Streamers - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 17 Old 22-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,646

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Streamers

Does something like this:
Western Digital TV Live Streaming Media Player (WDBGXT0000NBK-UESN) - dabs.com

Also allow you to save stuff to the HD it's connected to - copying stuff from a Sky+ box for instance?

And if it doesn't, is there something similar that does?
bazza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
Don't know about streaming but I've got a WD external hard drive it's very good stuff
Happy Man is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,497

Member car:

159 SW TBi

Quote:
Originally Posted by bazza View Post
Does something like this:
Western Digital TV Live Streaming Media Player (WDBGXT0000NBK-UESN) - dabs.com

Also allow you to save stuff to the HD it's connected to - copying stuff from a Sky+ box for instance?

And if it doesn't, is there something similar that does?
Not sure off-hand (would need to look into it further but suspect it would be more about getting software on the receiving box to save the stream. Having had a number of bad experiences with Dabs and their poor customer service I'd order from Scan... it's a whole 1p cheaper (think delivery may be £1 cheaper as well but not sure)

Scan link

They do offer others as well - you could e-mail them and they may be able to let you know? The staff there are certainly generally more knowledgeable.
AmicusPro is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy Man View Post
Don't know about streaming but I've got a WD external hard drive it's very good stuff
Western Digital Hard Drives in my experience have the highest failure rate.
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostyDog View Post
Western Digital Hard Drives in my experience have the highest failure rate.
I've had two and both of them have been faultless
Happy Man is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,497

Member car:

159 SW TBi

They used to have the highest failure rate, but then all HD companies have had low quality periods - I started with Maxtor and have most recently stuck with IBM/Hitachi/HGST for bare drives but had a 2.5" Western Digital or Seagate in the PS3 and a Samsung (limited options at the time) in my laptop.

I did see (recently) that there appear to only really be about 3 or 4 manufacturers now anyway (HGST have been bought by WD or Seagate iirc, and one of those own Maxtor anyway, but as part of the deal they have to sell stuff to Toshiba who want to enter the market). That said, the poorest quality ones I've found have been Fujitsu... not always failing, but fragmenting and suffering from major performance issues more frequently.
AmicusPro is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
WDs dont like heat soak, they are okay in a cooled case but the non cooled portable jobs are gash.

I only buy them for none mission critical stuff as part of raid arrays and the its the enterprise stuff with a 5 year warranty, ill say one thing, they have no quibbles about replacing drives when they do fail, and they will regardless of manufacturer.

Seagate on the other hand have appalling customer service.

Never buy a blackarmour nas, they are RUBBISH!!!!
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: BORED
 
David P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 85,633
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazza View Post
... copying stuff from a Sky+ box for instance?

Unfortunately you can't just plug in a network cable or USB cable to transfer content from a Sky box. The programs are recorded in an encrypted file format anyway IIRC.
David P is offline  
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostyDog View Post
WDs dont like heat soak, they are okay in a cooled case but the non cooled portable jobs are gash.

I only buy them for none mission critical stuff as part of raid arrays and the its the enterprise stuff with a 5 year warranty, ill say one thing, they have no quibbles about replacing drives when they do fail, and they will regardless of manufacturer.

Seagate on the other hand have appalling customer service.

Never buy a blackarmour nas, they are RUBBISH!!!!
How big a drive are you talking about mate, I've got a SE 1 TB cost me about £90 works fine as a big data storage device, it's only about half full but it's a domestic home bit of kit that works fine

BTW enjoy your fish and chips tomorra, I can't make NICN got a meet on my home patch
Happy Man is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy Man View Post
How big a drive are you talking about mate, I've got a SE 1 TB cost me about £90 works fine as a big data storage device, it's only about half full but it's a domestic home bit of kit that works fine

BTW enjoy your fish and chips tomorra, I can't make NICN got a meet on my home patch
Cheers mate

Any drive can fail, they are very susceptible to shock, environmental factors and mechanical failure, they are a magento-mechanical device after all so will wear out over time.

If a hard drive is going to fail due to a defect it will generally speaking fail sooner rather than later, if it hasn't failed within the first month or so of use (dependent on how much use it gets) then it should be good for the long haul, but there are so many factors that it's probably best to read this article on wikipedia to get a good grounding in what you shouldn't do.

Hard-disk failure - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

As long as you have 2 good copies of your data you should be okay, I have only once ever suffered a cascade failure of both my primary storage and my backup storage concurrently and I lost a lot of data. I was very unlucky though, and I now have 2 backup drives, If I lost all my digital photos and videos of my life together with t'other half, that would be pretty devastating.

It's all about mitigating risk and the value of your data. If it's your pr0n collection well then it's not really a huge problem, there's plenty more out there on the web to download...

Nero Fuoco 147 Lusso - Bianco Nuvola 147 GTA - Carbonio Brera SV - Azzurro Le Mans GT 1600 Junior
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazza View Post
Does something like this:
Western Digital TV Live Streaming Media Player (WDBGXT0000NBK-UESN) - dabs.com

Also allow you to save stuff to the HD it's connected to - copying stuff from a Sky+ box for instance?

And if it doesn't, is there something similar that does?
And back on topic.

Not if your using HDMI as it is encrypted, however if you're Sky+ box has analogue outputs you can hook them up to a video digitiser plugged into your computer and then view and record on the fly whatever the analogue output is.

Video Capture - Turn analog into digital video

This probably breaches the terms of your contract with Sky though.

I fancy doing it anyway as I have the episode of Top Gear with the Alfa Romeo challenge on our box and I'm in the crowd at the concourse bit.
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostyDog View Post
Cheers mate

Any drive can fail, they are very susceptible to shock, environmental factors and mechanical failure, they are a magento-mechanical device after all so will wear out over time.

If a hard drive is going to fail due to a defect it will generally speaking fail sooner rather than later, if it hasn't failed within the first month or so of use (dependent on how much use it gets) then it should be good for the long haul, but there are so many factors that it's probably best to read this article on wikipedia to get a good grounding in what you shouldn't do.

Hard-disk failure - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

As long as you have 2 good copies of your data you should be okay, I have only once ever suffered a cascade failure of both my primary storage and my backup storage concurrently and I lost a lot of data. I was very unlucky though, and I now have 2 backup drives, If I lost all my digital photos and videos of my life together with t'other half, that would be pretty devastating.

It's all about mitigating risk and the value of your data. If it's your pr0n collection well then it's not really a huge problem, there's plenty more out there on the web to download...
Cheers mate, interesting read that

I'm backed up four ways, all the family photos and vids that are not on 35mm film and VHS are stored on photobucket with copies on a 320gb WD Passport the old drive and the new 1TB drive as a last resort I've used my old redundant laptop to store other stuff

It's a bit hard to manage because it's all on different drives but generally I can find stuff pretty easy

My work stuff is on the 1TB and it's about 10 years worth
Happy Man is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 17 Old 24-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,646

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Are those of you saying you aren't supposed to record from Sky+ sure of your facts?

Because when we first got the box (admittedly years ago) I remember there being a page in the manual about how to transfer stuff to a PVR or DVD-recorder.

And having a quick gander now, on the planner page which holds the stuff you have on the box itself, there is a 'copy' option.

I think perhaps only some premium content (box office maybe?) is encrypted.
bazza is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazza View Post
Are those of you saying you aren't supposed to record from Sky+ sure of your facts?

Because when we first got the box (admittedly years ago) I remember there being a page in the manual about how to transfer stuff to a PVR or DVD-recorder.

And having a quick gander now, on the planner page which holds the stuff you have on the box itself, there is a 'copy' option.

I think perhaps only some premium content (box office maybe?) is encrypted.
Pretty much

Quote:
Originally Posted by sky terms and conditions
9. Copying and Copyright
(a) You must not do (or allow to be done) any of the following:
(i) copy (except as permitted under the Copyright Designs and Patents Act 1988 ("Act"), as amended from time to time), redistribute or relay any of the Channels or any Additional TV Services or any part of them, or otherwise deal with the Channels or any Additional TV Services or any part of them other than as permitted by the Act. The exceptions in the Act are limited and you must make sure that you are legally entitled to rely on one of them; or
(ii) sell or make any charge for watching any Channel or any Additional TV Service or programme; or
(iii) show any Channel or any Additional TV Services in public to an audience, even if no charge is made.
(b) We may disable or alter remotely certain functions of your Box so as to prevent you from copying the Channels or any Additional TV Services and we may prevent you receiving the Service if your Box allows copying of any Channels or any Additional TV Services which we are bound by contract to prevent.
From Sky Terms and Conditions - Sky TV
GhostyDog is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 17 Old 24-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,646

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

You've got to be wrong. It doesn't surprise me for terms and conditions to be set up more strict that the actual fact of things, to give them a lot of leverage in case of arguments.

http://www.sky.com/helpcentre/export...1314843347.pdf

Page 37 describes how to copy any recording on the Sky+ to a DVD.
Page 17 shows that any programme for which this isn't possible will have a 'C' against in in the browser to denote 'copy protected'.

So the situation is as I suspected. As I said, my Sky+ has the option to copy programs clearly available.

Seen an offensive/spam post? Report it! Click the or button next to the post.
AO Rules - AO Gallery - AO Classified adverts - AO Club - AO Traders

"Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so." - Douglas Adams


"You know, sometimes the world seems like a pretty mean place."
"That's why animals are so soft and huggy."
- Calvin and Hobbes

To err is human, to moderate ursine.
bazza is offline  
Status: BORED
 
David P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 85,633
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazza View Post
Are those of you saying you aren't supposed to record from Sky+ sure of your facts?

Because when we first got the box (admittedly years ago) I remember there being a page in the manual about how to transfer stuff to a PVR or DVD-recorder.

And having a quick gander now, on the planner page which holds the stuff you have on the box itself, there is a 'copy' option.

I think perhaps only some premium content (box office maybe?) is encrypted.



Yes there's a Copy function & instructions on how to transfer content to DVD-R etc. to free up space. I'm sure normal copyright T&Cs still apply, not sure how much notice anyone takes of them though


My reference to encryption ( if you are referring to my post ) is only related to how the files are saved on the Sky box.

As you say though I do remember back in the day that Box Office content was encrypted ( Macro-vision IIRC ) & it couldn't be transferred to VHS straight from the Sky box.




Edit : Composed before seeing Bazza's post above.
David P is offline  
Status: New job, location new car :-)
AO Silver Member
 
AmicusPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,497

Member car:

159 SW TBi

I suspect it's like recording from TV anyway - you are (iirc) allowed to record a program but it is supposed to be wiped after it's been watched once. I wonder how many people really do that all the time?
AmicusPro is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
streamers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome