Adobe Elements - Anybody Use It? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 14 Old 02-05-12 Thread Starter
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Adobe Elements - Anybody Use It?

Hi,

I'm thinking of getting a new laptop for my Uncle for his birthday and preloading it with some decent photo and video creation software that is easy to use (for a man in his 70s).

He has had a laptop for a few years but not done a great deal with it other than print out bowling league stuff and put photos on CDs for his friends, he has been wanting to do home video for ages though and all the free software is either inadequate or poorly documented and complex.

I'm thinking Adobe Elements might be just the thing, is anybody on here using it and if you are what do you think? Is it easy and straightforward to use?

Thanks

Sean

Nero Fuoco 147 Lusso - Bianco Nuvola 147 GTA - Carbonio Brera SV - Azzurro Le Mans GT 1600 Junior
GhostyDog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Apple tart :-)
AO Silver Member
 
Tirreni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,757
Elements 9 came packaged with some other software I bought (for my Mac). I've used it a few times, not for anything really technical get, and it seems fine - user friendly and intuitive. It's also been stable, which I didn't used to get from an old Photshop Lite I used to use on my old XP laptop.
Tirreni is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
PhilzAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 3,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostyDog View Post
Hi,

I'm thinking of getting a new laptop for my Uncle for his birthday and preloading it with some decent photo and video creation software that is easy to use (for a man in his 70s).

He has had a laptop for a few years but not done a great deal with it other than print out bowling league stuff and put photos on CDs for his friends, he has been wanting to do home video for ages though and all the free software is either inadequate or poorly documented and complex.

I'm thinking Adobe Elements might be just the thing, is anybody on here using it and if you are what do you think? Is it easy and straightforward to use?

Thanks

Sean

One of my relatives (in his 70's) uses it, though I'm not sure which version. But I believe they find it pretty straightforward.
PhilzAlfa is offline  
Status: Now on windscreen number 5!
AO Member
 
diamond72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 666

Member car:

Giulietta QV

Just go for GIMP, it's nearly as powerful as the full photoshop and completely free!
diamond72 is offline  
Status: Saving for engine.
AO Silver Member
 
tomfromtelford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 4,241
It's easy to use, but if he does open up cmyk image it will convert to RGB (from memory)

GIMP is prob best bet.
tomfromtelford is offline  
Status: Meh.
AO Platinum Member
 
NineOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,067
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

Never liked GIMP

I've used elements in the past, found it not too bad TBH, most of the functions I use in photoshop
NineOneSix is offline  
Status: Saving for engine.
AO Silver Member
 
tomfromtelford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 4,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by NineOneSix View Post
Never liked GIMP

I've used elements in the past, found it not too bad TBH, most of the functions I use in photoshop
I'm not a fan of GIMP's either :P
tomfromtelford is offline  
Status: Meh.
AO Platinum Member
 
NineOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,067
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

SMUT
NineOneSix is offline  
Status: Now on windscreen number 5!
AO Member
 
diamond72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 666

Member car:

Giulietta QV

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomfromtelford View Post
I'm not a fan of GIMP's either :P
I am

I've got CS5 on subscription but, tbh, rarely use it so gonna save £35 per month and stick with the rubber suit and snooker ball gag!!
diamond72 is offline  
Status: Meh.
AO Platinum Member
 
NineOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,067
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

I got CS4 design premium on a student discount a 1500 quid bundle for 250
NineOneSix is offline  
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872
I have used PSE 7 for a couple of years and found it to be very
useful. I recently upgraded to PSE 10 and have been experiencing
a few issues and am less happy than with the older version.
Fortunately you can have both versions installed so I can carry on
with 7 until I get the issues with 10 resolved.

I have not used any of the free offerings so am not qualified to
make any comparison.



Gibbo is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 14 Old 11-05-12 Thread Starter
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Thanks all, for those that say use gimp, its not exactly a simple tool and it doesnt create dvds...
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,099
A bit late on this I know but I am also considering buying a copy of elements.

I have used plenty of free photo editing tools, but they are either too basic or difficult to use.

Gimp I find too long winded and complicated where as others such as FastStone are not versatile enough.
symon is online now  
(Post Link) post #14 of 14 Old 21-05-12 Thread Starter
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
I bought it and installed it on uncles laptop which does not meet the minimum requirements (it's a Celeron for a start) software works fine, have worked with some of his photos and had a play with some of his imported video and it all looked good.

No crashes, no weirdness, just software that works as it should.

It's still a little complicated for a gent in his late 60s but one of the factors in why I bought it was the wealth of tutorial support available in video format on adobes website.

Should make the transition a whole lot easier.

Sean
GhostyDog is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
adobe , elements

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome