Acer Aspire 1410 Notebook battery - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 28 Old 26-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Help Acer Aspire 1410 Notebook battery

Hi.

Getting a message saying we should consider changing the battery on out notebook.

You can turn the flashing warning of but it is worth doing?

Seems OK to use but battery is only c24

Also, adding another 2GB of RAM so total will be 4. Worth it for just 12.45?

Cheers,

Simon
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Looking for an Alfa ;-)
AO Silver Member
 
GTLeigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 2,541
Get a mac you know you want to...........
GTLeigh is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 28 Old 26-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTLeigh View Post
Get a mac you know you want to...........
You buying
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Batteries are consumables, youre doing well if they last more than a couple of years.

RAM upgrade is a decent price, but you wont see any improvement in performance unless you are aready maxing out your memory.

Remember more RAM just allows you to run more applications concurrently.
GhostyDog is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 28 Old 26-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Ta Sean.

We only want it for basic functions such as MS Office etc.

Now that we're ditching our desktop, it'll be our only Windows machine, running Win 7 Premium 64bit.

The iPad is my weapon of choice for Internet, photo editing & even basic WP using pages but Clare prefers full Facebook for all her games.

Battery & RAM a no brainer then

Cheers,

Simon
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
How long does it last?

Hmm that 12 ram upgrade is probably 90 from apple for EXACTLY the same stuff!
Laptop_Matt is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 28 Old 26-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laptop_Matt View Post
How long does it last?

Hmm that 12 ram upgrade is probably 90 from apple for EXACTLY the same stuff!
A good couple of hours

The RAM is Kingston which I think is good
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
How fen do you un on attery only? Yu can get hgh caacity batteries but they can increase the ootprint of. Laptop
GhostyDog is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 28 Old 26-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
You got keyboard problems Sean?

The machine spec is :-

Intel Celeron 743 Processor (1.3GHz, 1MB of L2 Cache)

Intel GMA 4500M up to 796 MB DVMT

11.6" HD LED LCD

2 GB memory (upgradable to 4 GB)

250 GB HDD

802.11 b/g/Draft N

6 cell li-ion battery

Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit OS

Office 2007 through MS Home User (free through Clare's work)

External multi-optical drive

I've copied that & don't understand half of it but it's compact, well built, light, stylish & Clare's

So, battery & RAM then?

Cheers,

Simon

Simon

Daily Driver FIAT Panda Cross Twinair Stunning Giulia 115 Spider Series 4 fine weather toy

Wife's Daily Brilliant Toyota GT86

AROC South Wales Section Secretary
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,495

Member car:

159 SW TBi

My laptop battery is 6 years old but I rarely use it on battery. I would probably get 1-2 hours out of it depending on it's workload. It wasn't bought to be used on the battery (which either drains quickly on power or runs slower on preserve) but to be moved from coffee table to wherever I may go on holiday etc.

For the price I'd certainly get the battery if you use it (it'd do as a spare anyway if you intend to keep the notebook). RAM isn't gonna break the bank. You may not see an improvement (or not a huge one) but it may also become more expensive should you find a need to upgrade later (so probably worth doing at that price unless money is tight anyway)
AmicusPro is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,495

Member car:

159 SW TBi

And who suggested mortgaging the house buying a mac?
AmicusPro is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 28 Old 26-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmicusPro View Post
And who suggested mortgaging the house buying a mac?
I'd love a MacBook Air but why?

My iPad2 does 95% of what I need a computer for and it's just so easy to use.

Our Notebook, my iPhone 4s or my work Laptop (at lunchtime) easily do the other 5%
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
2 hours is fine.

Manufacturers are putting timers in the battery packs now a bit like sony always has done (although much more harsh). Those new HP Pavilions are a nightmare for if and pop up with that startup screen prompting you to buy a new one from HP and then dont even bother trying to charge.

Manufacturers also lie about the battery life as they clock performance down, dim the screen right down, spin down the hard disk after 2 minutes and then get a magical 10 hour battery.
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
...and i dont mean HP give you a free battery pack lol, quite the opposite.

The battery does not charge I mean!
Laptop_Matt is offline  
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
I agree with Matt 2 hours is decent.

Personally I would recommend maxing the ram you'll see a performance increase from not having to use the paging file so much. Its probably 32bit so you won't get to use the whole 4GB (will probably say 3.5 or 3.6GB) but will make a difference.

On a side note how is the laptop performance? I'm looking at getting a Celeron notebook but i'm being put of by the fact its a celeron and everyone says they are pants
spx is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 28 Old 27-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
It's 64bit so 4gb over 2 slots is fine

For us, a Celeron is bob on
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
Cheers, think i'm gonna go for it.
spx is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 28 Old 27-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by spx View Post
Cheers, think i'm gonna go for it.
The acer is a nice machine in fairness
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
spx is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 28 Old 03-05-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Well, 2gb of RAM ordered, new battery too & an internal bluetooth module

Finally got round to installing MS Office 2010 Pro+ too
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 28 Old 07-05-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
OK. Problems with the new battery

Firstly it took an age to charge then without being plugged in to the mains, it wouldn't fire the laptop up.

But, when on mains power and unplugged, it would run the laptop.

Another weird side effect is when fitted, it make the keyboard slow and very unresponsive

Needless to say, back to the original and working fine and eBay seller contacted

BTW, fitted the 2GB of RAM in seconds. Seems great
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
Sounds like an ebay\amazon fake.

Send it back asap and dont keep trying it as they can take out your motherboard.

If it doesnt say 'genuine' or 'original'in the title and its less than 40 its a guaranteed fake
Laptop_Matt is offline  
(Post Link) post #23 of 28 Old 07-05-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laptop_Matt View Post
Sounds like an ebay\amazon fake.

Send it back asap and dont keep trying it as they can take out your motherboard.

If it doesnt say 'genuine' or 'original'in the title and its less than 40 its a guaranteed fake
It wasn't original but is CE branded replacement with a 3 year warranty, top rated seller etc.:-

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1208801999...84.m1439.l2649

Let's see what he comes back with but if there's any hassle, I'll insist on money back.
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,047
Garage
That's definitely a fake

Here is a genuine for not much more :

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Genuine-Ba...#ht_3463wt_903

There is a situation online at the moment where even the ebay sellers dont know the difference and their suppliers assure them that the stock is ok to sell when it is actually junk.

The fake power supplies are the worst as they have no surge protection, short circuit protection, thermal protection and have a tiny little transformer hard-wired into the mains without a fuse!

2002 156 Selespeed Sportwagon|Koni FSD Dampers|Eibach Pro Springs|Fully Powerflexed Front & Rear|Eibach Sports Stabiliser ARB's|Lightweight Flywheel|Lighweight Crank Pulley|Colombo & Bariani Cams|Ported by Peak Alfa|Custom Remap by Gus|Wiechers Aluminium Strut Brace|GTA Uprights & Brembo 330mm Conversion|276mm GTA Rear's|GTA Steering Rack |Custom K&N Intake Pipe & Induction|Brand new Gearbox/Actuator|Quaife LSD|CF2 Decat Manifolds|Supersprint Centre Section|CSC Duplex Exhaust|GTA Interior
Laptop_Matt is offline  
(Post Link) post #25 of 28 Old 07-05-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laptop_Matt View Post
That's definitely a fake

Here is a genuine for not much more :

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Genuine-Ba...#ht_3463wt_903

There is a situation on-line at the moment where even the ebay sellers don't know the difference and their suppliers assure them that the stock is ok to sell when it is actually junk.

The fake power supplies are the worst as they have no surge protection, short circuit protection, thermal protection and have a tiny little transformer hard-wired into the mains without a fuse!
I don't mind pattern parts as long as they are as good as the original but in this case it's not.

How do you go about a refund on ebay

I've bought tons of stuff but never had to return something (OK, there were LED sidelight bulbs for the GT but the seller disappeared
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
1410 , acer , aspire , battery , notebook

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBD II Codes Smaky Alfa 145 & 146 62 14-08-19 13:36

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome