New router and now my phone/computer thinks I'm in Glasgow - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The Technology Section A place to discuss technology & gadgets.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 01-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,931
Garage
Not Happy New router and now my phone/computer thinks I'm in Glasgow

reboot the router?

Why would this happen?
steveisfrowning is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,340
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

Send me your bank account number and your PIN and I'll try and help you.

Yours Sincerely,

Zubaru Zalani
Verbout is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,340
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

I believe, but people who know better than me may tell you different, you are connected to your ISP through a server based in Glasgow.

I am usually based in London, but it does change.
Verbout is offline  
Status: slip it into D
AO Silver Member
 
biggreenzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 4,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvis Presley View Post
reboot the router?

Why would this happen?


IP Address change.
IP addresses are registered in blocks in all sorts of different places. If an ISP runs out it is common for them to buy unused blocks from other ISPs. In your case one that may have been registered in Glasgow. It's also why geo blocking is a very inexact method of trying to protect copyright.
You did ask.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
biggreenzebra is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 8 Old 01-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,931
Garage
hmmm thanks :mope:
steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
Maybe you are in Glasgow, but just don't know it?
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 8 Old 03-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,931
Garage
It seemed to sort itself.

Now it seems I'm back in Scotland.
steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,340
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

You certainly get about.

Let me know if your ever in Nerja, Spain and I'll recommend a tapas bar overlooking the Med.
Verbout is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > The Technology Section

Tags
glasgow , phone or computer , router , thinks

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome