffic updates subscription has expired - i think it's £45 or so to renew it for a year. anyone used it, is it any good?
ACAPULCO AL is offline  
(Post Link) post #23 of 27 Old 26-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: bacon
AO Platinum Member
 
ACAPULCO AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 29,280
aaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrgh!!!!! turned up today - is it full 45 countries europe? nope - western europe only, 23 countries. back to square one again. what is the matter with these people?????
ACAPULCO AL is offline  
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
I can feel a thread comming on
Happy Man is offline  
(Post Link) post #25 of 27 Old 01-03-13 Thread Starter
Status: bacon
AO Platinum Member
 
ACAPULCO AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 29,280
hallelujah, 3rd time lucky. got a tomtom via 130 europe which thank buggery this time actually covers ALL of europe. seller of the first wrong satnav has refunded £15 of my £40 and i'm gonna re-sell it on ebay, with a proper listing i reckon i'll get £50-60 for it at least. seller of the second wrong one has refunded in full with return postage costs straight away. all's well that ends well
ACAPULCO AL is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Off Topic Section > The Technology Section

Tags
europe , recommendation , satnav

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome