DVR Writer issues - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 20 Old 16-12-12 Thread Starter
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,081
Help DVR Writer issues

On my Compter I have a pioneer DVR-111D DVR/RW drive installed as well as a Sony DVD player/CB writer

For some reason I cannot get the Pioneer DVD writer to work.

The computer is saying it is only a regular CD-ROM drive, so I cannot watch or Burn DVD's on it. When I load a DVR is just says that the drive is empty.

I have tried re-installing the Firmware and drivers, and even messing around with the slave/master settings on the back of the drives but I still have had no joy.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what may be wrong before I remove the drive and throw it up the garden?

Many Thanks.
symon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 20 Old 16-12-12 Thread Starter
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,081
To expand a bit more.

With no disk in the drive the icon im my computer shows up as "DVD/RW drive E:"

As soon as I put in a blank DVD-R disc it changes its name to CD Rom drive E, although the icon next to the text changes to a picture of a disc with DVD-R on it.

I am running windows XP, and the drive used to run just fine...
symon is offline  
Status: I am also Keith......
AO Member
 
kam325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 565
a few questions......

1, Is it a new drive or one that has just started to have problems.

2, What is the Interface (IDE, SCSI, SATA, etc etc.....)

3, If its an old drive, what was the last bit of software/update you installed on XP just before the problem started ?
kam325i is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 20 Old 16-12-12 Thread Starter
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,081
It isn't a new drive, but it did work when I bought it on my current computer.

It has a SATA interface

I can't remember what was the last software which was used before it stopped working as it stopped a while ago. I have since done a complete system reset Hard drive reformat and reload of everything) and the issue is the same as it was before.
symon is offline  
Status: I am also Keith......
AO Member
 
kam325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 565
What Writing software is installed ?

It will be a problem with the SATA Drivers in XP........

XP will be running the drive in "Compatabilty mode", SATA was only a fledgling technology when XP was released.
kam325i is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 20 Old 16-12-12 Thread Starter
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,081
I was running Roxio, but have since uninstalled it as I hated it.

My files have been created using Free DVD creator V2

I can create the files fine, but as soon as I insert the blank DVD to burn the DVD RW drive will not recognise the disc and starts thinking it is a regular CD ROM.
symon is offline  
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
I would have said it was the optical drive filters (higher and lower) but if youve reinstalled windows this rules out a software problem.

Ive seen drives do some weired things. Its going to be a hardware issue.
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Status: I am also Keith......
AO Member
 
kam325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 565
You'll need to install the software that came with the drive, even if you dont use it, as XP wont know its a DVD-/+R/RW drive on a SATA interface.....

I used to have the same problems "back in the day"....

"This issue occurs because the Universal Disc Format driver, Udfs.sys, tries to read the DVD-RW disc by using a packet length of 32 blocks instead of by using a packet length of 16 blocks. CD-RW uses a packet length of 32 blocks, but DVD-RW uses a packet length of 16 blocks."

This link will help you....

Windows XP does not recognize a DVD-RW disc

Master of Quantum Giggle Theory & Laugh Mechanics.....

Brianmoooore said "If you're going to fit a 2.5 throttle body, then leave it attached to the rest of the engine and fit the whole thing."
kam325i is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 20 Old 16-12-12 Thread Starter
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,081
The drive didn't come with any software, it just came on its own with instructions on how to download the drivers.

They used to work fine together when i first installled, but one day when I went to use it I had issues.

@ Laptop Matt, if it is a hardware issue I am a bit annoyed as it has hardly been used...

Thanks for the help the pair of you.
symon is offline  
Grahameo
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It is sata vs XP... There are some mods out there that help a lot... Try switching the current sata cable connection positions to an empty slot on the mother board and make sure it is firmly connected too, then fire it up, see if it works... If not, then its an XP vs sata issue
 
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
Sorry but your wrong.

Its an IDE drive + symon mentions master & slave settings which SATA devices dont have.

It sounds like a hardware fault.
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Status: I am also Keith......
AO Member
 
kam325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laptop_Matt View Post
Sorry but your wrong.

Its an IDE drive + symon mentions master & slave settings which SATA devices dont have.

It sounds like a hardware fault.
Symon stats it is a SATA drive, maybe the Master/slave setting are on the other drive....

OR is he using a SATA > PATA(IDE) adapter..........?
kam325i is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 20 Old 16-12-12 Thread Starter
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,081
To be honest I don't know if it is Sata or IDE.

I just upgraded to XP service pack 3 and it made no difference, if that matters?

The drives do have the slave/master positions, but on the computer it makes reference to SATA drives.

It is this one...

http://www.digitaldingus.com/reviews...111d_specs.php
symon is offline  
Status: I am also Keith......
AO Member
 
kam325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 565
thats IDE
kam325i is offline  
Grahameo
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ah right... That explains things a lot better.... What kind of firmware did you flash it with? Official OE or aftermarket tweak?
 
(Post Link) post #16 of 20 Old 16-12-12 Thread Starter
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,081
I used the official firmware, but it made no difference.
symon is offline  
Status: I am also Keith......
AO Member
 
kam325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 565
is it reading CD-Roms ok ?
kam325i is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 20 Old 16-12-12 Thread Starter
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,081
It is playing both CD Roms and pre-recorded DVD's ok.
symon is offline  
Status: I am also Keith......
AO Member
 
kam325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 565
OK, so the reading side looks ok.

Now how about writing, dose it write to CD-rom ?
kam325i is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 20 Old 16-12-12 Thread Starter
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,081
Unfortunately I don't have any of those to try it...


I *think* it does...
symon is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
dvr , issues , writer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome