Sonos or Bose? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 3Likes
  • 3 Post By Verbout
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 24 Old 03-02-19 Thread Starter
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,416
Sonos or Bose?

Whatcha think, whatcha got?

I was looking at a Sonos, usual problem, I like the one that has suddenly gone AWOL, the 3. I suspect it has been discontinued while they re-do it with Alexa. Bose, in the meantime, have the 500, similar size to the 3.

It’s all the same to me so should I have one over the other? Do we think they will launch a 3 with Alexa.
Keithy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
chrishendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 10,898
Sonos is a really good system - sounds great.
Streams all my tunes from a network connected hard drive, plus spotify, tunein etc.

I have 2 old Sonos 5s in the kitchen and a connect in the living room with my main amp and speakers.
My high-end hifi loving friend bought a stupidly expensive cd player recently and plugged it into my system to try - he couldn't distinguish between the same tune on his player or from my hard drive through Sonos connect.

I have an Alexa "Dot" which I unplugged and put in a cupboard through Big Brother listening fear ........so personally I'd not be keen on versions containing built in ears, other levels of paranoia are available I believe
chrishendrix is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Sonos is fantastic if you are genuinely going to use it in multiple rooms. If you're not - it's still good, but you can probably get as good for less money.

I have a playbar on the TV in the lounge, a 5 in the dining room, and a One in the kitchen, and very, very pleased with them.

I believe you're right that the 3 is in line for an update, but I'm surprised they've stopped the 3 because of it - you can still buy play:1's despite the One superseding it.

The One, for Chris's benefit, does have the ability to turn off the microphone. Although you could not trust that I guess.

Seen an offensive/spam post? Report it! Click the or button next to the post.
AO Rules - AO Gallery - AO Classified adverts - AO Club - AO Traders

"Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so." - Douglas Adams


"You know, sometimes the world seems like a pretty mean place."
"That's why animals are so soft and huggy."
- Calvin and Hobbes

To err is human, to moderate ursine.
bazza is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 24 Old 03-02-19 Thread Starter
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,416
Nobody in the Bose corner?
Keithy is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,445

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

If the Bose in my GT is anything to go by...
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
amfalconer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 2,650

Member car:

159ti 2.4JTDm

Sonos for me all the time, I have had a couple of Bose products, ipod docks mainly - rendered useless by the change to the lightning connector (and the fact I favour Android now).

Currently have a play 5 and 4x play 1s in various rooms, would like the sound bar but including sub, the price means its just not worth it for me.

We have a central music library, streamed off a NAS drive which makes Sonos a logical choice.

Shame their app and connection status is a bit finnicky.
amfalconer is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,328
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

I have a Bose Soundlink Bluetooth speaker, love it. I use it around the house and take it with me on holiday, sounds excellent and it’s dinky.

Bose theatre system as well, non portable but the sound is nice, but not overwhelming better than the much cheaper Panasonic system before that.

Last edited by Verbout; 04-02-19 at 09:31.
Verbout is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

That's interesting. The connection has been absolutely flawless for me, and incredibly easy to set up. Similar to you - I run my own music off my PC, so I don't need a music subscription service.

Actually, slightly sneakily, I also have the free google music service, which uploads all my music to their cloud. This means that on the very infrequent times I might want to listen to music without my PC on, it's still all available to the Sonos systems.

The only small downside to this approach instead of a Spotify subscription, is that the voice controls on the One don't recognise a command to play something from your own music server (although they can still answer questions like "what artist is this"). I suppose it also means I am not introduced to new music. But it's all (probably) crap anyway.
bazza is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,328
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

“I suppose it also means I am not introduced to new music. But it's all (probably) crap anyway”



You are my 84 year old father, I’ll be around later with a cooked dinner for you.
Keithy, Sterzo and Starkers like this.
Verbout is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
amfalconer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 2,650

Member car:

159ti 2.4JTDm

Good point raised by Verbout, we've taken a Play 1 away in the past, and if you don't have Wifi, or access to a router you're stuffed, and being a Play 1 there is no aux input.

I sneakily suspect that our connectivity issues can be attributed to when it was set up, we were on the beta program of the app, which the owner steadfastly refuses to leave.... Added to the fact we have a big old 1930's house, with solid walls throughout and naturally, the Sonos' are at the furthest reaches - we have the Sonos Bridge also, which is supposed to tie everything together, again, unnecessarily as it is all mesh networking or similar? - that and there's probably 60+ things fighting for bandwidth at any one time....

We have Amazon Music, which I don't use too much, and my brother mistakenly logged in with his Spotify, so I steal that from him, but oddly I use the TuneIn radio service more than anything else.

Our music collection has been collected over numerous decades and including from dubious sources so not quite willing to upload it to Google's servers!

Posting from my phone - excuse spelling mistakes

Last edited by amfalconer; 04-02-19 at 13:20. Reason: spelling.....
amfalconer is offline  
rxe
Status: Busso
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 4,132
Neither.

Squeezeserver on QNAP box, and old Squeeze devices where they still survive. Where they haven’t survived, Squeeze is Open Source, so I’m running it on a Pi with a high end DAC. This all plugs into whatever speakers we have kicking around the house. Pretty much any device with an audio processor can become a player so I can output to a bluetooth speaker at the same time as having a really good feed into a decent hifi.

Sonos seems staggeringly expensive for what you get, and is closed, so you can’t fiddle with it, and when they go bust/get bought, you’re stuffed.

Oh yes, on holiday, I can simply VPN into home and the music collection is playable.
rxe is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

I have a Squeezebox Touch actually which I need to sell now I have changed to Sonos.

Do they go for a good price, given that you can't buy them new now?
bazza is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Looks like you're right about the Play:3. But if you've got any Richer Sounds near you, some are selling them off as clearance stock at an excellent price of £140. They might be ex-display, I'm not sure.

https://www.richersounds.com/clearan...k.html?instore
bazza is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Hmm. I might have misunderstood that listing, and it's only £140 in Bromley.
bazza is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 24 Old 19-02-19 Thread Starter
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,416
Four left in whole country, Brum and Hanley are nearest to me. Don't fancy the trip TBH.


Sonos made their half year launch announcement, it was an amp, not a revised play 3
Keithy is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

You've got to imagine one is coming though. As you say, the 3 seems to have completely disappeared from sale. It's not listed on their own website either.
bazza is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Your best bet might be to buy 2 Ones and pair them up.
Or 2 Play:1's if you're not bothered about Airplay and Alexa. That's £258 for the pair in Richer Sounds.
bazza is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
https://www.amazon.com/Creative-Blas.../dp/B00W8O6MJO

Boom.


Even works as a USB soundcard/DAC for computers and Androids that support external DACs.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 24 Old 07-03-19 Thread Starter
Status: Bye Daffy Cat
AO Platinum Member
 
Keithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 37,416
Wow!

That’s awesome.









What is it? Does it do 78s?
Keithy is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
It does EVERYTHING.

And it was only $99.



Also, if you really went Alexa you can add it to any speakers with an Alexa Input.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGrimJeeper View Post
https://www.amazon.com/Creative-Blas.../dp/B00W8O6MJO

Boom.


Even works as a USB soundcard/DAC for computers and Androids that support external DACs.
No. Roar.

This is a boom.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B06X6JCB...v_ov_lig_dp_it

Also that is a very good wireless speaker. But a wireless speaker and a multiroom system are not the same thing. If he wants the former, then the Sonos is a waste of money. But if he wants the latter, then the Roar won't fulfill the brief.
bazza is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tully1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Worcester
Posts: 261
Garage

Member car:

159 Ti TBI 200

I have a SONOS Beam and two PLAY:1s in my front room, which I have set up as a 5.1 system for the TV. I also have a SONOS 1 in our kitchen.

I honestly cannot recommend them highly enough. They are absolutely fantastic.

The Beam in particular is a brilliant piece of kit. It's very small for a soundbar, but it's got a huge sound.
Tully1980 is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,928
Garage
steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: Loving the GTA
AO Silver Member
 
alfabeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Herefordshire
Posts: 3,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvis Presley View Post
Not sure what else one needs really!
alfabeat is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
bose , sonos




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bose Tweeters are NON EXISTANT. MOSTR0 Alfa 147, 156 & GT 20 22-04-18 11:13
Bose in new GT doofus Alfa 147, 156 & GT 6 10-10-05 11:01
Urgent Help plz…Bose Tweeters!!! Paulo Mendes Alfa 147, 156 & GT 65 09-12-03 01:17

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome