Iv'e Dumped Chrome Return To IE9 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
SCGT
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Iv'e Dumped Chrome Return To IE9

After using chrome for a couple of years I have returned to IE ......Got really fed up with shockwave conflicts hanging my old Vista Steam Laptop .....so much better...
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
MalcQV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 13,565

Member car:

Office Chair.

I try to avoid IE at all costs. Chrome seems OK, still prefer my FF though starting up is slow once you bung a few add-ons on.
MalcQV is offline  
Status: Coffee with MILF
AO Platinum Member
 
Al Faromeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Netherlands
County: Limburg
Posts: 26,052
Still OK with Chrome.
Less crashes and freezes than I used to run into with FF.
Al Faromeo is offline  
Status: Database fine on AlfaDriver
AO Silver Member
 
WTFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 5,473
Aurora for me. And Safari.
WTFH is offline  
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
Chrome for me. I found IE ung my vista machine.

However i'm typing this in FF.
spx is offline  
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
Stupidest thing ive heard.
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Status: think I've found the issue...
AO Member
 
andye159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 107

Member car:

Focus 1.6 Diesel

The only thing that really annoys me about IE are the stupid keyboard shortcuts (admittedly I haven't tried IE9, just talking IE8 here).

FF used to be Ctrl + L for address bar, Ctrl + K for search box. Chrome is similar with Ctrl + L, but in IE you need F4 to hit the address bar and Ctrl + E to search. And once you've hit F4, you can't get the focus with Ctrl + E, for some unknown, mystical reason.

That drives me a little mad, but I am an efficiency freak. And a bit weird.

Apart from this, I'm not really bothered about browsers. Bigger things to worry about...
andye159 is offline  
Status: The Bored, BORED
AO Gold Member
 
Snokio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 6,454
Thats strange, I keep getting 'shockwave player has crashed' message in chrome, which suggests it's not just me!
Snokio is offline  
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
I recommend to my customers Chrome for normal browsing,

Firefox for full screen video streaming (youtube/iplayer) as chrome seems to jerk with most graphics cards.

IE for absolutely nothing, shortcuts deleted and no software support if the customer continues to use it resulting in virus's & malware.
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,942
Garage
FF generally
steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: 159 Hunted......
AO Platinum Member
 
dpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 32,436
I've only started using Chrome and I like it. Far better than IE IMO.
dpat is offline  
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872
I've been using chrome for a couple of months now and,
so far, no problems.



Gibbo is offline  
Status: Back in V6-land!
AO Silver Member
 
Ronald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 3,336

Member car:

Not an Alfa

I've been using Chrome for about a year and a half, since I ditched Windoze for good...
Ronald is offline  
SCGT
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Prefer Chrome , gave it another go but keeps hanging with shockwave errors , must be a recent update that does not like Vista ...IE9 seems to be fine but no where near the functionalty.
 
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Chrome is a decent browser, but if you have a lot of tabs open as there is theoretically no limit and this can lead to memory issues.

There are plugins for chrome to give capability to set tab limits and I think these are a good thing.

I've got 5GB of RAM in my laptop and with only Chrome, Outlook and a couple of Word Documents open I can max it out just using Chrome when I'm browsing.

For example I've currently got 16 tabs open its using a shagload of it, one of my tabs has reserved 256MB for itself...

Nero Fuoco 147 Lusso - Bianco Nuvola 147 GTA - Carbonio Brera SV - Azzurro Le Mans GT 1600 Junior
GhostyDog is offline  
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald View Post
I've been using Chrome for about a year and a half, since I ditched Windoze for good...
What did you switch to?
spx is offline  
SCGT
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by spx View Post
What did you switch to?
Switched to IE9 which to be fair is not to bad , its is not as user friendly as Chrome. Aware of an issue with Vista and Chrome in respect flash built into Chrome clashes with Adobe and Vista platform. You can disable flash in Chrome but it reboots next time you open browser. Might give F/F a try .!
 
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCGT View Post
Switched to IE9 which to be fair is not to bad , its is not as user friendly as Chrome. Aware of an issue with Vista and Chrome in respect flash built into Chrome clashes with Adobe and Vista platform. You can disable flash in Chrome but it reboots next time you open browser. Might give F/F a try .!
Ah, I miss read, I thought you had ditched vista / 7 / xp for something else
spx is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,942
Garage
Hang on - sp asked ronald and scgt answered
steveisfrowning is offline  
EddieGTA
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Lets face it security issues have been found in all browsers. I swear some people just switch to alternatives to try and look tech savvy, when in actual fact I wouldn't want them anywhere near my networks.
 
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveisfrowning View Post
Hang on - sp asked ronald and scgt answered
Wait, what? So he did!
spx is offline  
Status: Too many things on the to do list.
AO Silver Member
 
SLM3CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 2,517
Since dumping windows and running Ubuntu on both my netbook and desktop, Ive switch to chromium. Its what chrome is based off but I had a few issues with chrome and slow start up sometimes. Chromium has been superb so far, havent noticed any annoying niggles which is a major positive as there always seemed to be something niggling when using IE or FF.

I dont get the memory munching tabs though. I have only 2GB I constantly have 5-15 tabs open at once when I drift off from what I was actually browsing for. I have never had an issue with ram and given a few seconds it has always performed as intended
+1 for Chromium/Chrome
SLM3CFC is offline  
Status: Chillin
AO Silver Member
 
Chocoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 5,621

Member car:

2005 147 JTD

used Chrome for as long as i can remember, my laptop probably wouldn't know what to do with IE now even if i asked it to open it
Chocoboy is offline  
EddieGTA
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Well while I tend to use Chrome, I just had to switch to IE to print an email. Chrome crashed the first time and then just refused to print. IE printed straight away.
 
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,942
Garage
I think the case is conclusively proven...............that no matter what you settle on, and for whatever the reason, someone else has a hugely compelling and contrary argument.

I'm really loving Ubuntu by the way. If you want an app - it's usually there.....usually free....and is usally good enough.
steveisfrowning is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
chrome , dumped , ie9 , return

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome