BT Broadband usage - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 40 Old 21-08-12 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
AO Gold Member
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,914
BT Broadband usage

I've had BT Broadband for years. Never had an issue and never had any problems with usage caps. I'm on the 10GB per month data package.

Last month I got an email to say I'd breached my 10GB limit but since it was a one off they wouldn't charge me.

Today I got an email to say I've used 8.81GB of my 10GB allowance and was likely to go over the 10GB so would be charged £5.

Not crying about £5 - just curious as to why I'm now hitting a limit I never have before. According to the MyBT monitor my historical monthly usage has been 6.1GB

Havent changed browsing habits, although wife did get a kindle a few months ago although she doesnt download many books at all...

Are BT just trying to get me to upgrade my usage? Can anything be running in the background grabbing data which is running up this usage? or are sites just now so full of video content etc that 10GB per month is out of date?

FredDibnah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
How many devices in your household use it?
GhostyDog is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 40 Old 21-08-12 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
AO Gold Member
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,914
3 in total, although never at the same time.

The desktop Mac, an iPad and a laptop. Probably all 3 used in total for 1 hour per day browsing fairly static sites like Facebook, AO, Hotmail, Yahoo mail etc.
FredDibnah is offline  
CobolMan
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Is your network password protected FD? I'm shocked by the number of my neighbours who are running totally open wifi. Does BT have a customer portal that shows your daily usage?
 
(Post Link) post #5 of 40 Old 22-08-12 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
AO Gold Member
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,914
The MyBT portal allows you to login and see what you've used (8.8GB) split between 8.4 download and 0.4 upload up until the previous day at 23.59 - but doesn't give any information on when it was used or if it was video or bulk data etc or from what IP or machine it was accessed.

The latter info would be useful if someone is piggy backing off of my router.

In terms of a password - obviously you need the hex address off of the printed label on the home hub to access it, but I haven't added any further security..... is this insufficient?

Looking on available networks I can see about 6 from surrounding homes, but even those that don't show a little padlock symbol next to them (which I assume ar ethe very secure ones) can't actually be connected to unless you enter the code off of the box.

Would be ideal to have some sort of application that showed itemised download usage (like a phone bill) - i.e. Youtube 26/7/12 0.66GB, Flickr 28/7/12 1.3GB, GentlemensSpecialistGrungeWebsite 29/7/12 5.2GB etc
FredDibnah is offline  
Status: Apple tart :-)
AO Silver Member
 
Tirreni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by CobolMan View Post
Is your network password protected FD? I'm shocked by the number of my neighbours who are running totally open wifi.
Worth checking. A mate of mine who runs his own ICT business told me that one time one of his techs went to a domestic customer to do something to his PC/network, and put a password on the WIFI he was using.....and then found that the customer had been inadvertently using a neighbour's WIFI rather than his own. (I wonder if the neighbour ever found why his WIFI suddenly had a password he didn't know about...??!!)
Tirreni is offline  
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
Sky anytime+ counts if you use that
spx is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 40 Old 22-08-12 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
AO Gold Member
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,914
No. Don't use that Sky anytime. Don't in fact use anything differently as far as I am aware than any previous months or years.

My thoughts are that it's either (a) someone piggy backing my router (password will be set tonight) or (b) something MrsDibnah is doing unknowlingly such as downloading kids films or something.

I'm also getting the feeling that 10GB is pretty low nowadays and that too many sites have embedded video and streams running that will be chewing that up when just sitting open....
FredDibnah is offline  
Status: Apple tart :-)
AO Silver Member
 
Tirreni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,757
We had the 10Gb limit last year and once I took redundancy, set up my own company to flog my time and skills and got some new IT kit, which then got used a bit more than just at the weekend we soon got close to or over 10Gb. We upgraded to 40Gb and that proved more than enough. (We don't download films, music or anything like that.)

That said, once it became live round here we then moved to BT Infinity which is about 8x faster and has no limit.
Tirreni is offline  
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872
How much does the move to infinity cost?

And can you go to beyond ?



Gibbo is offline  
Status: Apple tart :-)
AO Silver Member
 
Tirreni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gibbo View Post
How much does the move to infinity cost?

And can you go to beyond ?


We were able to go to Infinity 3 (fibre to the house and up to 100Mbs) and the tariff is around £35/month as I recall. The other versions of Infinity (up to 36 and 72Mbs I think) are cheaper.
Tirreni is offline  
CobolMan
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
FD, do you have a BTFON and BTOpenzone SSIDs showing as well as your own personal SSID? It could be that someone is using the BTFON & BTOpenzone 'networks' excessively. As you're a fellow Mac user you might want to have a look at Little Snitch, it may help - I've never used it but have heard lots of good things about it over the years.
 
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
badgers_nadgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 7,154

Member car:

156 GTA SW

Quote:
Originally Posted by CobolMan View Post
FD, do you have a BTFON and BTOpenzone SSIDs showing as well as your own personal SSID? It could be that someone is using the BTFON & BTOpenzone 'networks' excessively. As you're a fellow Mac user you might want to have a look at Little Snitch, it may help - I've never used it but have heard lots of good things about it over the years.
They shouldn't count towards your usage though.
badgers_nadgers is offline  
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by badgers_nadgers View Post
They shouldn't count towards your usage though.
Agreed
spx is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 40 Old 24-08-12 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
AO Gold Member
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,914
So I've now had a usage monitor running on the desktop Mac for the past few days, and on that machine we are using around 150-200mb per day of Broadband download capacity. It's August 24th and we've used 9.25GB of our August 10GB allowance.

My wife's iPad is used for similar amounts of usage so I would say that's going to be about the same.

The Windows laptop gets used very infrequently so that would be irrelevant in the grand scheme. It only gets turned on 2 or 3 times per month (not unlike MrsDibnah.... )

If we do manage to use 300-400mb per day between the two devices then over the course of a month that would be where we are - i.e. 9-12GB per month.

Considering we don't download songs (maybe 2-3 per month max) or watch streaming video or download movies or play games, it would seem that a combination of browsing Facebook, AO, eBay, Autotrader, email accounts and the BBC Website (news + sports only) is enough to generate that traffic....

It wasn't very many years ago that a 2GB monthly allowance was the norm and we never got near it.

Does this mean that:

(a) Me and MrsDibnah are voracious browsers and surfers? (we use the internet a fair amount I suppose)
(b) Even seemingly static sites nowadays are fat and heavy in terms of bandwidth usage?
(c) A lot of background data gets exchanged nowadays by various apps/sites? (some of the data count usage increases overnight when we are in bed!! The Mac is still running but not being used)
(d) All of the above.....
(e) Those out there who do watch movies, use iPlayer, download 1,000 songs per month etc - all have 100GB limits or unlimited packages?

Either way - looks like we will need a package upgrade beyond 10GB if we aren't to get penalized with speed restrictions and penalty charges.
FredDibnah is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 6,534
Your usage sounds similar to ours, so I'd say you're an average user. We have a Windows desktop & netbook used mainly for forums, email, shopping & news & sport, plus a TV used occasionally for catching up on TV programmes & watching stuff on youtube. Our monthly usage averages around 8GB, rarely above 10GB in any given month - we're on a 40GB monthly allowance, so going over 10 isn't a problem.

May be worth shutting your desktop down overnight? We shut all our devices off but leave the router permanently on.
Dave Brand is offline  
Status: Constantly Nagging Lincolnshire Members !
Regional Support
For Lincolnshire - AOL
 
Nige005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, Lincs
Posts: 16,304
This Thread prompted me to check my useage.

Up until yesterday it was less than 2Gbs for the Month. I only do normal browsing and don't download music, videos etc but I do use it to browse some news sites which have a lot of content. I do this most days for a couple of hours and of course scan eBay very regularly for the hard to find Alfetta bits !

Seems that I use it much as you do Fred so it seems odd that your useage is SO much higher than mine.
Nige005 is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 40 Old 25-08-12 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
AO Gold Member
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,914
I am at a loss with this. It's the 25th of the month and I'm just about to pass 10GB of usage according to BT, and I have done no downloading at all - just normal browsing.

Very frustrating that there seem to be zero diagnostics out there that give you any type of analysis. Just loads that mimic what BT already gives you. I've no idea what device, what dates or what activity is driving it.

Only option is to just turn all broadband aware devices off (ipad, iphone, mac, windows laptop, printer) and see if it stops going up!
FredDibnah is offline  
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
Log on to the home hub and there is a bit that lists all the devices that have been connected. Should have the device name and MAC address.

Any there you don't own / know who's they are.
spx is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
badgers_nadgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 7,154

Member car:

156 GTA SW

You do have an issue as I really can't see how your usage would be that much, but tracking it will be hard. You'll have to start at the router and look at what machines are connected and if your router will give you the information (unlikely) seeing which machine it is. Could be a virus, could even be an issue with bt. My first point of call would be bt's tech support, however I doubt they'll be inclined to help. I feel for you.
badgers_nadgers is offline  
SCGT
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Why not try this software , it's free to download !
BitMeter 2 - CNET Download.com
 
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
We've consistently exceeded our 10GB limit over the last few months so just upgraded to unlimited (with exclusions) with a free home up 3 for an extra £9.99 a month
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: Life is good atm. I do not take that for granted.
Global Mod Team
 
PaulR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 22,976
I really can recommend BT infinity if you can get it. We have two laptops, desktop, iPad and two iPhones - they are all used A LOT. I download films and stream TV a lot. No limit and £26.00 a month.
PaulR is offline  
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulR View Post
I really can recommend BT infinity if you can get it. We have two laptops, desktop, iPad and two iPhones - they are all used A LOT. I download films and stream TV a lot. No limit and £26.00 a month.
No infinity here. In the semi-sticks
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,484
Just get infinity Fred you tightwad!

You will be able to turn Mrs Dibnah on all month long!
Keithy is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
broadband , usage

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome