TV Aerial cable... RG6? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 3 Old 16-06-12 Thread Starter
Status: Database fine on AlfaDriver
AO Silver Member
 
WTFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 5,473
TV Aerial cable... RG6?

Quick (possibly stupid) question - what is the difference between TV aerial cable (for terrestrial digital TV, i.e. the same as we used in analogue TV days and now plugs into the freeview box) and satellite aerial cable.
From reading around, they both appear to be RG6, 75 Ohm.
Is it just the connectors?

We're getting an extension on the back of the house, and the electrician arrived today for a chat about power sockets, etc. I mentioned aerial sockets and network ones too. He's happy to connect up the TV sockets and the network ones, but he wants me to supply the Cat6 cable - which is fine, cause I should be able to get it cheap through my current employers.
But one of the network cable runs is going to follow a new TV aerial cable run so I suggested that I'd get that cable too. Now I'm starting to wonder if all RG6 is the same and I can just buy some shotgun cable to run 2 TV leads from the masthead amp down to the new extension.

(Note: If any of you are in the cable business or can get your hands on TV or Cat6 cheap, give me a shout!)

Find me on flickr: PSJ_Picdump
My comments are just my words - it's your mind that finds the meaning you want to find.
WTFH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Broke...
AO Member
 
GateKeeper_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 803
You will want to use CT100 or CT125, these are now the standard for satellite installs, both have a lower loss per meter than RG6 (old brown stuff) and CT125 is slightly better again.

GK
GateKeeper_ is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 3 Old 16-06-12 Thread Starter
Status: Database fine on AlfaDriver
AO Silver Member
 
WTFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 5,473
Thanks. 50m of CT125 ordered, along with a vision V20 masthead amp
WTFH is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
aerial , cable , rg6

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
156 SW Radio Reception Aerial Problem Fixed chris.oates ICE & Blue&Me 1 30-12-11 16:36
159 Aerial cable baggieboy68 Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider 3 15-07-11 10:23
How to really fit a... connect nav radicool Alfa 147, 156 & GT 20 24-03-11 23:45
Aerial cable Pujazuba Alfa 145 & 146 1 22-10-10 18:30

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome