The wrong laptop... - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 36 Old 30-12-12 Thread Starter
996
Status: Status removed - contravenes AO regs
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 4,362

Member car:

MarMiTo 955

The wrong laptop...

Bought a laptop today (or so I thought) from pc world.

Never crossed my mind to check before I left the shop that it was the right one

The one I'd ordered was an Asus vivo book 11.6" touchscreen with win8 OS but on return home
(after the shop shut) I find they've given me an Asus K55V 15.6" lappy with win8 OS


I'm now in 2 minds whether or not to keep it or just return it in the morning

Not being techno minded the only thing putting me off is that that win8 is designed to
be used on a touchscreen apparently ..
It seems to have a decent spec but unsure what to do

Any Ideas ?
996 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
CobolMan
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Funnily enough we looked at the K55VD yesterday when we went to buy Mrs C a new laptop. Windows 8 can be used on non-touchscreen devices so I wouldn't worry too much about it 996. Personally I would inform PCWorld of their mistake and see what they say.
 
(Post Link) post #3 of 36 Old 30-12-12 Thread Starter
996
Status: Status removed - contravenes AO regs
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 4,362

Member car:

MarMiTo 955

Quote:
Originally Posted by CobolMan View Post
Funnily enough we looked at the K55VD yesterday when we went to buy Mrs C a new laptop. Windows 8 can be used on non-touchscreen devices so I wouldn't worry too much about it 996. Personally I would inform PCWorld of their mistake and see what they say.
What did you think of it spec wise ?
996 is offline  
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
Take it back and get your money back as Asus are terrible and it wont last 12 months.

So stupid that they are upgrading the Windows 7 laptops to Windows 8 just to try and sell them. The minimum system requirements are 'a touch screen'

..aaaghhhhhhhh

Windows 7 will be like Windows XP where the companies will stick with it for 10 years and not upgrade.
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Alfafamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 5,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laptop_Matt View Post
Take it back and get your money back as Asus are terrible and it wont last 12 months.
Wow sad to hear that Matt, I'm typing this on an Asus that is coming up for 3 years old. If you had said Acer then I could have seen where you were coming from as my previous Acer lasted just over a year and my son's did the same.
I'm not doubting your professional opinion at all, you are entitled to it. To make an analogy, I'll just say that there are thousands upon thousands of Alfa drivers out there blissfully unaware that they have the most unreliable cars on the road.
Alfafamily is offline  
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
Haha,

Im not one of those people :-)

3 years is pretty amazing for any retail laptop.
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
badgers_nadgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 7,154

Member car:

156 GTA SW

Windows 8 doesn't need to be touchscreen, works fine for me with a mouse.
badgers_nadgers is offline  
Status: 500 up
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 655
Take it back and swop it for an HP.
mossca is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 36 Old 30-12-12 Thread Starter
996
Status: Status removed - contravenes AO regs
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 4,362

Member car:

MarMiTo 955

Quote:
Originally Posted by badgers_nadgers View Post
Windows 8 doesn't need to be touchscreen, works fine for me with a mouse.

Not used a mouse since 95...Will that make a difference ?

According to Which mag the Asus brand is the 2nd most bought by members
996 is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 6,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by badgers_nadgers View Post
Windows 8 doesn't need to be touchscreen, works fine for me with a mouse.
And for me.
Dave Brand is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
badgers_nadgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 7,154

Member car:

156 GTA SW

Quote:
Originally Posted by 996 View Post
Not used a mouse since 95...Will that make a difference ?
Works equally well with a trackpad, but I hate them, always plug a mouse in to any laptop.

I'm a mac man anyway, my laptop is just to check website compatibility and HTML email display in outlook.
badgers_nadgers is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 36 Old 30-12-12 Thread Starter
996
Status: Status removed - contravenes AO regs
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 4,362

Member car:

MarMiTo 955

Quote:
Originally Posted by mossca View Post
Take it back and swop it for an HP.
Put my fist thru an HP Pavillion ...Hence the need for a new one !

Just can't weigh up whether this new touchy feely head in 'the cloud' kit is better than a proper
meat and 2 veg steam driven type
996 is offline  
CobolMan
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
From what I've read, HPs are poor for reliability which ties up with the problems we've been having with Mrs C's Compaq. We went for a Samsung in the end, nice bit of kit although we're both struggling to get to grips with W8 at the moment.
 
Status: Powered by coal and steam
AO Gold Member
 
EVEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
County: West Midlands
Posts: 9,809

Member car:

alph a ramayo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfafamily View Post
Wow sad to hear that Matt, I'm typing this on an Asus that is coming up for 3 years old. If you had said Acer then I could have seen where you were coming from as my previous Acer lasted just over a year and my son's did the same.
I'm not doubting your professional opinion at all, you are entitled to it. To make an analogy, I'll just say that there are thousands upon thousands of Alfa drivers out there blissfully unaware that they have the most unreliable cars on the road.



I'm typing this on an Acer that's coming up to 3 years old , its never missed a beat
EVEL is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Alfafamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 5,758
That's the point really. No brand can be all bad or they wouldn't sell any.
Alfafamily is offline  
Status: Alfaless
AO Member
 
Alfa Seltzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hants
Posts: 948

Member car:

GT...Golf GT

My last Toshiba laptop cost me £299 and lasted 7 years before I finally replaced it....though it spent its last year attached to an angled metal plate with Gripfill after the hinges broke for the second time.
The battery only lasted 10 minutes without the charger too, and with the bits of insulation tape and superglue holding the casing together it was probably looking past its best.

I only really replaced it last year because the torrent Win7 I had been using for at least 18 months finally got rumbled during an update, and I couldn't find the original recovery XP discs...

I reckon it was good value for money overall though?
Alfa Seltzer is offline  
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
I have a large scrapyard of laptops which have been taken in part-ex for my business laptops.
I refuse to fix them and sell them or to auction them as 'untested' like many computer firms.

The biggest pile is HP and the smallest Pile is Toshiba. Toshiba is probably the best retail laptop if you do need a cheap new one.

I also offer a 'retail rescue' service where if your HP Pavilion for example fails in a year I can remove the working hard disk and memory and fit it into a HP EliteBook/Probook business laptop for the same price as fixing the Pavilion. These business models were £1300 and usually have a grands more in build quality to them than the shop bought version.

New laptops are designed to sell - not to last

2002 156 Selespeed Sportwagon|Koni FSD Dampers|Eibach Pro Springs|Fully Powerflexed Front & Rear|Eibach Sports Stabiliser ARB's|Lightweight Flywheel|Lighweight Crank Pulley|Colombo & Bariani Cams|Ported by Peak Alfa|Custom Remap by Gus|Wiechers Aluminium Strut Brace|GTA Uprights & Brembo 330mm Conversion|276mm GTA Rear's|GTA Steering Rack |Custom K&N Intake Pipe & Induction|Brand new Gearbox/Actuator|Quaife LSD|CF2 Decat Manifolds|Supersprint Centre Section|CSC Duplex Exhaust|GTA Interior
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
ps I really cant stand Which ********. You can't tell how good a product is when It is brand new as no one has had time to find faults. Yes it may be good value look nice and perform well but thats it.
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Alfafamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 5,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laptop_Matt View Post
I have a large scrapyard of laptops which have been taken in part-ex for my business laptops.
I refuse to fix them and sell them or to auction them as 'untested' like many computer firms.

The biggest pile is HP and the smallest Pile is Toshiba. Toshiba is probably the best retail laptop if you do need a cheap new one.

I also offer a 'retail rescue' service where if your HP Pavilion for example fails in a year I can remove the working hard disk and memory and fit it into a HP EliteBook/Probook business laptop for the same price as fixing the Pavilion. These business models were £1300 and usually have a grands more in build quality to them than the shop bought version.

New laptops are designed to sell - not to last
Points taken and noted for future reference
Alfafamily is offline  
keithyboy
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The ancient Dell I'm using now is at least five years old but it is also made up of bits from 4 different laptops. It's a lot like Trigger's broom.

Matt, how much roughly would I be looking at for a decent ex-business laptop for internet use and a bit of word processing?
 
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
Hey,

I have Lenovo single core laptops with 2GB ram for £159
Dual Core laptops with 3GB ram, 160GB hard disks for around £219 with brand new genuine chargers.
Best ones are HP £1600 CAD design laptops with 4GB ram, 128GB SSD with 3 year warranty for £299. These play games better than new £600 laptops :-D

I only sell IBM Lenovo ThinkPad/Dell Latitude/Toshiba Tecra & Satellite Pro/HP Compaq EliteBook & Probook.
Laptop_Matt is offline  
EddieGTA
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
When I worked for a charity earlier in the year I was gobsmacked at what they spent on laptops. They were buying HP Pro book laptops, i5 CPU's and cramming them with 8GB of RAM. The stupid thing was all their apps ran via Citrix so there was no need whatsoever for such a high spec.

Used Tosh at the place before and they were pretty good for the money.
 
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
Yeah lots of people think adding loads of memory will speed up a laptops startup. Its hard for most people to use 3GB (thats 1GB used by windows and 2GB for 20 websites open at the same time)

I do work for a school which has given all the Kids HP ProBooks and hp want £250 every time a screen breaks, there is about 5 broken a week!
Saying that though they put up with a damn lot more than a Pavilion ever could.
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laptop_Matt View Post
I do work for a school which has given all the Kids HP ProBooks
Is this common?
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: Meh.
AO Platinum Member
 
NineOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,067
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

I find 4Gb is fine for what I do and that includes photoshop, multiple tabs online, music playing and sometimes dreamweaver all running at once.

Average joe certainly don't need more, quality hardware is essencial in my book though, good old thinkpads
NineOneSix is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
laptop , wrong

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome