How many network devices.... - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 18 Old 29-01-19 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
AO Gold Member
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,878
How many network devices....

I'm sure this has been done already - but I can't find it on a quick search so.... well, sod it... I shall just go again.

How many devices are you now running on your home network?

I am at 22

3 mobile phones (me x 2 and MrsDibnah)
3 iPod Touch things (kids)
1 Alexa
1 Echo Dot
1 Playstation 4
1 work windows laptop
1 MacBook (wife's)
1 iMac desktop
1 Amazon fire tablet
1 kindle
1 x what I think may be my smart meter (it's just an IP address and I can't see the address on the meter unit but I believe it is connected)
3 x Smart TVs (Lounge, Kitchen/diner, kids room)
2 x Sky Q boxes
2 x Apple TV boxes

2 of those devices (The PS4 and the iMac) are on wired connections direct to the BT Home Hub 5 box as they tend to be the heaviest streamers (kids on PS4 and Youtube endless video watching on the iMac).

Other heavy bandwidth users would be Sky and the Apple TV boxes/Smart TVs if there's HD playing I assume.

Our Broadband is BT Infinity unlimited and on tests I get around 10mbps on basic testing tools on my work laptop over Wifi while other services are being used. It's advertised at 30mbps and I think on a wired device it may be up around that if nowt else was on.

So - ....

Am I overloading it all? Would 20+ devices (and more coming I'm sure) start to get to the level where I need a better local network setup than bog standard Wifi on a bog standard router?

Issues I have are occasional Amazon Prime buffering and (maybe every few weeks) periods when I can't actually connect a device if it's gone off for some reason. This is a real pain when it's one of the Sky boxes.

A hard reset of the BT Home Hub 5 normally resolves.

Views? Anyone else got a similar setup?
FredDibnah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Thinking about a Scirrocco
AO Platinum Member
 
Starkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brighton.
County: Good old Sussex by the sea
Posts: 12,833

Member car:

The train :(

The house that I share with one other occupant, contains

Three mobile phones
Two ipads
Two laptops
One Virgin telly doo-dah
I've also got a WD 2Tb hard drive, which can connect to a router but it spends most of its time being a white plastic and metal ornament.
Starkers is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 18 Old 31-01-19 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
AO Gold Member
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starkers View Post
The house that I share with one other occupant, contains

Three mobile phones
Two ipads
Two laptops
One Virgin telly doo-dah
I've also got a WD 2Tb hard drive, which can connect to a router but it spends most of its time being a white plastic and metal ornament.
Any buffering or issues with connecting at all? Who is your ISP/Router provider?
FredDibnah is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 18 Old 31-01-19 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
AO Gold Member
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,878
I've been through quite a long call with both BT and an independent outfit and they got me to split devices across 2.4 and 5 mega/giga thingy bands (done a while back with no improvements) and to check the band of my cordless telephone system (Toshiba and runs on 1.98 mega/giga thingy so no issues there) and to scan to see if neighbours wifi is interfering (I can see them - but it's v much weaker than our signal) - so no ideas really.

I can only think that with 22-23 devices connected I'm just maxing out the bandwidth at times. Bugger.

As the "Internet of things" starts adding on intelligent fridges, kettles, bananas etc I suspect we will all end up with 4 inch fibre cables to every house!
FredDibnah is offline  
Status: Thinking about a Scirrocco
AO Platinum Member
 
Starkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brighton.
County: Good old Sussex by the sea
Posts: 12,833

Member car:

The train :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by FredDibnah View Post
Any buffering or issues with connecting at all? Who is your ISP/Router provider?
No, I never notice any of that, I can work all day at home and there's no drop in performance.

My internet is provided by Virgin (through cable).
Starkers is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,926
Garage
3 mobile phones (me x 2 and MrsDibnah) - 2 mobiles
3 iPod Touch things (kids)
1 Alexa
1 Echo Dot
1 Playstation 4
1 work windows laptop 1 work surface pro notebook
1 MacBook (wife's) 1 ancient dell linux craptop (missus)
1 iMac desktop 1 ancient lenovo linux craptop (moi)
1 Amazon fire tablet
1 kindle
1 x what I think may be my smart meter (it's just an IP address and I can't see the address on the meter unit but I believe it is connected)
3 x Smart TVs (Lounge, Kitchen/diner, kids room)
2 x Sky Q boxes 1 sky box
2 x Apple TV boxes


I feel like I'm missing out on something :coat:
steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,436

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

3 x laptop
3 x desktop *
1 x Pi *
2 x printer
3 x phone
2 x tablet
1 x Kindle
1 x Roberts radio
1 x Echo Dot
2 x TV
1 x Sky+ *
1 x Cinema system *
1 x Roku
1 x Nintendo Switch
1 x Nintendo DS3
1 x picture frame

= 25.
* means it's on Ethernet rather than WiFi. I'm sure I've forgotten something.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 18 Old 01-02-19 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
AO Gold Member
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvis Presley View Post
I feel like I'm missing out on something :coat:
You are. Buffering.
FredDibnah is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 18 Old 01-02-19 Thread Starter
Status: Wishing people were nicer
AO Gold Member
 
FredDibnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Beautiful UK
County: Surrey
Posts: 6,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddy OPlastic View Post
3 x laptop
3 x desktop *
1 x Pi *
2 x printer
3 x phone
2 x tablet
1 x Kindle
1 x Roberts radio
1 x Echo Dot
2 x TV
1 x Sky+ *
1 x Cinema system *
1 x Roku
1 x Nintendo Switch
1 x Nintendo DS3
1 x picture frame

= 25.
* means it's on Ethernet rather than WiFi. I'm sure I've forgotten something.
All good? No buffering/drop outs?
FredDibnah is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,484

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Is this just a remote method of casing the joint?
bazza is offline  
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
duemila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Landon Tan
Posts: 2,411
Garage
I'm guessing you need more speed, when you say 30mpbs is that connection speed, doesn't sound a lot, what download speed are bt giving you, I'm on 100gb with virgin, it might help if you disconnect some devices from wifi if you're not using them, and you have a picture frame on wifi? I'm just not down with the kids it seems
duemila is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,436

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by FredDibnah View Post
All good? No buffering/drop outs?
No, not that I can attribute to the home network. I have two WiFi routers running as bridges to a Cisco router so neither are being stressed very much.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,320
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Two of us:

About 10 devices, add another 5 when kids descend.

I don’t encourage buffering in our house.
Verbout is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,436

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

There are two old buffers already.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,926
Garage
:cigar:
oh we have a printer


turned off
steveisfrowning is offline  
rxe
Status: Busso
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 4,130
37 Devices total. Most I’ve ever seen was 200 devices when we had a party (the guest network is open)

It all depends on the demands of the devices. A WiFi light bulb (or similar) will use virtually nothing, a PlayStation doing downloads will use a lot.

The total bandwidth of your WiFi AP is an order of magnitude greater than your internet connection. Most APs will push 200 Mbit with ease, decent ones will push > 1 Gbit. If you are getting buffering, it is almost certainly on the internet connection rather than the WiFi. I’ve benchmarked one of my APs and it gives 300 Mbit to a single connection, while still providing service to the rest of the devices in the house. They’re pretty good APs, but the BT/Virgin ones are pretty good as well.

Now, there are all sort of reasons why you might be getting poor performance, but the problem with ISP APs is that the tools are limited to work out why. I had a link being clobbered by a channel width mismatch - it went from 3Mbit to 160Mbit when fixed. Not sure how you’d find this sort of thing with a Homehub or similar.
rxe is offline  
Status: 6 YEARS LYMPHOMA FREE!! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 4,916

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Tbh i can't complain about our wifi....about once a week we lose signal.....reset the box and it's back again.

4 mobiles
3 games consoles
1 android TV box
And the trusty old Dell PC I post from now....but that's Ethernet attached.

Ethernet speed : 110mbps
Wifi (2.4ghz) : 55mbps
Wifi (5ghz) : 80mbps

Virgin Media
ronan is offline  
Status: Gormless [email protected]*
AO Gold Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 8,436

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

We have 50mbs which is more than adequate for three and doesn't stress the WiFi or the 100mbs Ethernet link between routers. The phone company ants have been scurrying around the peninsula this week stringing up fibre. If I sign up to that then I'll need to upgrade a few things to get top performance.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
devices , network

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome