Can I replace this circuit breaker? Or electrician needed? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Mitch916
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 11 Old 20-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Can I replace this circuit breaker? Or electrician needed?

Returned from a 2 week holiday today to find one of our circuits in the house not working, and the freezer defrosted.
This is the second time the circuit has failed, in about a month. The slightly strange bit is that the switch on the circuit breaker hasn't flipped either time, but flipping it manually then back has it all working again.
It's the one breaker in the fuse box with a test button on it, so I'm wondering whether that button has developed a fault.

Possible to buy these? Cheap and therefore with a try? Or should I leave well alone and get the ring professionally tested?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (213.7 KB, 10 views)

Seen an offensive/spam post? Report it! Click the or button next to the post.
AO Rules - AO Gallery - AO Classified adverts - AO Club - AO Traders

"Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so." - Douglas Adams


"You know, sometimes the world seems like a pretty mean place."
"That's why animals are so soft and huggy."
- Calvin and Hobbes

To err is human, to moderate ursine.
bazza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 11 Old 20-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

That's a usefully upside down picture of the blurb on the cover about the breaker in question. Here's the breakers.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (176.2 KB, 13 views)
bazza is offline  
Status: AROC 916 Registrar
AO Gold Member
 
Mitch916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 8,916
Although it is possible the breaker has failed (or rather it's failing) it is far more likely there is a fault on the circuit. By all means replace the breaker as the cheapest option but do be ready to accept that was a waste of time and money.

I would recommend getting a sparky in to test the circuit and what's connected to it to give you a definitive answer. Just get a fixed price mate.

And yes, I am an electrician 👍

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
TheGrimJeeper and Dave2405 like this.
Mitch916 is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 11 Old 21-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Cheers Mitch. With only two failures in a month, I wondered whether that suggested the usual cause - a fault or short in a device on that circuit - seemed less likely.
But with your expert advice, I will go straight down the professional route.
bazza is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
The freezer must be rank after 2 week.

Burn it.


TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 11 Old 21-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Well, for all I know, it only failed an hour before we got home.
bazza is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 11 Old 22-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Electrician pretty sure it's because of the lantern type light on the front of the garage. The wiring to it is a little perished, and it's also lose on the wall - hanging forward a bit and possibly letting rain into the wiring.

He's also spotted that the wiring in the garage isn't to code. light fittings (one strip light, one security) wired directly into the same circuit as sockets.

Given we want to sell the house shortly, and that would probably be a finding on a survey, I'm having him sort that as well. 160 altogether which seems OK.
bazza is offline  
Status: AROC 916 Registrar
AO Gold Member
 
Mitch916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 8,916
Sounds fair to me too 👍 glad he found the fault

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
Mitch916 is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 11 Old 22-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Cheers for the help Mitch.
bazza is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazza View Post
He's also spotted that the wiring in the garage isn't to code. light fittings (one strip light, one security) wired directly into the same circuit as sockets.
Sounds like you had some French working on it at some point.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 11 Old 22-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,495

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

To be honest, without him telling me, I wouldn't have known it was wrong.
bazza is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
breaker , circuit , electrician , needed , replace

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome