One for the IT guys? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
One for the IT guys?

A good friend of mine's son is a young computer whizz and has sold me his old computer (which is very good, and works fine).

He totally cleaned it up and reinstalled 'a' copy of Windows7. He also took my old computer off me and took some time making it look like mine and transferring all my desktop stuff, as well as all my Pictures, Documents and Outlook folders/emails etc. I basically ended up with a much better computer that looked and acted like my old one

I didn't want a 'hooky' copy of Windows (and he advised me not to anyway) so I actually spent £70 and bought a copy of Windows7 off ebuyer. When it came through the post, I used the product key to register the Windows7 that he'd already installed. It went perfectly smoothly and the computer is still working fine. It's now been about a month.

However...when I open up Outlook now to check my email, a little box pops up telling me I must register my copy of Outlook (the rest of Windows7 still seems fine). I have tried to change the product key to the product key of the Windows I bought, but it won't have it. I now have 3 days before (I should imagine) my Outlook stops working.

So, why did it work with the rest of Windows7, but not the Outlook? And how can I sort this?

The lad has gone away to scratch his head but in the meantime...HELP!
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Angus
Posts: 71
Outlook is within the microsoft office package, office needs its own product key.
pr0xibus is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Where can I find the product key for Outlook in the copy of Windows I bought?
 
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,612

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

You can't. Outlook isn't part of Windows, unfortunately.

What does come with windows (or at least can be got free) is Windows Mail, but you'll find that none of your old emails are compatible with it, so you won't be able to read them.

It's an absolute pain in the backside.
bazza is online now  
rkingphoto
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by VO2Max View Post
Where can I find the product key for Outlook in the copy of Windows I bought?
You can't, as has been said you need the MS Office product key, not the Windows product key.
 
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
So I need to buy a copy of Microsoft Office and use the product key off that?
 
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Bloody hell, I just looked and MS Office costs more than bloody Windows7!
 
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,612

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Yep, office is not cheap. you could theoretically buy a student and teacher edition which is cheaper. Any kids in your house?

I've taken to using open office, which is free and not bad. DOesn't solve the irritating email compatibility issue though.
bazza is online now  
Status: I used to be Red now I'm Blue
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
PapaSmurf's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1451
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Perth & Kinross, UK
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 4,514
Garage

Member car:

Stelvio Milano

Quote:
Originally Posted by VO2Max View Post
Bloody hell, I just looked and MS Office costs more than bloody Windows7!
You can buy Outlook on its own. Look on the Microsoft website & you should be able to buy a product key there.
PapaSmurf is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,612

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Ah, looks like they've changed things for office 2010 - it's 'home and student' now, and not cheaper. Guess they got fed up of people spuriously buying the student version!

Looking at PC World, just to get an idea, why on earth is Word more expensive than the entire Office suite?
bazza is online now  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,612

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Note: It looks like Office no longer contains Outlook anyway:

Quote:
Included in this package is Word 2010, Excel 2010, PowerPoint 2010, and OneNote 2010.
But outlook is also more expensive than office anyway.
bazza is online now  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,612

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Ah - there you go (sorry for all the posts!)

Only the home and business version contains outlook.
bazza is online now  
rkingphoto
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
What do you use Outlook for? If it's only e-mail there are free e-mail clients you can use or your mail provider may have a web client. I use a web client for my e-mail.
 
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
I've got a genuine copy of office home and student 2007 with a spare licence would the product key for that work ?

If it's a yes I'll PM you the number Max
Happy Man is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hmm, I have Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2010, so I guess I specifically need a key for that?

Got a lot of emails and stuff I'd like to keep.
 
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Sorry guys, forgot to say thank you for all your helpful replies.
 
Status: PSN ID: Jack155Q4
AO Gold Member
 
AlfaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 6,919

Member car:

1993 Alfa 155 Q4

Can't you import a PST file in to Windows Mail?
AlfaJack is offline  
Status: PSN ID: Jack155Q4
AO Gold Member
 
AlfaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 6,919

Member car:

1993 Alfa 155 Q4

Quote:
Originally Posted by VO2Max View Post
Hmm, I have Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2010, so I guess I specifically need a key for that?

Got a lot of emails and stuff I'd like to keep.
If Tony lets you have his 2007 product key then you might be able to download the 2007 software from here and install:
Try & Buy Microsoft Office - Packages Overview | Microsoft Office

Just uninstall 2010 Pro as it will be pricey to activate.
AlfaJack is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by VO2Max View Post
Hmm, I have Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2010, so I guess I specifically need a key for that?

Got a lot of emails and stuff I'd like to keep.
How did you get Microsoft office professional plus 2010? It is only available on volume licensing, i.e. site licences for businesses or other organisations.
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
Like I say I've got a spare license number if you need it mate drop me a PM
Happy Man is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks HM, I think I'd need to uninstall what I have first though, then install 2007 which you have a key for. Would rather not do this, I'd probably **** it up and maybe lose all my stuff?
 
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
Leave it to your young IT Jedi
If you need the key just let me know
Happy Man is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostyDog View Post
How did you get Microsoft office professional plus 2010? It is only available on volume licensing, i.e. site licences for businesses or other organisations.
As I say, the lad installed it for me. Don't know where he..ahem...got it from. Didn't realise that the product key from the Windows7 I bought wouldn't work with it.
 
Status: PSN ID: Jack155Q4
AO Gold Member
 
AlfaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 6,919

Member car:

1993 Alfa 155 Q4

You won't loose data...you just won't be able to see it.
Make sure you can download the software first
AlfaJack is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
guys

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome