IT Geek Help needed - pls, pretty pls ! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 11 Old 06-01-12 Thread Starter
Status: Happy
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Switzerland
County: Vaud
Posts: 1,068
IT Geek Help needed - pls, pretty pls !

I've got access to the 'tinternet by cable through a local provider. Plugged in tower PC with a modem - no wireless things.
Somehow my neighbour has managed to link in to my cable network (I'm no specialist so I don't really know how to explain it or know the correct terms to use).
He has a home cinema and every time I switch on or off or get a warning on my PC about unsecure www links (I had a firewall installed) his home cinema goes off with an identical and much louder sound than mine at home.
Its been going on for some weeks now and there is no way that it is a coincidence.
I get a 'warning' on my PC with a kind of piano noise to make me aware of an unsucure link (or whatever it means) and simultaneously his home cinema PC playstation set-up goes off with the same warning noise.

Anybody kind enough to know how I can put an end to it?
How I can check it or change it without too much expense involved ?

Thanks
Edit : Its also slowed my computer down considerably ?

and thanks for all the jokes in advance, like "pull the plug to put an end to it" etc...
Alfa Black is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Sounds very very odd ... can you post up a picture of the "warning" you get?

What sort of modem have you got? also have you got any network homeplugs? (ethernet over power??)
156Chris is offline  
LincsKris
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
does your computer have wifi and is it switched on even though you don't need it?
 
(Post Link) post #4 of 11 Old 07-01-12 Thread Starter
Status: Happy
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Switzerland
County: Vaud
Posts: 1,068
Thanks guys for asking. I'll get down to it this week-end and post everything I have. Try unwiring the whole lot and putting it all together again. See if that helps ...?
Just happened again : Kaspersky Antivirus sign shot up and didn't have time to read it, but hey presto - warning music/jingle on my PC AND next door...?
I'll let you know.
Thanks again. and will be back soon.
Alfa Black is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 11 Old 28-01-12 Thread Starter
Status: Happy
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Switzerland
County: Vaud
Posts: 1,068
Well. I've taken it all to bits and put it back together again. I.e. unplugged and re-installed.
Still have the same issue, but have found out how to get around it.
I just unplug the whole thing when I'm not using it.... stupid I didn't think of it first !
Also have a few other devious ways of getting anybody off it
(I did have a wifi switch which I can't seem to switch off).
I start the thing up at ungodly times of the night and enjoy the alarm bells next door. Can hear them swearing they forgot to swith theirs off :-)
Thanks anyway for your help.
Alfa Black is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
I havent posted on this before because frankly what your saying sounded completely implausible! Yet, it is happening.

It sounds like somehow through misconfiguration your wifi switch and your neighbours have become bridged as part of a WDS network, if you both have wifi swithes from the same manufacturer that autosenses other local switches and automatically configures them like the old linksys wag54g then this could be why your neighbour is using you as his internet gateway.

The next thing though is why are sounds from your pc coming out of his home cinema? Well if you have a windows media centre pc or the equivalent version of vista or windows 7 this uses a technology called upnp to advertise your sound and video to other upnp devices. Onne ted to your network. Playstation 3 can connect to upnp devies and playback the audio and video from that device.

It may well be that your neighbour has misconfigured his ps3 and found your computer.

All things to consider but i think the key way to fix this would be to change the wireless network name on your wireless switch and the key to access it. If that doesnt work for some reason id do a factory reset and reconfigure it.

Hope this helps.

Sean

Nero Fuoco 147 Lusso - Bianco Nuvola 147 GTA - Carbonio Brera SV - Azzurro Le Mans GT 1600 Junior

Last edited by GhostyDog; 28-01-12 at 11:39.
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Vengeance Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 14
it actually sounds like they are piggybacking (freeloading) on your wifi connection and stealing your internet to me.
is your wifi secured or open network?
Vengeance Inc is offline  
CobolMan
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Have you spoken to your neighbour about it?
Imagine the fun you could have if you were to change the jingle you get to something slightly inappropriate
 
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by CobolMan View Post
Have you spoken to your neighbour about it?
Imagine the fun you could have if you were to change the jingle you get to something slightly inappropriate
like the moaning of someone being pleasured? :evilgrin:
GhostyDog is offline  
CobolMan
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostyDog View Post
like the moaning of someone being pleasured? :evilgrin:
You've got me sussed
 
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by CobolMan View Post
You've got me sussed
Chortle chortle, tbh its first thingid have done :evilgrin:
GhostyDog is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
geek , needed , pls , pretty

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome