Best home cinema? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 4Likes
  • 1 Post By Tenebreaux
  • 1 Post By bazza
  • 1 Post By Brooking10
  • 1 Post By TheGrimJeeper
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 16 Old 17-10-17 Thread Starter
PR
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
PR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 51
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Middlesbrough, UK
Posts: 7,624
Best home cinema?

I have a tech query...

I currently have an ageing Sony 5.1 amp system, which has connectivity issues. You can't get the speaker cables for less than ridiculous prices (as they have Sony only connections).
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Anyway, was thinking about replacing it and on looking it seems soundbars have taken over.

I am thinking of a soundbar / subwoofer combo. The 2 I like the look of are the Bose and Sonos, both of which are around 1200.

Any thoughts? I have a Sony TV and PS4 so Sony would be a preference for a decent mid range set up. (I use it for PS4 and Sky HD)
Ta
PR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
I never replaced my Philips soundbar/sub that went pop and now just use
a 2 channel amp for all my sound needs.


But when I was hooking around for a replacement I was looking at the
all-in-one sound bases that sit under the TV that include a "sub".

e.g.
https://www.richersounds.com/cambridge-tv5-v2-blk.html
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 16 Old 17-10-17 Thread Starter
PR
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
PR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 51
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Middlesbrough, UK
Posts: 7,624
I'd never even heard of a sound base.. looks like a nice solution though.. will look into that... merci
PR is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
County: -Armagh
Posts: 224

Member car:

147 1.6 TS Lusso

I use a Logitech 7.1 set I've had for about five years. I have everything wired through it using a five way switch. Xbox, 4k TV, PC, Cable box.
PR likes this.
Tenebreaux is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Sonos do a base or a bar. If your TV isn't wall mounted, then the base probably makes more sense.

To be honest, I think if your only concern is sound quality, you can probably do a reasonable bit better than Sonos for the price.

But it's what I will be going for when I sort out the new house,m for convenience, wirelessness, and multiroom capability.
PR likes this.
bazza is offline  
Status: Chip balancer
AO Silver Member
 
Brooking10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
County: Northants
Posts: 1,063
Garage
Per Bazza you can spend less money and get "better" sound or the same and get "much better" sound but ......

I am a huge Sonos fan for its all round convenience.

We have a setup in one room with a Playbar and sub and it is really very good. Of course not only do you get the TV sound but access to the wider Sonos infrastucture covering your own ripped music, internet radio, Spotify, Apple Music, amazon and just about any other streaming service you can think of. You can also of course add two Play One or Play 3 as rear speakers at any time for a 5.1 set up.

Some things to consider , Your TV must have a digital optical out as all sound signals from any input sources, Skybox, DVD, streaming box etc all route through the TV via their HDMI and then back out to the Sonos Playbar via digital optical. Also the Sonos can only decode up Dolby Digital, it won't decode any DTS only discs you might have and wont ever support any of the newer HD digital formats which are additionally available on Blu Ray and 4K discs etc. If these are important to you (and to most people in their normal living room they areant) you need a lot more speakers, an amp etc etc.
PR likes this.
Brooking10 is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 16 Old 30-10-17 Thread Starter
PR
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
PR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 51
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Middlesbrough, UK
Posts: 7,624
Thanks for the replies. I like the look of the Sonos sound base but I'll have to check if it will fit on my TV stand (which I really like).. the Sonos is a beast, (72cm wide by 38 deep).

I had a mess about with the current Sony the other day and I think Ive sorted the speaker cables. I am going to try the optical route though as currently the PS4 and Sky go via HDMI into the amp, and then HDMI to the TV in. Means that the TVs installed apps, its an android TV, (eg Kodi) don't go through the amp.
PR is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
I've just ordered one of these for my folks as I'm tired
of listening to their tinny TV when I'm over there...

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00U1DW7DO


Will chuck it back at Amazon if no good after playing with it this weekend.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 16 Old 31-10-17 Thread Starter
PR
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
PR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 51
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Middlesbrough, UK
Posts: 7,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGrimJeeper View Post
I've just ordered one of these for my folks as I'm tired
of listening to their tinny TV when I'm over there...

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00U1DW7DO


Will chuck it back at Amazon if no good after playing with it this weekend.
Let us know your thoughts
PR is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Right. Installed it.

I like the sound. Massive improvement.

It's physically bigger than I thought it'd be
but it fits under a stand for a 32" TV okay.

TV is so old there's no HDMI CES remote
available, which is annoying. But you can
set a Sky Q remote to control volume.
(But on/off is only through HDMI CEC.)

So the optical TOS link works as-is.

Bass levels are good and there is bass/treble
as well as the usual Standard/Music/Sport/Movie
sound eq. And an auto mode
that seems to select these quite
well on it's own.

Checked out music from the phone via bluetooth
and that is pretty good too. Soundbase remote
does play/pause/fwd/rrwd over bluetooth.

The only thing missing is good virtual-surround
sound which worked well on my previous
Philips soundbar if you had 2 clear walls
either side of the screen to bounce the sound
off.
I can't hear it in this one, but it may be a room issue.
Or the TV has stripped out the surround sound from
the optical stream...?


A worthwhile easy to set up solution to
tinny flatscreen audio.
Minimal wires. Zero fuss

But you really need HDMI CEC (or whatever xxxxLINK they brand it) on your TV to make
it ultra seemless to use.
PR likes this.

Let's Off Road!
O|||||O

Last edited by TheGrimJeeper; 08-12-17 at 17:53. Reason: CEC not CES
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 16 Old 06-11-17 Thread Starter
PR
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
PR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 51
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Middlesbrough, UK
Posts: 7,624
I had a brief look at the Sonos one in Currys on Sunday. The bloke turned it on with a demo game to listen to (motoracing one). Bit pointless stood in the middle of a massive shop but when he turned the sub on the difference was massive.
PR is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Yeah, I can imagine that they demo the sub attached to the one - it's the smallest, so would make the greatest difference.
bazza is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
100th_Idiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 14,827
Garage

Member car:

Nothing Italian

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGrimJeeper View Post
Right. Installed it.

I like the sound. Massive improvement.

It's physically bigger than I thought it'd be
but it fits under a stand for a 32" TV okay.

TV is so old there's no HDMI CES remote
available, which is annoying. But you can
set a Sky Q remote to control volume.
(But on/off is only through HDMI CES.)

So the optical TOS link works as-is.

Bass levels are good and there is bass/treble
as well as the usual Standard/Music/Sport/Movie
sound eq. And an auto mode
that seems to select these quite
well on it's own.

Checked out music from the phone via bluetooth
and that is pretty good too. Soundbase remote
does play/pause/fwd/rrwd over bluetooth.

The only thing missing is good virtual-surround
sound which worked well on my previous
Philips soundbar if you had 2 clear walls
either side of the screen to bounce the sound
off.
I can't hear it in this one, but it may be a room issue.
Or the TV has stripped out the surround sound from
the optical stream...?


A worthwhile easy to set up solution to
tinny flatscreen audio.
Minimal wires. Zero fuss

But you really need HDMI CES (or whatever xxxxLINK they brand it) on your TV to make
it ultra seemless to use.
TVs generally only output 2 channels. No 5.1 output.
100th_Idiot is offline  
Status: HID - MoT Pass!
AO Silver Member
 
TOX1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Salisbury
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGrimJeeper View Post
I've just ordered one of these for my folks as I'm tired
of listening to their tinny TV when I'm over there...

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00U1DW7DO


Will chuck it back at Amazon if no good after playing with it this weekend.
I've got one of these, quite impressed for the price. I've also got a Sony 7 channel amp and a set of KEF Egg speakers (wired) to go with the 100" screen and HD projector, but that's a different story......
TOX1C is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by 100th_Idiot View Post
TVs generally only output 2 channels. No 5.1 output.
Yes. i think my last setup was via HDMI ARC
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
cinema , home




Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome