Moving my own Sky dish.... - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 16 Old 10-05-12 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
Newbie
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,942
Moving my own Sky dish....

Yikes.

I have to move my Sky dish tonight.

We are starting our loft extension so today the house is being wrapped in scaffolding and planks. My wife rang about an hour ago and said that the scaffolders have said that they'll leave one bit off when they go home tonight so that I can move the Sky dish somewhere else before they come back tomorrow and finish it all off.

Theoretically, I understand what I need to do (release the dish and pole, pull off enough cable clips to give me some slack on the cables, find a new home for dish and pole and reconnect it) - but oh sooooo many things to go wrong.

Someone has already sent me a link to a caravan site (!) that gives instructions on how to realign the dish - but if I get that far I'll be a happy man.

Anyone else moved theirs?

BTW - She already called a local aerial company who wanted 300 quid to move it (and presumably 300 quid to move it back again when all done)
FredDibnah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
Newbie
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,505
Do you have a crimping tool and some aerial cable?
Keithy is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 16 Old 10-05-12 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
Newbie
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,942
I do - but can't I just move the whole thing as a unit without disconnecting any cables?
FredDibnah is offline  
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
Newbie
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,505
Yus! If the cable will reach to wherever you are going to relocate it. How are you going to secure it?

I do think you are rather brave BTW!
Keithy is offline  
Status: Now on windscreen number 5!
AO Member
 
diamond72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 666

Member car:

Giulietta QV

all you have to do is make sure it's pointing the right way and at the right angle. All you need is a spirit level, a compass and some basic maths.
Or you can go to B&Q and buy a signal tester. Either way it's a darn sight cheaper than £300!!
diamond72 is offline  
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
Newbie
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,505
Remember Rod Hull!!
Keithy is offline  
Status: Now on windscreen number 5!
AO Member
 
diamond72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 666

Member car:

Giulietta QV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keithy View Post
Remember Rod Hull!!
and I remember the modification to his theme song after the event.

There's somebody on the floor....

Besides which, we all know that emu's can't fly and it doesn't matter to Fred, he died years ago!!!
diamond72 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
PhilzAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 3,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by FredDibnah View Post
BTW - She already called a local aerial company who wanted 300 quid to move it (and presumably 300 quid to move it back again when all done)
300 quid

They're having a laugh. Putting up a dish isn't that difficult. The hardest thing really is mounting the bracket / pole, as the wall fixings are quite sturdy.

Yes you can move the dish with the cable still attached if the cable is long enough, but I wouldn't stress over that too much, as it's not difficult to disconnect.

Before doing anything, turn the Sky box off at the wall, as the box sends power to the dish and if you short the wires you can damage the box. Also note which way your dish is facing (roughly SSE) and the elevation (vertical tilt).

If you look at the LNB (the box on the end of the dish 'arm') you should see the cable connecting to the underside of it. The connector is usually wrapped in amalgamating tape, so you would need to slice through this with a knife. Once the tape is removed, the F-connector simply unscrews. Note carefully how to re-assemble the connector. It's important that the outer braid doesn't touch the centre core when you reconnect the dish. Chances are the cable is tie wrapped to the arm, so cut through these too. Your dish is now free!

Move the wall mounting / pole, keeping in mind that the dish needs to be at least 8 feet above ground. Make sure the mount is vertical (they often have a spirit level). Re-alignment of the dish can be done as previously suggested with a meter from Maplin, or visually by moving the dish till the picture appears.

As a silly suggestion, why not leave the cable connected, detach the dish from the wall, wrap it in a black plastic bag and dump it on the ground until your building work is done?
PhilzAlfa is offline  
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
Newbie
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,505
Good advice Philz!
Keithy is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 16 Old 10-05-12 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
Newbie
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,942
Got home to discover that the scaffolders reckon they can leave a line of sight around it and it should still work.

We shall see tomorrow....

Scaffolding is going to be up for 3 months apparently!
FredDibnah is offline  
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by FredDibnah View Post
Got home to discover that the scaffolders reckon they can leave a line of sight around it and it should still work.

We shall see tomorrow....

Scaffolding is going to be up for 3 months apparently!
Untill one of them catches it with a size 9 safety boot or a hard hat
Happy Man is offline  
LincsKris
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy Man View Post
Untill one of them catches it with a size 9 safety boot or a hard hat
Safety Shoes, Hard hat! since when do you see these used by tradesmen apart from on the telly shows.
 
Status: Meh.
AO Platinum Member
 
NineOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,067
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

Get some CT100 and some reusable F connectors from maplins, no crip tool needed, oh and a F type barrel connector to join it to your existing cables temporarily
NineOneSix is offline  
Status: Meh.
AO Platinum Member
 
NineOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,067
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

Just realised this threads a week old
NineOneSix is offline  
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
Newbie
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,505
PVCKitteh! Hadn't realised bondage world '12 was this last week you were away!
Keithy is offline  
Spacecadet
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you have the account in your name, cancel it by phoning sky and then get another household member to call up and start a new contract. They will come and install a new dish, lines and box where ever you want them, and probably offer a 1TB Sky HD box for free too.
 
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Off Topic Section > The Technology Section

Tags
dish , moving , sky

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome