I have been having ... - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 16-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872
I have been having ...

... a few problems with Photoshop Elements 10 since I
loaded it a couple of weeks ago. I have been advised
to check that I have the latest video driver installed.

How do I do that? In simple English please



Gibbo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 13 Old 16-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872
Nobody knows



Gibbo is offline  
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
are you using windows?
spx is offline  
Status: Please make it stop!!
AO Member
 
antpal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
County: Nordrhein-Westfalen
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by spx View Post
are you using windows?
Of course he is! OSX wouldn't ask such a silly question
antpal is offline  
Status: Please make it stop!!
AO Member
 
antpal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
County: Nordrhein-Westfalen
Posts: 923
To help you though Gibbo, i use CS3 on Mac, so i'm not 100% sure.
See if you can update your video driver by finding your video card in the device manager then checking online for a driver update for it.
May also be worth updating to the latest version of Flash Player (as it's adobe too).
antpal is offline  
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
I don't use Photoshop but there are two ways to update/check your video drivers.

method the first

Start menu
type - devmgmt.msc
return (device manager will load)

expand display adapters
right click on the device and select properties
Select the driver tab
select update driver. - windows will now go and check for an p to date driver and install it if available.

****important - if the driver doesn't work select the 'Roll back driver'

method - the second

If you know the make and model of your video card go to the manufacturers website and download it directly.

** this is where the roll back driver button becomes really important.

Windows only saves the current and previous drivers for all devices.
if you install a driver and it doesn't work always roll back before trying a different driver.

its all fun until something falls off.

spx is offline  
spx
Status: -
AO Member
 
spx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 418
OSX ha i thought he might be on linux
spx is offline  
Status: Please make it stop!!
AO Member
 
antpal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
County: Nordrhein-Westfalen
Posts: 923
antpal is offline  
Status: Now on windscreen number 5!
AO Member
 
diamond72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 666

Member car:

Giulietta QV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gibbo View Post
... a few problems with Photoshop Elements 10 since I
loaded it a couple of weeks ago. I have been advised
to check that I have the latest video driver installed.

How do I do that? In simple English please
Come on guys, give a man a chance, Gibbo thinks windows are what you look out of and antivirus is his dad's pox ridden sister!
diamond72 is offline  
Status: Now on windscreen number 5!
AO Member
 
diamond72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 666

Member car:

Giulietta QV

In all seriousness Gibbo, Elements 10 and CS5 use a LOT of processor, if your machine is more than 3 years old, it will probably struggle to even run the software.
diamond72 is offline  
Status: Please make it stop!!
AO Member
 
antpal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
County: Nordrhein-Westfalen
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by diamond72 View Post
Come on guys, give a man a chance, Gibbo thinks windows are what you look out of and antivirus is his dad's pox ridden sister!
antpal is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 13 Old 16-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by spx View Post
.... Lots of very useful stuff .....
Cheers spx. I did that and it came back saying I have the most
up to date version already

So it's doubtful that is the issue. More likely, as has been suggested,
my laptop is not powerful enough

I have looked on the Adobe forums and this seems to be a fairly
well known problem although there doesn't seem to be a definitive
fix.



Gibbo is offline  
Status: Can't get into the interior light cluster!
AO Member
 
The_Abyss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 963
What's the nature of the problem, and what's the spec of your PC?
The_Abyss is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Off Topic Section > The Technology Section

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome