I've turned my old laptop into a - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 21-07-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
Thumbs Up I've turned my old laptop into a

Sky box

I'm usually crap at IT stuff but with £14 of leads my WIFI BT router, WIFI mouse and the password from my sons Sky account I've managed to turn my old laptop into a Sky box

Great picture, good sound and no stuttery buffering

Jan's watching the Borgias and I'm posting on here

I also get the rest of the F1 Season live

In between sorting that out I also cooked a magnificent meal of Monkfish, King Prawns and Scallops in a tomatoe, garlic, basil and olive oil broth with home made sea salt crusted focaccia

I know it's probably no big deal to all you techy's but I'm feeling pretty :smug:
Happy Man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Coffee with MILF
AO Platinum Member
 
Al Faromeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Netherlands
County: Limburg
Posts: 26,067
stuff Tony! Well done.

Still got all of your fingers?
Al Faromeo is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,958
Garage
so, you've hacked into Sky for free?





















or paying murdoch his coin?
steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: off down the shed.
AO Gold Member
 
alfacool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England.
County: Durham
Posts: 6,324
Well if you tell us all your sons code, then we can have it.
alfacool is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 12 Old 22-07-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Faromeo View Post
stuff Tony! Well done.

Still got all of your fingers?
Yep

It works a treat I'm well pleased with it

Quote:
Originally Posted by steveisfrowning View Post
so, you've hacked into Sky for free?





















or paying murdoch his coin?
No, I've set it up here for when my lad stops over to mind the cats

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfacool View Post
Well if you tell us all your sons code, then we can have it.
Shame it's only two users aint it
Happy Man is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Nice one, they used to charge for multiroom to do ths but seem to have dropped it. I have it on my xbox as well as my normal sky box and its pretty good.
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: 159 Hunted......
AO Platinum Member
 
dpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 32,440
dpat is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 12 Old 22-07-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
Sean I was honestly very surprised by the quality of a 7 year old low spec Toshiba Satallite running on a WIFI connection

No stutter or buffering no crashing

Takes a little while to boot the laptop up so I have to plan what we watch but that's the only down side I can see

The home hub coped well running sky and internet at the same time
Happy Man is offline  
Status: up to my eyeballs in work :-(
AO Gold Member
 
Green Cloverleaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 7,188
HM - can I ask how you've set it up?

I assume you have configured SkyGo on the laptop to watch the Sky channels?

What OS are you running on your laptop?

I've got an old Dell laptop (a Latitude D600) with only 512Mb of memory, which doesn't seem to be enough to run Windows particularly well. I've tried it with XP Pro, but after a while it just ends up grinding to a halt.

I've currently loaded it up with Lubuntu, which is a lightweight version of Linux, and it seems to be running ok. However, it would appear that Sky do not support Linux, and SkyGo won't work.
Green Cloverleaf is offline  
Status: 159 Cruiser and Guilietta pocket rocket
AO Silver Member
 
giblets46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 4,734
Garage
If you can get more ram in it, will make a world of difference. I got given a 'free' old laptop, took 20mins to load up windows! But only has 300mb of ram. put in an extra 512MB, and, whilst it isn't super fast, it is now useable. Most people end up buying a new laptop, but its' normally just RAM.
giblets46 is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 12 Old 16-08-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Green Cloverleaf View Post
HM - can I ask how you've set it up?

I assume you have configured SkyGo on the laptop to watch the Sky channels?

What OS are you running on your laptop?

I've got an old Dell laptop (a Latitude D600) with only 512Mb of memory, which doesn't seem to be enough to run Windows particularly well. I've tried it with XP Pro, but after a while it just ends up grinding to a halt.

I've currently loaded it up with Lubuntu, which is a lightweight version of Linux, and it seems to be running ok. However, it would appear that Sky do not support Linux, and SkyGo won't work.
I'm running vista, I know I upgraded the ram to 2gb and cleaned it all out before I set it up.

Like you say configure sky go, plug the telly in like you would a monitor, audio leads for sound and your off.

I didn't have any trouble and I've only god what i consider morerate IT Skills
Happy Man is offline  
Status: loving a shiny bella called Monica
AO Silver Member
 
bigjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 2,420

Member car:

159 2.4 Lusso

go to crucial and use their little prog. it'll tell you what ram you have and what will work in your machine.
bigjim is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
laptop , turned

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop Matt - I need your advice V6Hughes Way Off Topic 43 25-11-10 19:09
Laptop and credit card dilemma Wilmslow Way Off Topic 12 16-07-07 21:49

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome